Pharmacy Technician State Requirements

Alabama

Pharmacy technicians use their knowledge and skills to support licensed pharmacists in providing medication and other pharmaceutical products to the general public. They work in nursing homes, retail pharmacies, hospital pharmacies, clinics, nuclear and mail-order pharmacies. Some pharmacy technicians also work in non-traditional settings, such as medical insurance companies, manufacturing companies, and food processing companies. In Alabama, the majority of pharmacy technicians find employment in hospital and retail pharmacies. They perform the duties assigned by their pharmacist supervisors, stocking inventory, maintaining patient records, preparing prescription labels, preparing sterile intravenous medications, and other tasks.

Statewide, pharmacy technicians earn a mean hourly wage of $13.63 for new employees and $16.25 for certified and experienced technicians. The Alabama Board of Pharmacy does not require formal education and certification for registering technicians. However, employers often make hiring decisions and determine salaries based on the prospective employee’s education and certification.

Alabama Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Alabama law requires individuals to submit a written application requesting registration along with the applicable fees and receive notice of registration before beginning employment as a pharmacy technician. Alabama Pharmacy Technicians work under a licensed pharmacist’s supervision and can only perform functions that do not require professional judgment. The Board will approve applicants who meet the age and education requirements. The state’s needs are not as stringent as other states. Therefore, individuals can register as technicians without having a high school diploma, formal pharmacy technician training, and national certification.

After the Board grants the request for registration, pharmacy technicians must place a copy of the registration certificate on display in the pharmacy where they work. Technicians must also wear a name tag identifying their role at all times. The Board reserves the right to revoke a license or take disciplinary actions against technicians who violate federal, state, or Board of Pharmacy laws. To maintain accurate records and receive communications from the Board, technicians must notify the Board of any name, address, or changes in employment within 10 days.

Pharmacy technicians must renew their registration to continue working. Registration expires biennially on odd-numbered years, and technicians must fulfill the Board’s continuing education requirements to maintain their licenses. Pharmacists or proprietors should verify prospective employees’ status with the Board before hiring and ensure current employees renew their licenses on time.

Age Requirement

Alabama’s pharmacy technicians must be 17 years or older to register with the Board of Pharmacy.

Education Requirement

Those who have not completed high school or graduated from a formal pharmacy technician training program can register with the Board. Unlike other states, Alabama’s Board of Pharmacy does not require proof of formal education for registration. However, it becomes the pharmacist’s responsibility to ensure technicians secure proper training to execute their pharmacy functions. A high school diploma and formal training are attractive to prospective employers since it reduces the time and resources needed to train new employees. Furthermore, technicians who want to obtain national certification must supply the PTCB or NHA (both certifying agencies) with a high school diploma or GED.

Other Requirements

Applicants must respond truthfully to the criminal history questions on the registration form. Failure to disclose pertinent information related to convictions of felonies or professional disciplinary actions could lead to denial of the request for registration or revocation of the pharmacy technician license. The Board will conduct background checks where they deem it necessary – an FBI criminal background check will be performed at the applicant’s expense. It could delay the processing of the application.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

The goal of pharmacy technician training programs is to provide students with patient advocate, communication, and safety skills to obtain entry-level employment at various workplaces, including retail pharmacies, hospitals, and nursing homes. Training programs are available at community colleges, universities, vocational schools, and private institutions. Facilitators use a combination of classroom, simulated lab, and clinical experience to emphasize the preparation and distribution of medication safely and efficiently. Course content covers dispensing drugs, maintaining records, distributing medicine, labeling and filling orders, drug classification, dosage calculations, and much more.

Accredited programs, such as those accredited by the ASHP, also allow students to work in at least two clinical settings in preparation for entry into the fast-paced pharmaceutical industry. Since Alabama’s Board of Pharmacy does not require formal training and certification as a pharmacy technician, the number of certified and trained technicians is lower than in other states where technicians must meet those requirements. Pharmacy employers set the industry standards, requiring new employees to have a high school diploma, formal training, and national certification. Therefore, those who take the time to complete a training program and take a national exam enjoy immeasurable benefits as they enter the workforce.

There are six ASHP accredited training programs in Alabama and a few others accredited by other agencies. The requirements for entry varies from one institution to the next. In general, applicants should have a high school diploma (or pass a reading test), pass a criminal background check, pass a TB test ad drug screen. Graduates will be prepared for success in the national PTCB or NHA exam.

 

Pharmacy technician training programs in Alabama cost an average of $1,850 for certificate programs. More extended programs that award graduates with a diploma cost an average of $3,900 plus extra for textbooks, uniforms, course materials, and administration fees. The costs for a criminal background check, immunization, drug screen, and TB tests are conducted at the students’ expense. Financial aid may be available for qualifying students, so make sure to check with a financial aid officer to see what funding options are available.

Pharmacy employers also train new employees. However, they are getting increasingly rare as pharmacy staff cave under the burden of public demands. Pharmacists have to manage two to three technicians on a single shift in many pharmacies, counsel patients and tend to administrative needs. These factors, combined with a lack of resources, give employers the incentive to hire technicians who are already trained and certified.

The duration of pharmacy technician training programs is approximately 8 months but depends largely on the schedule and course content.

National Exams

Retail pharmacy locations vary on the criteria for new employees. Some might be willing to train new employees, while others require pharmacy technicians to have some experience or certification. Hospitals have higher expectations for their employees. They rarely train technicians and need them to have an extensive background and knowledge of the industry. National certifying agencies, such as the PTCB and NHA, set industry standards, making it easy for employers to differentiate one prospective employee from another.

State Board requirements for registration either raise or lower the majority of pharmacy technicians’ standards in each state. In Alabama, where certification is not mandatory, certified technicians’ ratio to non-certified ones is 1:3. According to the Board of Pharmacy, approximately 3,200 pharmacy technicians have PTCB certification. Certified Pharmacy Technicians (CPhT) get the best opportunities and earn a higher pay rate than those who are not certified.

There are currently more than 555,700 PTCB certified pharmacy technicians across the nation. The PTCB is the oldest certifying agency that evaluates technicians’ work readiness and commitment to public health. The Board has earned the trust of State Boards and employers alike. Continuous evaluation and upgrading of requirements serve to uplift industry standards. Anyone with a high school diploma and clean criminal background can currently take the exam after agreeing to the Board’s policies and clearing a criminal background check. The multiple-choice exam tests candidates’ understanding of six knowledge domains. The exam is two hours long and is available at Pearson Vue centers across Alabama. The certification fee is $129, but members must renew biennially after completing the continuing education requirements. The renewal fee is $40.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Pharmacy technicians must submit a written application for registration and receive notification of successful registration before they begin employment in Alabama. Applicants must be at least 17 years old at the time of submission of the registration form.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

Alabama’s Board of Pharmacy accepts payment in the form of money orders, bank drafts, cashier’s check, personal check, and cash. Credit and debit card payments are not available.

  • Download and fill out the application for registration.
  • Attach a 2 x 2 photo. The photo must have been taken with 6
  • Respond to all the questions on the form. Provide accurate answers and include supporting documents where necessary.
  • Include a copy of your driver’s license and birth certificate.
  • Enclose the $60 application fee. Do not mail cash.
  • Notarize the form before mailing the application to the Board.
  • If you have criminal convictions, make sure to include supporting documents like police reports, court documents, etc.

The Board requires 2 to 4 weeks to process the application. Pharmacy technicians must use the online Change of Status form to notify the Board of changes in address, name, or place of employment.

Renewal

After the initial registration, pharmacy technicians must renew their licenses biennially. The renewal period begins on October 1 and is null and void on December 31 of the expiring registration year. Following are the steps for renewal.

  • Download and fill out the technician renewal form.
  • Enclose the renewal fee of $60.
  • Include details of your continuing pharmacy education hours – 3 hours for every year.
  • Notarize the form before mailing it to the Board.
  • A $30 penalty will apply to all applications submitted after the renewal deadline.

Transfer

Pharmacy technicians licensed in other states must apply for a new registration to the Board. They must fulfill all the requirements for a new registration to obtain the Board’s approval to work legally in Alabama.

Contact the Board:

 Alabama Board of Pharmacy
111 Village Street
Birmingham, AL 35242

Phone: 205-981-2280
Fax: 205.981.2330

Alaska

Alaska provides a wealth of opportunities for pharmacy technicians. According to the Board of Pharmacy, there were 1,601 licensed pharmacy technicians in 2014, and the employment rate is expected to grow by 35% by 2016. Alaska’s pharmacy technicians earn a median hourly rate of $19.22 or $39,978 per year, placing them among the nation’s best-paid pharmacy technicians. Technicians employed in surgical hospitals and outpatient care centers earn a lot more. The Alaska Board of Pharmacy requires individuals to register for licensure before working or training at state-registered pharmacies. The registration requirements are not as stringent as in other states; pharmacy technicians do not need formal training or certification to register with the Board. However, an Alaska Pharmacist Association survey reveals that more than 58 percent of the state’s technicians acquire PTCB certification to increase their technician responsibilities, earn respect, and get better wages.

Alaska Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

The Alaska Board of Pharmacy requires pharmacy technicians to register before working at the state’s registered pharmacies. The Board defines a pharmacy technician as a person who performs manipulative, non-discretionary tasks associated with everyday running. The individual executes his/her responsibilities under the direct supervision of a licensed pharmacist. Candidates for registration must be at least 18 years with a high school diploma or equivalent, no criminal convictions, and the ability to speak, write and read English.

After the Board approves the application for registration, pharmacy technicians must wear a name tag identifying their pharmacy role. A pharmacist-in-charge must ensure pharmacy technicians receive training per the duties they perform. Before taking up the task of preparing sterile pharmaceuticals, pharmacy technicians must first complete at least 40 hours of on-the-job training. The topics should cover preparing, sterilizing, aseptic techniques, and admixture of parenteral and sterile pharmaceuticals.

Pharmacy technicians must renew their licenses biennially to continue working as pharmacy technicians. Pharmacy employers should verify a new employee’s status with the Board and report any indiscriminate actions to the Board. Pharmacy interns do not need to register to provide services as a pharmacy technician.

Age Requirement

Alaska’s pharmacy technicians must be 18 years or older to register with the Board.

Education Requirement

Pharmacy technicians must have a high school diploma or GED equivalent to register with the Board. The applicant will need to provide details of the high school or other program attended and the graduation date. Alaska does not require any additional formal education from technicians.

Other Requirements

Applicants with felony convictions or those found guilty of other crimes may not be eligible for registration if the crimes affect their ability to perform their duties as a pharmacy technician. The Board does not conduct criminal background checks by default. However, those who answer “yes” to the Personal Data questions on the application form may be subject to an interview, and criminal background check before the Board makes a final decision.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

There are fewer than a dozen formal pharmacy technician training programs in Alaska. Despite the lack of traditional institutions offering credible training programs, Alaska’s pharmacy technicians are well-trained, certified, and among the industry’s best-paid. More than 90 percent of the state’s technicians acquire the knowledge and skills they need through on-the-job training. Committed pharmacists ensure technicians learn all the essential skills to execute their responsibilities on the job. They supervise the didactic component of the training and ensure students/employees obtain lots of opportunities to put their learning into action.

Pharmacy technician programs, including the one at the University of Alaska Anchorage, cover core topics, including an introduction to pharmacy, pharmacy calculations, pharmacy practice techniques, pharmacology, law and ethics, communication, and public safety. Employer-trained students also learn topics that are specific to their duties in the pharmacy. After training, students can receive and prepare prescriptions for a pharmacist review, initiate, verify and collect a payment, manage inventory, maintain pharmacy equipment, avoid medication errors, and communicate effectively and maintain patient confidentiality. The training will also prepare students for the national certification exam administered by the PTCB. Requirements for enrollment vary from one provider to another. In general, students should be at least 18 years (the Board only registers persons 18 years or older), have a criminal free background, and a high school diploma or GED. The training provider may also require students to pass a drug screen and TB test.

Duration and Cost

Since several technicians obtain their training on the job, there are no costs attached to the practice. As demands for technicians increase, an increasing number of employers prefer previously trained and certified technicians to meet immediate shortages. Technicians who pursue formal training and certification can step into several pharmacy settings and offer direct support to burdened pharmacists. Therefore, formal training offers distinct advantages for students who can afford to pay an average of $4,900 for 12 months of training. Funding available through the Workforce Investment Act and other financial aid sources could help reduce the cost of formal training.

For students who cannot afford the programs available at vocational schools and universities, the sponsored training at pharmacy employers could give them an affordable way to enter the industry. Training led by pharmacists typically last 6 to 12 months and covers a broad range of pharmacy-related topics and tasks.

National Exams

While there are no requirements for technicians to pursue certification to register with the Pharmacy Board, there are immeasurable benefits for those who do. The results of a survey conducted by the Alaska Pharmacists Association revealed that more than half the state’s pharmacy technicians are certified by the PTCB. Pharmacists and technicians responding to the survey believed that certification increases technician professionalism increases tech wages, improves patient safety, demonstrates technician commitment, gives pharmacists more time for counseling patients, and raises pharmacy technicians’ standards.

The Board of Pharmacy and pharmacy employers recognize the PTCB exam. The PTCB is a non-profit organization that improves the standards for pharmacy technicians. The Board designs and develops a national certification exam administered at more than 200 Pearson Vue computerized testing centers across the nation. The 2-hour exam comprises 90 multiple-choice questions. Testing centers are available in Anchorage, Alaska. The exam is just one component of the validation process. Applicants for testing must first provide proof of completing high school or equivalent, have no drug felonies, and no felonies of any kind up to 5 years before the date of application. Certification is valid for two years, and CPhTs must complete the continuing education requirements and renew on time to maintain certification. The renewal fee is $40 for online renewal.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Pharmacy technician applicants must be 18 years and older and have a high school diploma or equivalent. They should also be able to read, speak and write English and have no criminal convictions that affect their ability to perform their duties as a pharmacy technician. The following describes the steps for registering as a pharmacy technician in Alaska.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

Alaska defines a technician as an individual who performs pharmacy functions under the direction of the pharmacist.

  • Download the Pharmacy Technician Application on the ABOP website.
  • Complete the application in full and get the form notarized.
  • Include copies of your state ID, social security card, and a high school diploma.
  • The initial application fee is $120, which covers the non-refundable application fee ($60) and the initial technician license fee ($60). The Board accepts personal checks, certified checks, or money orders made payable to the “State of Alaska.”
  • Sign the email agreement if you want to receive email communication from the Board relating to your license status.
  • Provide supporting documents if you respond “yes” to the Personal Data questions.
  • Mail the application form, fee, and supporting documents to the address provided below.

The processing time for complete and accurate application forms is four to six weeks after the Board receives the documents. If you have a history of disciplinary actions or criminal convictions, you should submit a letter detailing the circumstances and a copy of legal documents. The Board will forward the application to the Investigations Department for review, where the board members will make a final decision.

Renewal

Pharmacy technician’s licenses lapse after June 30 of even-numbered years. There is no grace period. The only accepted and reliable means of renewing an application is through the postal mail; the Board does not accept faxed or email applications. The processing time for renewals is three to four weeks, so submit the renewal at least one month before the deadline.

Following are the steps for renewal.

  • Download a pharmacy technician renewal form online if you did not receive a form in the mail. The copy received in the mail will have a barcode specific to your name and license number.
  • The renewal fee is $60. Some technicians will qualify for the prorated renewal fee of $30.
  • Complete the Statement of Compliance verifying your completion of the continuing education requirements. For renewals, you must complete 10 hours of continuing pharmacy education.
  • Complete the jurisprudence questionnaire, which may require a review of Alaska’s Statutes and Regulations for pharmacies and pharmacy technicians.

Transfer

Out-of-state pharmacy technicians should complete an application for new registration as Alaska does not practice reciprocity with other states.

Contact the Board:

 Alaska Board of Pharmacy
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor
Juneau, AK 99801-1770

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806

Phone: (907) 465-2550
Fax: (907) 465-2974
E-mail: license@alaska.gov

ARIZONA

There’s an abundant need for experienced pharmaceutical-support professionals capable of dispensing prescription medications quickly and effectively. According to an Occupational Outlook Handbook published by the U.S. Department of Labor, the employment of pharmacy technicians will increase by 32 percent between 2010 to 2020 – a growth rate that is faster than any other occupation. In the Handbook, the Department of Labor attributes the projected growth to the escalating senior population and a constant supply of prescription medications to fight diseases.

In Arizona, the need for pharmacy technicians is on par with the rest of the nation. Certified pharmacy technicians take prescription requests, verify prescriptions, count, and bottle tablets, prepare liquid medications, label containers, update patients’ records, manage inventory, and submit claims to insurance companies. The Arizona State Board of Pharmacy requires pharmacy technicians to register with the state Board before practicing at licensed pharmacies.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in AZ:

Arizona Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Arizona’s pharmacy technicians must obtain registration as a Pharmacy Technician Trainee or a Certified Pharmacy Technician before working at the state’s registered pharmacies. Students enrolled in statewide pharmacy technician training programs must apply for registration before completing the experiential component of the education program.

A pharmacy technician trainee license is valid for two years and is only applicable for pharmacy technicians who are not certified by the PTCB. Applicants must present a high school diploma or GED, a U.S. birth certificate, the application fee, and a completed application for a registration form. Once the Board approves the application, the pharmacy technician trainee can commence training or employment in a retail or hospital pharmacy.

Pharmacy technician trainees can upgrade their license to a Certified Pharmacy Technician by acquiring PTCB certification. The Pharmacy Board develops the PTCE exam and issues the national certification to qualified technicians. Applicants for state registration as Certified Pharmacy Technicians must present proof of PTCB certification at the time of application and renewal in order to maintain the full license status.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in Arizona.

Education Requirement

Applicants for state registration must possess a high school diploma or GED equivalent. A high school diploma is also required for PTCB certification – for candidates who want to register as Certified Pharmacy Technicians in Arizona. The Board of Pharmacy will accept the following documents as proof of high school completion.

  • Copy of your high school diploma
  • Copy of transcripts with date of graduation included
  • A certified statement from your School Board or District confirming your graduation on a specific date
  • GED certificate
  • GED test results indicating your passing scores.

Other Requirements

Applicants must declare previous misdemeanor or felony charges on the application and include a copy of the paperwork related to the charges. The Deputy or Executive Director will review all applications with charges and make a determination on the request for registration. Felony charges will delay the processing of the application and may require a criminal background check.

Applicants applying for full registration must provide proof of PTCB certification in the form of a PTCB certificate, PTCB wall card, or letter of passing score from the PTCB.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Pharmacy technician training at ASHP accredited institutes prepares graduates for entry-level positions as pharmacy technicians in a community, hospital mail order pharmacy, or similar health care setting. The course of study comprises classroom instruction and experiential training at a local pharmacy. Classroom training covers topics such as pharmacy operations, pharmacology, health care concepts, pharmacy administration, pharmaceutical calculations, and medical terminology. A clinical externship gives students an opportunity to work for first hand with pharmacists, serve customers and be a part of a team consisting of other pharmacy technicians and health care personnel.

Program graduates will have the foundational knowledge and skills to support pharmacists in areas such as office procedures, administration, pharmacy technology, and pharmacology.

Duration and Cost

Tuition for ASHP accredited training in Arizona costs approximately $7,500. The advertised cost at most campuses does not include registration fees, textbooks, workbooks, criminal background check, immunization, physical exam, and PTCB certification. Financial aid may be available through scholarships, federal and private loans, and special grants. The duration of training varies from 100 to 750-contact hours, which translates to 2 months to 10 months.

Arizona’s Board of Pharmacy does not require formal education for state registration. You can also challenge the PTCE without prior pharmacy technician education. However, the state’s minimum requirements in no way reflect employer requirements. Training is advantageous if you plan to improve your chances of passing the PTCE exam for national certification.

National Exams

If you’re serious about your career as a pharmacy technician, you should consider pharmacy technician certification through the PTCB. Arizona’s employers are actively seeking committed employees who demonstrate their competency through relevant industry training and certification. The state and employers recognize technicians with credentials from the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB).

Pharmacy technician candidates, who lack experience in a pharmacy care setting, can enroll in a formal training program in preparation for the PTCE developed by the PTCB. The computer-based exam contains 90 multiple choice questions, including 10 trial questions that do not count towards the final score. Candidates have two hours to complete the exam, which tests their knowledge of three primary areas:

  • Providing support to pharmacists
  • Inventory control and management
  • Administration and the pharmacy practice

You must have no felony convictions and no drug, or pharmacy-related convictions to take the exam. You’ll also need to provide proof of completing high school. Successful candidates will receive the Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT) designation and must recertify every two years – after completing 20 hours of continuing pharmacy education.

Demonstrate your commitment to the health care profession by acquiring CPhT designation.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

There are two options for pharmacy technician registration in Arizona.

Pharmacy technician trainee application (not PTCB certified)

  • Download and fill out the pharmacy technician application.
  • Provide proof of legal U.S. residency (birth paper, passport, naturalization). Non-US citizens must prove eligibility to work in the U.S.
  • Provide proof of high school graduation or GED.
  • Submit the non-refundable application fee of $46 in the form of a check or money order. Online applicants can submit payment using Visa, MasterCard or American Express.

Certified pharmacy technician application

  • Download and fill out the pharmacy technician application.
  • Provide proof of legal U.S. residency. If you’re not a citizen, you must provide proof of your eligibility to work in the U.S.
  • Submit a copy of your high school diploma or GED.
  • Enclose a copy of your PTCB certificate or wallet card to prove PTCB certification
  • The application fee for registration as a Certified Pharmacy Technician is pro-rated. The maximum fee is $52. Check the application form for a breakdown of the prorated fees.

Renewal

Registration for pharmacy technician trainees is non-renewable. Certified pharmacy technicians must renew their registration with the Board every two years. The Board of Pharmacy will send out the renewal notice with the applicable fees 30 to 45 days before your license expires. It is crucial that you notify the Board of any changes in your name or address within 10 days of making the change.

Along with a completed application for renewal, you must provide a copy of your up-to-date PTCB certification, proof of at least 20 hours of continuing education, and the renewal fee.

The Board will terminate your license if you fail to renew by the expiration date.

Transfer

Arizona does not practice reciprocity with other states. Pharmacy technicians, licensed to work in another state, must apply for registration with the State Board of Pharmacy before commencing work in Arizona. Pharmacy technicians certified with the PTCB can register as Certified Pharmacy Technicians with the Board.

Arizona Board of Pharmacy

1616 W. Adams St., Suite 120
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: (602) 771-2727
Fax: (602) 771-2749

Arkansas

There’s a huge demand for pharmacy technicians in the health care and pharmaceutical care industries. Due to increasing needs for pharmaceutical products and services, jobs in the pharmaceutical industry are projected to grow faster than the average for all other occupations through the years 2008 through 2020. The expanding senior population and the increasing availability of new medications will also fuel the demands for qualified pharmacy technicians in various settings, and as pharmacists focus more on patient care, the roles and responsibilities of technicians will expand. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics projections, employment opportunities for full-time and part-time technicians will explode. Certified pharmacy technicians will receive the best opportunities as the industry seeks trained, competent, and skilled support personnel.

Federal regulations along with the professional standards outlined by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy govern the activities of pharmacy technicians within state pharmacies. While the state focuses on the registration and criminal history of pharmacy technicians, most employers require formal training and certification to reduce instances of medication errors and ensure public safety.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in AR:

Arkansas Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Pharmacy technicians must register with the Board of Pharmacy using the Board-provided form. As part of the application for registration, applicants must consent to a criminal background check and submit details of their high school education. Applicants for registration cannot commence work until the Board approves the application and issues a permit to work, which must be displayed in a visible place in the pharmacy. The license expires on December 31 biennially.

Pharmacy employers have the responsibility to verify a prospective employee’s registration with the Board and ensure that the Board issues a permit for the technician to work at that specific location. The employer must complete this step before assigning pharmacy technician related duties.

The pharmacy technician’s obligations to the Board doesn’t culminate with registration. The Board requires technicians to:

  • Renew their licenses before December 31 on even-numbered years
  • Notify the Board in writing of any name or address changes within 14 days of making the change
  • Notify the Board of changes in employment. The pharmacist-in-charge at both old and new places of employment shall also inform the Board
  • Secure a permit and receive an acknowledgment from the Board before commencing work at a new place of employment.

The application processing time is three weeks after the Board receives all the required documentation.

Age Requirement

Applicants for pharmacy technician registration in Arkansas must be at least 18 years old at the time of application.

Education Requirement

The Board requires applicants to have a high school diploma or equivalent education as a prerequisite to registration. Along with the application, submit one of the following documents as proof of former education:

  • A high school diploma
  • High school transcript
  • Diploma from a recognized college
  • College transcript
  • A letter from the high school verifying your graduation date. The letter must contain a seal and official signature from the school.
  • GED documents.

A high school diploma is the minimum education requirement for registration. It is, currently, also the minimum requirement for certification by the PTCB. By the year 2020, proof of formal training must accompany all applications for certification.

Other Requirements

To be eligible for registration, all applicants must also have a good moral character and pass a state and federal background check. The application form requests information on each candidate’s personal history. Applicants should respond truthfully to all questions and reveal all convictions, whether the arrest or citation was dismissed or expunged. The criminal history questions cover DWI, DUI and MIP violations, theft, domestic violence, assault, shoplifting, possession of controlled substances, and any other violations under state and federal laws. The Board could deny the application for any untruthful responses to the questions.

In addition to the questionnaire, applicants must complete a fingerprint card, using the standard FBI card, and send a completed and notarized criminal background check form with the application. The last name on the criminal background check must match the last name on the application for registration and the driver’s license.

Note that prior convictions/misdemeanors will not automatically negate your application for registration. Once you’re truthful about the convictions and provide documentation detailing the circumstances surrounding the convictions, the Board will review and make a decision based on several factors, including your age at the time and the time elapsed.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

More than 50 percent of pharmacy technicians opt for formal training, even though, the state does not require it for registration. The programs offered at community colleges, universities, vocational schools, and other institutions fill up quickly as students rush to meet employer demands for training. The state requirements for registration, like some other states, stipulate high school as a minimum. However, employer requirements often exceed those minimums. Most employers prefer trained and certified pharmacy technicians who can easily execute assigned tasks with minimum training.

Pharmacy technician training programs prepare graduates to do just that. ASHP-accredited programs and those accredited by other established authorities comprise the classroom, lab, and clinical components to produce well-rounded graduates. In the classroom, instructors cover topics such as medical abbreviations, brand name, and generic drugs, pharmacy law, professional ethics, dosage calculation, pharmacy administration, drug delivery systems, and much more.

In a mock pharmacy setting, students get hands-on opportunities to practice the preparation of medications, label prescriptions, process orders, and interact with “patients.” The clinical aspect of the training is another critical component, and at most schools, completing the clinical internship is a requirement for graduation. During the clinical, students work in a community or hospital pharmacy performing non-sterile product compounding, packaging, labeling, and interacting with members of the pharmacy team and public.

Duration and Cost

The cost of training depends on the institute and the credential issued at the end of the training. Degree programs obviously cost more than diploma and certificate programs. Certificate programs at leading institutes, such as Remington College and Heritage College cost $19,990 and $15,447 respectively. Other programs, such as the one offered at Black River Technical College are a more affordable $2,195. Financial aid may be available in the form of federal and private loans.

If you’re looking for opportunities for free training, you can look to employer-sponsored programs and train while you work at licensed pharmacies across the state. The pharmacist-in-charge at many pharmacies provides training for new employees to prepare them for their roles and responsibilities as part of the pharmacy-services team. The content may be similar to those offered at community colleges and vocational schools without the accompanying costs. Since the training may not be recognized by other employers within and outside the state, as a graduate of an employer-based program, you can increase your competitive advantage by applying for national certification. Note: There may be a waiting list to secure employer-sponsored training.

If you choose the paid training option, you should ensure that the program is accredited. Also, ask about the total cost of attendance as advertised fees don’t always include the costs for textbooks, uniforms, lab fees, registration, and other supplies.

The duration of the training depends on the class schedule and the type of credential issued. The duration of diploma and certificate programs range from 4 to 16 months and degree programs last much longer.

National Exams

National certification is not a Board of Pharmacy requirement at this current time, but regulations can change in the future. Many pharmacy technicians within the state still pursue certification to improve their employment opportunities and earn higher salaries.

There are two recognized agencies for obtaining national certification: the National Healthcareer Association and the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board.

Candidates for PTCB certification can apply year-round using the Board’s online portal. You can pay the $129 application fee using your credit card or e-check. Paper applications are available for those with a disability or hardship that prevents them from applying online. The PTCB requires a written request for paper submissions.

Applicants for certification must meet the following requirements:

  • Possess a high school diploma or equivalent education.
  • Disclose criminal convictions and any actions taken against the candidate by any State Board of Pharmacy.
  • Obtain a passing score on the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE).
  • Candidates must also agree to abide by PTCB Policies and Procedures.

The PTCE is available at more than 200 Pearson Vue testing centers across the nation. Once certified, technicians can recertify every two years after fulfilling the continuing education requirements of 20 pharmacy education continuing units. The renewal fee is $40.

The ExCPT, managed by the NHA, is the second option for certification. The exam is available at more than 500 PSI/LaserGrade centers across the nation. To qualify for certification, you must:

  • At least18 years at the time of application
  • Possess a high school diploma or GED
  • Have completed a formal training program or at least 12 months of pharmacy-related employment

Candidates can register online and call a PSI/LaserGrade center to schedule a test after NHA approves the application. The cost for certification is $105 for two years. Candidates must complete the continuing education requirements and pay the renewal fee in order to recertify.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Pharmacy technicians cannot perform the duties of a technician until the Board approves an application for registration and issues a certificate of registration and permit to work at a specific pharmacy. The pharmacy must display the permit in a prominent place for public perusal. After submitting the application, fee, and all the required documents, the Board will review the request and inform the candidate in writing within three (3) weeks. Following is a basic guideline for submitting a new registration with the Board.

Pharmacy technician application:

  • Download the application form online and enter a truthful response to all questions. The Board will return your documents if you fail to answer all questions.
  • Enclose a check or money order payable to the Arkansas Board of Pharmacy in the amount of $107.75.
  • Include a copy of your high school diploma or transcript, GED certificate, or letter from your high school confirming your graduation date. You can present your college transcript.
  • Include a copy of your driver’s license or other state ID.
  • Complete the AR State Police/FBI Criminal Background check form and sign in the presence of a notary
  • Include a completed fingerprint card – the standard FBI fingerprint card.
  • Mail the completed application, supporting documents, and fee to the Board of Pharmacy.

Renewal

Pharmacy technician licenses expire on December 31st every two years. For fast and convenient renewal, you can renew online using a credit card. Failure to renew by February 1 of the following year will result in a $20 penalty. Renewals submitted later than February 1 will result in a $40 penalty. Applications who fail to renew by April 1 must apply for reinstatement, pay the late fees, and undergo another criminal background check in order to keep working as a pharmacy technician.

Use the following steps to renew your application online:

  • Gather your registration and social security numbers; you’ll need them to complete the renewal.
  • Go to the online renewal portal on the Board of Pharmacy website to renew online.
  • Submit any changes to your existing mailing and email addresses.
  • Use your MasterCard, Discover, Visa, or American Express card to pay the $70 renewal fee. You can also use a preprinted e-check to submit payment.
  • Print the confirmation of registration and keep a copy for your records.

Transfer

If you’re registered in another state, you’ll have to submit a new registration with the Board of Pharmacy before you begin practicing as a pharmacy technician in Arkansas. Complete the application form, fingerprint card, and sign the criminal background check form in the presence of a notary. Send the documents along with the application fee to the Board of Pharmacy address provided below.

Contact the Board of Pharmacy:

 Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy
322 South Main Street, Suite 600
Little Rock, AR 72201

Phone: 501-682-0190
Fax: 501-682-0195
Email: adh.pharm.cs@arkansas.gov​

California

According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the employment of pharmacy technicians is expected to increase 4% from 2019 to 2029. California State stands second on the list of states where employment of pharmacy technicians is the highest. More than just job growth and availability, the profession offers flexibility and competitive pay. Again, according to the BLS, the national median annual wage for pharmacy technicians was $33,950 in 2019. Pharmacy technicians in California earned 10-15 percent more than the median annual wage. Top paying areas include San Francisco, Napa, San Jose, Sacramento, and Santa Rosa. Pharmacy technicians work in community pharmacies, hospitals, retail chains, grocery stores, nursing homes, and pharmaceutical companies.

California Pharmacy Technician License Requirement

Practice as a pharmacy technician in California requires a license issued by the California State Board of Pharmacy. Completing a formal education program that includes hands-on training and submitting a formal application to the Board are all part of the licensure process. Educational requirements include the completion of pharmacy education and submitting one of the following documentations of said completion to the California State Board of Pharmacy:

  • A Pharmacy Technology Associate Degree
  • A diploma or certificate from an approved program consisting of at least 240 hours of instruction
  • A program that is accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP)
  • Credentials showing graduation from an Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) accredited school of pharmacy
  • Current Pharmacy Technician Certification Board certification
  • Current National Healthcare Association Pharmacy Technician Certification Program (ExCPT) certification
  • Certificate of completing a pharmacy technician program from a branch of the federal military

The Board will issue a license within 60 days of the completed application. Employers can verify the license online using the “Verify a License” tab on the Board’s website.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in California.

Education Requirement

The California State Board of Pharmacy requires all applicants to have a high school diploma or GED equivalent. Completing an accredited pharmacy technician program or current PTCB or ExCPT certification is necessary for licensure.

Other Requirements

The California State Board of Pharmacy requires prospective pharmacy technicians to complete a criminal background check before issuing a license to practice. A criminal conviction may not be grounds for denial of licensure. However, some convictions make it difficult to obtain a license. These include driving under the influence (drugs or alcohol), possession of illegal drugs or prescription drugs without a prescription, possession or sale of illegal drugs, theft, and multiple arrests. Each instance is reviewed on a case-by-case basis. The Board will consider the incident and evidence of rehabilitation and make a decision based on the nature and severity of the crime, the time elapsed, compliance with the terms and conditions of parole, and any evidence of rehabilitation provided by the candidate.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

The best pharmacy technician programs include a combination of knowledge-based lectures and practical experiences. The program should meet the Board educational training requirements for pharmacy technicians, cover the skills that employers want, including lots of hands-on practice in the classroom and off-site, and recognized by an accrediting agency. Accreditation may be essential if you plan to pursue certification as a pharmacy technician.

There are several training paths for pharmacy technicians in California. The most common option is the Pharmacy Technician Certificate because it is most affordable and supports fast entry to practice. The associate degree option might cover the same core courses as the certificate program but will include general education coursework. Some programs may offer more comprehensive studies than those provided in the certificate program.

The content of all programs will include helping the student develop a body of knowledge to support the pharmacist with the receipt and dispensing of prescription and non-prescription medications. Topics will include pharmacy law and ethics, pharmacology, pharmacy, and medical terminology, customer service, pharmacy software, pharmacy math, recordkeeping, inventory management, processing prescriptions, and pharmacy operations.

Duration and Cost

The duration of the pharmacy technician program depends on the credential earned and the type of learning institute. Certificate programs can be completed in 6 to 12 months based on the schedule. Degree programs take up to two years for full-time students. Programs that require students to attend a lengthy internship will extend the duration of the training.

Training is available at vocational institutes and colleges. Employer-based training is also available – though they are not as prevalent as it used to be. The benefit of these programs is that they provide an opportunity to earn while learning. They are also free and there’s no need to go searching for a job upon completion.

The average cost of certificate programs in California is $5,200 for a comprehensive program that includes clinical externships, books, uniforms, and outside support. Degree programs at public colleges can cost slightly more. The cost at private institutions can exceed $12,500. Financial aid is available for eligible students and will significantly reduce out of pocket costs.

National Exams

The California State Board of Pharmacy does not require certification as a prerequisite to licensure. However, national certification through the PTCB or ExCPT will improve your job prospects. Employers today expect it from prospective employees and may even pay for current employees to complete certification. The Board will accept PTCB certification as in demonstration of your ability to function as a competent pharmacy technician.

The Pharmacy Technician Certification Board bestows the Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT) credential to successful candidates. Eligibility requirements include:

  • Completion of a PTCB recognized pharmacy technician training program or equivalent work experience (500 hours minimum)
  • Full disclosure of all criminal and State Board of Pharmacy registration or licensure actions
  • Meet all the applicable PTCB certification policies
  • Take and pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam
  • Pay the fee of $129

The preliminary scores presented upon completion of the exam provide an indication of your performance but are not official. The official scores will be published within two to three weeks following the exam. The PTCB will update your certification status (verifiable on the website) after this time. The certificate will be available to download on your PTCB dashboard if you pass the exam. The certification must be renewed every 2 years to maintain the credential. Recertification requires the completion of 20 hours of CE.

The ICPT designs and develops the ExCPT exam. To be eligible to take the ExCPT, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Have a high school diploma or GED
  • Must have a completed a training program or have at least 12 months of pharmacy-related experience – completed within 36 months of the application date
  • Take and pass the ExCPT exam
  • Pay the exam fee of $105

Pharmacy technician programs include preparation for success on the PTCB and ExCPT exams.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Candidates for licensure must be at least 18 years old with a high school diploma or GED equivalent. All applicants must demonstrate their competency to function in the role of a pharmacy technician. This might be demonstrated through the completion of an approved training program or PTCB or ExCPT certification. Once the application is submitted, the Board requires up to 45 days to process the application. Any deficiencies in the application will be sent via mail and must be rectified within 60 days. You can verify that your license has been issued using the “Verify a License” on the www.pharmacy.ca.gov

Pharmacy Technician Application:

  • Read the application instructions before completing the application
  • Complete the application for licensure and submit it to the Board of Pharmacy
  • Include a check or money order, payable to the California State Board of Pharmacy, in the amount of $195. The application fee is non-refundable
  • The name on the form must be exactly the same as the name on the driver’s license and other documents such as the Self-Query Report, Live Scan form, and fingerprint cards
  • Use N/A if the question does not apply. Do not leave blanks on the form
  • Sign and date the application
  • Attach a passport-style photo to page 1 of the application
  • Attach proof of completing high school or GED
  • Attach pharmacy technician documents – affidavit of completed coursework for graduation for pharmacy technician, or PTCB certification, ExCPT certification, or military training
  • Include a sealed, original Self-Query Report from the National Practitioner Data Bank. It must be dated within 60 days of filing the application
  • Complete Live Scan (for California residents) or Live Scan or fingerprints (for non-residents)

Renewal

The Board of Pharmacy sends out renewal notices approximately 90 days prior to the license’s expiration date. The renewal application can also be downloaded from the Board’s website. Renew using the following procedures:

  • Complete the renewal application form and submit a check or money order made out to the California State Board of Pharmacy. The renewal fee is $195 if submitting before the expiration date. A delinquency fee of $97.50 will be added for late renewals.
  • See “Yes” if you’ve had any disciplinary action against any government-issued license since the last renewal or “No” if you have not
  • Update email and residence if there have been changes since the last renewal

Licenses that are not renewed within 60 days from the expiration date will be canceled.

Contact the Board:
California State Board of Pharmacy
1625 N Market Blvd, N 219
Sacramento, CA 95834
Phone: 916-574-7900
Fax: 916-574-8616

Colorado

Traditionally, a pharmacist’s primary role involved the preparation and dispensing of the medication. However, the increasing availability of new medication and changes in health care reform affect the role of the modern pharmacist. As they strive to keep up with the effects of new drugs, including OTC drugs and natural products, and new standards of treatment, pharmacists will rely heavily on their pharmacy technicians to take on added responsibility.

Pharmacy technicians in Colorado and other states across the nation are taking on tasks, which were at one time reserved solely for the pharmacist. Trained technicians take prescription orders over the phone, prepare and dispense medication, and focus heavily on reducing errors. Their diligence gives pharmacists more time to keep abreast of new medications and counsel patients. Therefore, pharmacy technicians are more than just basic assistants. They’re critical elements in the effective functioning of community and hospital pharmacies. Proper training and education will prepare pharmacy technicians to shoulder more responsibility. While there’s no push on the part of Colorado’s Board of Pharmacy to register and promote standardization and accreditation of pharmacy technicians, the onus is on pharmacy employers and individuals to uphold nationwide standards. Accredited training programs and national certifying authorities help to increase standards and equip technicians with the skills to prepare and dispense medications with public safety in mind.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in CO:

Colorado Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

The Board of Pharmacy does not register, license, or certify pharmacy technicians. Colorado is just one of a few states where there’s no legislation governing the activities of pharmacy technicians. Pharmacy employers bear the burden of substantiating, training, and monitoring every pharmacy technician that comes into their employ. Since the pharmacist-in-charge and the Pharmacy as a whole may be held liable for errors or oversights on the part of the technician, it’s critical that they validate and train employees in all the activities they must perform.

A pharmacy technician prepares and dispenses medication and execute other routine tasks under a pharmacist’s supervision. That definition doesn’t change –even in states like Colorado, where there’s no legislation to govern the profession. Pharmacists must still check the technician’s work to ensure public safety.

Each pharmacy employer or chain of pharmacies will set their standards for employing, training, and certifying pharmacy technician employees. Most employers require applicants to possess a high school diploma before they commence in-house training. Others are partial to technicians who have completed some form of formal training and national certification as it cuts the hours they’ll have to invest in training new employees. Accredited training and national certification will be beneficial now and in the future when the state makes a move to register certified pharmacy technicians.

Age Requirement

Pharmacy technicians must be at least 18 years old to begin working at pharmacies in Colorado.

Education Requirement

A high school education with an emphasis on maths, biology, and chemistry, will give you a jumpstart on the courses needed to excel as a pharmacy technician. It’s left to the employer to establish the minimum requirements for training pharmacy technicians. However, most employers prefer candidates with a high school diploma or GED equivalent as a prerequisite to on-the-job training. Vocational schools, community colleges, and other traditional academia also require applicants to present their high school transcripts or diploma as a prerequisite to entry into the programs.

It should be every technician’s goal to obtain PTCB or ExCPT certification. Both certifying bodies require applicants to submit their high school diplomas as one of the requirements for certification. For this reason, you should earn your diploma or GED before pursuing a career as a pharmacy technician.

Other Requirements

Most employers will initiate a criminal background check, with candidates’ permission, as part of the application process. On the application for employment, the employer will include questions related to your criminal background and will follow with questions during the interview. Laws governing the operation of state pharmacies prohibit the employment of persons with criminal convictions, especially those related to controlled dangerous substances.

It’s natural to be concerned about youthful indiscretions, but they may not necessarily exclude you from becoming a pharmacy technician if you’re honest from the onset. Respond to the questions about previous crime, felony, or misdemeanor truthfully and provide a detailed description of the events that lead to the conviction.

The pre-employment/ pre-training criminal background check will authorize the employer to review documents from Colorado and other states.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Comprehensive training programs prepare students to work as pharmacy technicians in community and hospital pharmacies as well as clinics and assisted living facilities. Licensed pharmacist instructors also prepare students for the PTCB or ExCPT exam. Training programs involve classroom instruction, hands-on work in simulated labs, and a clinical rotation in a hospital or retail pharmacy. The course content covers:

  • Pharmaceutical maths
  • Anatomical systems
  • Insurance billing procedures
  • Pharmacy law and ethics
  • Various pharmacy operations, including practices in hospital and retail pharmacies
  • Inventory practices
  • Pharmacy medical terminology
  • The role of pharmacy technicians
  • I.V. flow rates and sterile compounding
  • The top 200 drugs
  • Generic and brand name drugs
  • Total parental nutrition
  • Dispensing prescription drugs

The clinical externship is a critical part of the training program, which involves spending 4-8 weeks in a local pharmacy putting your skills to work. In preparation for the off-site externship, the training provider will require students to consent to a criminal background check as a security measure. Students may also need to pass a drug and TB test and obtain up-to-date immunization.

If you’re skipping employer-based training in favor of paid training, then programs accredited by the ASHP may be the best option. Accredited training providers not only conform to the stringent requirements of the ASHP but also equip students with portable skills they can take from one pharmacy setting to another. Graduates from these programs have a distinct advantage over graduates of non-accredited programs: employers know they can work in almost any setting and have experience in IV preparation, sterile products, vaccines, and stress management.

Duration and Cost

Certificate programs at community colleges, vocational schools, and continuing education programs at universities use either credit hours or course hours to measure the program. Pharmacy technician programs cover 30+ credit hours that may be transferable to degree programs. Programs accredited by the ASHP provide at least 600-course hours. Full-time students can complete a program in 4 to 12 months.

The duration of employer-sponsored programs depends on the employer’s curriculum and students’ former education and training. The pharmacist-in-charge will develop the curriculum based on the pharmacy technician’s responsibilities in the workplace. In general, you can expect to spend at least 3 months covering the didactic and experiential components of the program. Employer-based programs are not standardized, so the training provided by one employer may not meet the requirements of another employer. The training also may not meet the requirements of licensing authorities in other states, so weigh your options carefully. One benefit of training on the job is the absence of costly tuition and other expenses.

The cost of tuition at colleges, vocational schools, and other institutions is approximately $2,100 plus extra for books, uniforms, and national certification.

National Exams

The PTCB, as well as the ICPT, are the two recognized certifying bodies. Even if Colorado doesn’t specifically require certification at this point, a lot can change in the near future as licensing authorities develop new legislation governing pharmacy technicians. Taking the step towards certification will also demonstrate your commitment to excellence to prospective employers.

The PTCE, offered by the PTCB, is a multiple-choice exam available at Pearson VUE testing centers across the nation, including several centers in Colorado. In order to qualify for CPhT certification, you must successfully pass the exam and meet other requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years
  • Pass a criminal background check
  • Possess a high school diploma

In the future, the PTCB will require candidates to complete formal pharmacy technician training as another requirement for certification. Once certified, you must complete at least 20 hours of continuing pharmacy education in order to renew your certification. The cost of PTCB certification is $129.

The ICPT’s ExCPT assessment is gaining ground in formerly PTCB-dominated territory. Employers, once partial to the PTCB certification, now concede to the ExCPT’s benefits. With the wider acceptance of both authorities, it’s left to the candidate to choose a certifying body. The ExCPT exam is a multiple-choice exam administered at PSI/LaserGrade centers 310 days a year. Applicants must be 18 years or older, have a high school diploma, and complete formal pharmacy training before applying for certification.

Contact the Board of Pharmacy:

Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
Board of Pharmacy

Address: 1560 Broadway, Suite 1350,
Denver, CO 80202

Phone: (303) 894-7800
Fax: (303) 894-7693
Email: dora_registrations@state.co.us

Connecticut

Dispensing drugs might appear to be an easy task, but it calls for immense precision and detail. Pharmacy technicians assist pharmacists by filling prescriptions in a professional and timely manner. They, like the pharmacists, must keep up with new generic and brand name drugs, which can change weekly. They must be compassionate and friendly to deal daily with patients who are unwell and not in the best of moods. Pharmacy technicians work everywhere from grocery stores, general merchandise stores, and clinics, but they’re more frequently present at drug stores and hospitals.

Connecticut-based pharmacy technicians must meet the requirements set forth by the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection Commission of Pharmacy and apply for registration before practicing in the state. The state’s minimum requirements are by no means the only requirements for employers. For this reason, pharmacy technicians should enroll in a formal training program or take the PTCB exam for national recognition.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in CT:

Connecticut Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

The Commission of Pharmacy requires pharmacy technicians to obtain registration or certification through the Department. All applicants must demonstrate sufficient evidence of their qualification to perform routine functions, such as dispensing drugs, under the direct supervision of a pharmacist.

Pharmacy technicians-in-training must complete an initial training developed by the pharmacist manager in the place of employment. The training will cover critical and routine tasks that will help pharmacy technicians fulfill their responsibilities in the pharmacy. The pharmacist will determine the technician’s need for related education – formal or informal. Technicians must complete all training before a regular performance of assigned tasks and register with the Commission of Pharmacy within 30 days of commencement of in-house training.

Although the state does not require technicians to report continuing education as a requirement for license renewal, pharmacist managers must ensure technicians’ continued competency through the provision of in-service training. The pharmacy manager must maintain a record of the initial training and continuing education of each technician. The record will include the technician’s name, date of training, topics covered, name and signature of the instructor, and the trainee’s signature. The records must be readily available at the pharmacist for inspection purposes.

Pharmacy technicians, certified by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board, can apply directly to the Commission for Connecticut-state certification to work as pharmacy technicians in retail or hospital pharmacies.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in Connecticut.

Education Requirement

While the Commission of Pharmacy does not expect pharmacy technicians to submit evidence of high school completion with their applications, employers, in most cases, will expect it from their employees. Therefore, it is essential that you provide a copy of your high school transcript or a certified copy of your GED before applying for in-house training at community pharmacies and accredited training institutions.

Other Requirements

All applicants for registration must provide accurate information on the felony disclosure segment of the application form. If there are previous convictions, you must provide supporting documents outlining the nature of the convictions. The Commission of Pharmacy will determine the need for a criminal background check. Prior criminal convictions could delay or result in a refusal of your application for registration.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Since there are no ASHP-accredited pharmacy technician training programs in Connecticut, students desirous of formal training could seek out programs offered in partnership with the Connecticut Pharmacists Association. These training programs prepare students for employment as pharmacy technicians in hospitals, community pharmacies, and long-term care settings. Some of the main topics covered during classroom instruction include generic drug names, dosage calculations, medical terminology related to pharmacy, I.V. flow rates, reading and interpreting prescriptions, and drug compounding. Other topics such as inventory control, insurance reimbursement, billing, and customer care prepare graduates to assist with other functions in the pharmacy setting.

Most training programs comprise of an experiential component where students work alongside pharmacists and other employees in a real-world setting. Apart from employment readiness, formal training prepares students for the PTCB national certification exam. Applicants for training should be proficient in English and maths to follow directives and perform pharmaceutical calculations. The training institute may also require a high school diploma, immunization, background check, and physical exam.

Duration and Cost

Comprehensive training programs at CPA recognized colleges cost an average of $1,200 for tuition. Other costs include administrative fees, parking, textbooks, workbooks, immunization, background check, physical exam, and other miscellaneous student fees. Some students may qualify for financial aid – depending on their financial status. Training programs cover 60 hours at some institutes to as much as 300 hours at others. Depending on the schedule, the contact hours could translate to 10 weeks to 6 months of training.

Remember, you don’t need a formal education to work in Connecticut. Formal training prepares students for the PTCB exam, although, you can challenge the exam without a prep course. PTCB certification allows for national recognition as a Certified Pharmacy Technician. Pharmacy employers are partial to Certified Pharmacy Technicians as the state allows a third technician on shift with a pharmacist if one of the technicians is certified.

National Exams

Connecticut’s pharmacy technicians should take the PTCE, developed by the PTCB, even though it’s not a state requirement. Successful completion of the exam gives the Pharmacy Technician the CPhT designation, which is advantageous in the state and on a national level as it demonstrates the candidate’s proficiency in the field.

If you plan to take the national exam, you should have a high school diploma or GED, no felony convictions in the five years prior to taking the exam, and no history of felony convictions for drugs or pharmacy.

The computer-based assessment comprises of 90-multiple choice questions. Ten questions (not known to the candidate) are for trial purposes only, and the other 80 questions will be scored. You must obtain a scaled score of 650 in order to pass the 2-hour exam. If you fail the test, you must wait at least 90 days before attempting the exam – in the next testing window.

To apply for the test, you should submit the application online and schedule a date and testing center once the Board approves your application. Board-certified pharmacy technicians must complete at least 20 hours of continuing education unit within a two-year period to maintain certification.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Use the following instructions to apply for registration as a Pharmacy Technician in Connecticut. You must fill out the paper application and mail it to the address provided below.

  • Download and fill out the pharmacy technician application.
  • Include details on previous pharmacy tech employment over the past three (3) years.
  • Respond to the questions related to the felony convictions and provide court documents for each conviction.
  • Ask your employer to verify your employment and training on the application form.
  • Attach copies of any formal pharmacy technician training and certification.
  • Enclose a check or money order in the amount of $100, made payable to the Treasurer, State of Connecticut.

Renewal

Connecticut’s pharmacy technicians must renew their licenses annually. The deadline for renewal is March 31st. The Commission of Pharmacy will send a renewal reminder 30 to 45 days prior to your license expiration. The renewal notice will contain a username and password to renew your license online. It will also contain information for renewal by mail. Keep in mind that online renewals are faster and more convenient.

The Commission provides step by step illustrated instructions for renewing online. You can pay the renewal fee of $50 using a Visa, MasterCard, or American Express card.

If you do not renew by the March 31st deadline, you must apply for reinstatement of your application and pay $60 for reinstatement.

You must inform the department of any changes in your name or address within 5 days of making the change.

Transfers

Pharmacy technicians licensed in another state and the District of Columbia may apply for registration within Connecticut provided that the requirements in the home state are equivalent to or greater than the requirements in Connecticut. To apply for registration, a PT licensed in another state must:

  • Download and fill out the application for registration
  • Submit the application fee of $100
  • Provide documents indicating prior training and registration.

Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection

Commission of Pharmacy
165 Capitol Avenue,
Hartford, CT 06106
Phone: 860-713-6100
Toll-Free in CT: 800-842-2649

Delaware

At a projected rate of 32 percent through the year 2020, employment of pharmacy technicians is growing much faster than the average for all other occupations. The steady growth of the middle-aged and senior population and their use of prescription drugs is the primary reason for the demands for pharmacy technicians during the projected period. Advances in technology, leading to new and improved drugs and better prescription drug coverage will also create new opportunities for pharmacy technicians.

Pharmacy technicians work in hospitals, mail-order pharmacies, community pharmacies, and home health care pharmacies, to name a few. Training and certification prepare technicians to meet the demanding role, which includes ordering and stocking medications, interpreting and recording prescriptions, dispensing medication, preparing IV admixtures and medications, calculating dosages, and labeling containers. Delaware’s Board of Pharmacy defines the roles and responsibilities of pharmacy technicians and specifies the requirements for working legally in the state.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in DE:

Delaware Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Delaware State Board of Pharmacy does not register, license, or certify pharmacy technicians. Like a few other states, Delaware has not adopted legislation to govern the activities of pharmacy technicians. For this reason, pharmacy employers have to exercise diligence and enforce stringent policies to hire, train, and monitor pharmacy technician employees. Pharmacy technicians carry out their assigned duties under the immediate supervision and control of a licensed pharmacist. Therefore, the pharmacist and hiring pharmacy are liable for any errors on the pharmacy technician’s part.

Although state regulations do not require registration, there are specific requirements for pharmacy technician training and duties. Pharmacy technicians must complete training, provided by a pharmacist-in-charge or trained pharmacy technician, within 90 days of employment. The pharmacist will maintain a policy and procedure manual and detail the contents of the training program in writing. Certified pharmacy technicians (those who pass the PTCB or other recognized national exam) can assist with advanced duties, such as reconstituting oral solutions and contacting the prescriber to obtain refill authorization.

Pharmacy technicians who complete a Board-approved training program in lieu of passing the PTCB exam or other national certification may perform the functions of a Certified Pharmacy Technician with prior Board approval. The Board’s approval for the defined activities is not transferable to another facility.

Age Requirement

Certified pharmacy technicians must be at least 18 years old to practice legally in Delaware.

Education Requirement

A high school diploma is advantageous when beginning a career as a pharmacy technician. Employers will request it from prospective employees, and it’s also a requirement to pursue national certification through the PTCB and other certifying agencies.

The Delaware State Board of Pharmacy requires all pharmacy technicians to acquire pharmacy technician training in preparation for the role. The training could be administered by the pharmacist-in-charge at the technician’s place of employment or through a formal program approved by the Board.

Other Requirements

The state does not require pharmacy technicians to undergo a criminal background check before hiring. However, employers, in accordance with federal regulations, may request details of a candidate’s criminal history on the application for employment. Employers may also request a criminal background check to ensure that prospective employees have no criminal convictions or felonies, especially those related to the use of controlled dangerous substances.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Delaware requires pharmacy technicians to complete a training program. There are two options for training: employer-provided provided or those afforded through traditional institutions, such as vocational schools and colleges.

Training provided by an employer must commence immediately upon employment. Student technicians should complete all the training requirements within 90 days. After that, the graduate can work in the pharmacy under the direct supervision of a pharmacist or trained technician. The curriculum, developed by the pharmacist-in-charge, based on the practice site and the technician’s responsibility, will include at least 10 hours of didactic training. Essential topics include:

  • General drugs and dosages
  • Pharmaceutical calculations
  • Medical terminology
  • Maintaining records of the patient profile
  • Procedures for prescription labeling
  • Filling and dispensing medication
  • Patient confidentiality
  • State and Federal statutes and regulations
  • Inventory procedures
  • Administration
  • Safety practices

The pharmacy must maintain an outline of the curriculum and the details of the policy and procedures on file.

Training programs at institutions, such as the Delaware Technical Community College, cover didactic, laboratory, and a clinical externship to prepare graduates for work in both retail and hospital settings. The didactic training in the classroom covers much of the same topics at employer-provided programs. The clinical externship affords students the opportunity to work in a real-world setting under the guidance of a pharmacist and other trained technicians. Before commencing the externship, the training provider may require students to undergo a criminal background check and pass a drug and TB test.

Duration and Cost

The average cost of pharmacy technician training in Delaware is $1,980. The Certified Pharmacy Technician program at Delaware Technical Community College prepares students for the PTCB exam. As such, the advertised cost of $3,195 includes tuition, uniform, books, drug screening, and certification with the PTCB – provided that the students fulfill all the requirements.

Adult Education programs, such as the one offered at PolyTech, do not include expenses such as immunization, uniform, textbooks, drug screening, and criminal background check. However, the course is partially funded by the Delaware Workforce Investment Board. The duration of paid programs ranges from 80 hours to 350 hours, which equals 2 to 6 months of training.

For free training options, you can apply for employment at community pharmacies and train under the guidance of a licensed pharmacist. As industry standards increase and the role of a pharmacy technician expands, it is even more important for employer-trained pharmacy technicians to pursue certification, which will give them a competitive edge and portable skills in a growing industry.

National Exams

The State Board of Pharmacy recognizes pharmacy technicians who complete the PTCE, developed by the PTCB. They are classified as Certified Pharmacy Technicians and can assist pharmacists with the reconstitution of oral solutions and contact a prescriber to obtain authorization for refills.

Certified pharmacy technicians also have the advantage in the face of changing regulations, and can easily transfer from one state to another. To apply for certification, you must submit your request online. The fee for certification is $129. Before you submit your application and payment, make sure you can fulfill the following requirements:

  • Possess a high school diploma or equivalent education
  • No criminal convictions or disciplinary actions were taken against you by any State Board of Pharmacy
  • Read and agree to abide by the PTCB Policies and Procedures
  • Pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)

After the PTCB approves your application for testing, you can schedule and take the test at any one of the 200 Pearson Vue testing centers across the United States. The certificate expires every 2 years, and you must fulfill the continuing education requirements of 20 units and pay the renewal fee of $40 to renew your certification.

Contact the Board of Pharmacy:
Delaware State Board of Pharmacy
State Government Office
Address: 861 Silver Lake Blvd #203,
Dover, DE 19904
Phone: (302) 744-4500
customerservice.dpr@state.de.us

Florida

Florida’s pharmacy technician certificate programs help health care employers meet the rising need for trained technicians in the hospital and retail pharmacy setting. In the last decade, the demands for pharmacy technicians have almost doubled as these professionals become indispensable to the people they serve. Growing demands for prescription medications coupled with a shortage of registered pharmacists have created new opportunities for pharmacy technicians to play an important role in the industry. The expanding role of pharmacy technicians in the health care setting raises some concerns for employers and state pharmacy boards. As a result, the Florida Board of Pharmacy requires pharmacy technicians to register with the Board after completing an approved training program.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in FL:

Florida Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Florida’s pharmacy technician candidates must register by filing an application with the board before performing assigned duties under the direct supervision of a licensed pharmacist. The applicant must submit proof of completing a pharmacy technician program, approved by the Board of Pharmacy, along with the non-refundable application fee. While the Board requires technicians to register before working in a hospital or retail pharmacy setting, pharmacy technician students enrolled in a board-approved program can work in a pharmacy for the purpose of practical training. During that time, the student must wear identification to indicate student status. Licensed pharmacy interns can obtain employment as registered pharmacy technicians without filing an application to the board to register as a pharmacy technician. Employers must verify a prospective employee’s registration before hire.

Age Requirement

You must be at least 17 years old at the time of application for Florida state registration.

Education Requirement

The Florida Board of Pharmacy does not require a high school diploma to process your application. While this lowers barriers to entry, many employers may request a copy of your high school diploma or GED with your application for employment.

The Board requires all prospective pharmacy technicians to complete an approved training program, which prepares them to provide quality, safe, and effective service at the state’s pharmacies. The Board recognizes training programs accredited by the:

  • American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools
  • Florida Commission for Independent Education (CIE)
  • Council on Occupational Education and
  • Those provided by a branch of the federal armed services.

The Board also approved a list of employer-based pharmacy technician training programs available on the Department of Health website. See below for a full list of training programs.

Other Requirements

The Board will request a certified copy of documents of disciplinary actions taken against you if you answer “yes” to any questions related to the disciplinary history on the application. They will also need details of the circumstances that led to the action taken against you and a description of your rehabilitative steps.

The Board expects pharmacy technicians to be in good health. If you suffer from any of the medical conditions highlighted on the application form, you’ll need to submit documentation detailing your current status, treatment, and prognosis from a licensed professional.

A criminal background check is another requirement for Board registration. The Board may clear minor offenses upon review. However, repeat offenders and violent crimes must undergo an extensive board review and applicants must submit evidence of rehabilitation. All applicants with prior convictions must submit copies of arrest records, proof of completion of parole, probation or sanctions, and an explanation of the circumstances surrounding the offense.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Florida’s pharmacy technician training providers prepare students for entry-level employment as pharmacy technicians. Through theoretical training and practical skills, they acquire the confidence to support licensed pharmacists in hospitals, retail pharmacies, nursing homes, and mail-order pharmacies.

During the program, students learn how to maintain patient medication records, deliver medication to patient rooms, fulfill prescriptions, maintain inventory, fill medical forms for insurance and billing purposes. Course content includes pharmacy calculations, nutrition, health care systems, medical terminology, pharmacology, pharmacy law and ethics, and computer technology.

A clinical externship is a critical part of the program. Students work in local pharmacies where they practice performing the duties of a pharmacy technician. Clinical externships are usually a minimum of 180 hours long. Graduates of pharmacy technician programs can register with the Board of Pharmacy and can also apply for the PTCB certification exam.

Duration and Cost

Pharmacy technician programs range from $1,450 to $18,749 in Florida for tuition only. Additional costs include books, exams, uniforms, and other supplies. Some programs/pharmacists may pay a small stipend during the clinical externship. Financial aid may be available to help cover the costs of training for those students who meet the eligibility criteria.

Duration depends on whether you attend full-time or part-time and the number of training hours the program provides. Generally, students can complete training in as little as 4 months or as long as 24 months (for associate degree programs). Many accredited programs offer credits that you can transfer to a degree program.

National Exams

With all other factors equal, an employer will employ a candidate who took the initiative to acquire certification. The Board of Pharmacy emphasizes formal training above all else but does recognize certification from the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB).

While Florida registration is state-contained, PTCB certification is valid nationwide. The national certification gives candidates immediate recognition and enables them to offer quality patient care and service. Once candidates pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE) and meet the other eligibility requirements, they can use the designation CPhT (Certified Pharmacy Technician). Certification must be renewed every two years after meeting the Board’s continuing education requirements.

Applicants must possess a high school diploma and pass a criminal background check to obtain certification. The fee for the Pearson Vue administered exam is $129. The exam contains 90 multiple-choice questions, 80 scored and 10 unscored, which tests candidates’ comprehension of 9 knowledge domains.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Along with a completed application for pharmacy technician registration, you must submit a completed social security form, official transcript of your pharmacy technician training, and the $105 fee ($50.00 non-refundable application fee, $50.00 registration fee, $5.00 unlicensed application fee). The Board will send out a deficiency letter if you fail to provide proof of completing an approved training program.

If you answer “yes” to any of the questions related to disciplinary actions, criminal history, or medical history, you must also submit supporting documents.

You must submit all requirements for registration within one year of submitting your application before your documents expire. The Board will acknowledge receipt of the application and will send a copy of your license within 7 days of the issue date.

Renewal

The department will mail your renewal application 90 days before your license expires. You should maintain an accurate mailing address on file to receive updates. The license will go into delinquent status if you fail to renew by the expiry date. To renew your license, you’ll need to submit:

  • The completed renewal application
  • The renewal fee of $55 (for active licenses only)
  • Meet the continuing education requirements, which is 20 hours of courses approved by the board of the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.

Transfers

Florida does not accept license transfers from other states. Pharmacy technicians from other states must complete a training program or provide proof of training from another state for the Pharmacy Board review.

The Florida State Board of Pharmacy Information
Office: 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C-04
Tallahassee, FL 32399
850-245-4292
Website: http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/pharmacy

Georgia

Pharmacy technicians perform pharmacy-related functions under the direction of a licensed pharmacist. They dispense prescription medication to patients and give advice on proper use. They also perform administrative duties, such as reviewing prescription requests, consulting with insurance companies, following up with payments, and managing inventory. Due to the greater scope of practice, Georgia’s Board of Pharmacy, like other state pharmacy boards, regulates the training and licensing of pharmacy technicians. Training equips students with the skills to support licensed pharmacists in retail pharmacies, hospitals, and assisted living facilities. Apart from learning the technical skills, students must develop effective communication skills, which is essential for delivering safe and effective care.

Pharmacy Tech Schools in GA:

Georgia Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

The Board of Pharmacy requires all persons working with licensed pharmacies to register with the State Board. The law applies to individuals performing any pharmacy-related activities at the retail, hospital, and commercial pharmacy locations. Prospective technicians must submit their applications online, through the Pharmacy Board’s website, pay the applicable fees and submit the requested documents. The Board makes a list of registered Pharmacy Technicians available on their website for employers to verify a prospective employee’s status before hiring.

Unlike other states, Georgia does not require technicians to undergo formal training before registration. However, applicants must submit proof of completing high school or GED. The Board also recognizes PTCB certification although it is not mandatory. Keep in mind that employers may favor trained and certified candidates during the recruiting process.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in Georgia.

Education Requirement

Candidates not enrolled in a high school at the time of application must submit proof of a high school education or GED equivalent along with any postsecondary education or college degree. While Georgia does not require applicants to submit proof of pharmacy technician training as a requirement for registration, the training will help students prepare for the national PTCB exam, which Georgia recognizes.

Other Requirements

Applicants must agree to provide the information required for a criminal background check, through Cogent Systems/GAPS, which will include a review of the applicant’s criminal history, driver’s license history, and any other information the board deems necessary. The Board can deny the applicant’s request or grant registration with conditions. Prior convictions and guilty pleas related to misdemeanor crimes of moral turpitude or marijuana may lead to denial of the application for registration.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Pharmacy technician training, while not required in Georgia, takes students from the classroom to a successful career in the shortest possible time. There are a number of pharmacy technician training programs in Georgia that are accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). These programs are available at community colleges and vocational schools. The programs prepare students for the National Pharmacy Technician Certification Examination (CPhT), administered by the PTCB. Many employers across Georgia recognize and favor prospective employees who obtain PTCB certification.

Industry-centered training prepares graduates for careers in various pharmacy settings, including hospital, community, and long-term care pharmacies. The courses provide current and relevant information, covering all aspects of pharmacy care, including inventory management, software systems, customer care, physiology, ethics, infection control, pharmacology, medical terminology, and pharmacy calculations. The experiential component of the training lets students work for a stipulated period in a retail or hospital setting to develop skills in a real-world environment.

Duration and Cost

The cost and duration of training depending on the type of program – certificate, diploma, or degree programs. The tuition at Georgia’s accredited colleges cost an average of $4,500 for tuition only. After adding other costs, such as textbooks, supplies, uniform, registration fee, CPR, background check, drug screening, and immunization, the final cost of training is an estimated $5,200. Financial aid may be available for qualifying students.

Most programs may be completed in just 6 months, but some cover at least 10-12 months of training, including the externship. Graduates may earn credits, which they can transfer to pharmacy degree programs.

National Exams

Georgia recognizes the PTCB exam, which provides national certification to all successful candidates. The exam contains 90 multiple choice questions that test your skills and knowledge of nine knowledge domains: Pharmacology, Pharmacy Law, Compounding, Medication Safety, Quality Assurance, Order Entry, and Billing, Inventory Management, Billing and Reimbursement, and Pharmacy Systems.

Ten questions are for statistical analysis only and will not count toward your score. There are several versions of the two-hour exam, and you must score at least 650 out of 900 possible points to pass the exam. Like Georgia’s Board of Pharmacy, the PTCB does not require formal training before challenging the exam. However, there are benefits of training, including hands-on experience, opportunities for continuing education, and competitive advantage.

If you pass the PTCB national exam, you may use the CPhT credential.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

You should submit your application for registration online for faster processing. A paper application is also available if you don’t want to take the online route. Along with the completed application, you must submit:

  • The non-refundable application fee of $100. Make the check or money order payable to the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy.
  • A notarized paper application signed in the presence of a notary.
  • Documents confirming your citizenship or resident alien status
  • GAPS criminal background check report
  • PTCB certification if applicable
  • Details of employment. Provide the license number of the pharmacy where you work.

The application remains valid for one year. The application will become void if the applicant fails to provide outstanding documents within the period.

Renewal

After your initial registration, the license to work is renewable biennially. You must submit the renewal application on time for the renewal to process by June 30th on odd-numbered years. Submit your renewal fee of $60 to the board, and your registration will be updated. Georgia has no continuing education requirements for renewal. If you must change your name or address, you should send a letter to the Board, within 10 days of the change, to update your status. The fee for late registration is $90.

Transfers

The Board of Pharmacy does not allow pharmacy technicians from other states to transfer their registration to Georgia. If you move to the state, you must submit a request to the Board and meet all the requirements for in-state registration.

The Georgia Board of Pharmacy
2 Peachtree Street, NW
Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone: 404-651-8000

Hawaii

Registration is not required in the state of Hawaii to work as a pharmacy technician. The Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs, Pharmacy and Pharmacist Licensing Area does not provide regulation for pharmacy technicians. Therefore, there are no pharmacy technician requirements in Hawaii set forth to work as a pharmacy tech.

Basic Pharmacy Technician Requirements in Hawaii

While the state does not require registration or licensing of pharmacy technicians, you should meet at least the following criteria:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Have a high school diploma or a GED
  • Must be of good moral character
  • Pass a criminal background check
  • Completed a pharmacy technician program accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists

Training Requirements

As Hawaii does not regulate this career field, it is best to attend a training program or school that is accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).

 

Programs that are accredited by the ASHP have shown that they meet the recommended requirements.

Certification Requirements

National certification is not required in Hawaii.

Pharmacy Tech Training in Hawaii

Hawaii Technology Institute in Honolulu has an 18 week evening Pharmacy Technician program where upon successful completion you will receive a Certification of Completion in Pharmacy Technician.

This program also includes a three-week internship in a pharmacy to provide valuable hands-on experience.

Contact them at 808-522-2700 for more details on the program.

Idaho

Pharmacy technicians support their pharmacist supervisors by providing medication and other pharmacy products to patients and customers. They perform routine tasks, such as preparing prescription orders but will also play a critical role in the pharmacy’s administrative tasks, such as stocking shelves, answering phones, operating the cash register, and maintaining patient records. Pharmacy technicians perform these tasks in various healthcare settings, including hospitals and clinic pharmacies, community pharmacies, and managed health care facilities. They may also work in non-traditional settings like medical insurance companies, wholesale drug companies, and manufacturing companies. Regardless of where they work, technicians must understand the use and side effects of prescription and non-prescription drugs and demonstrate their commitment to patient safety and confidentiality. The Idaho Board of Pharmacy’s requirement for certification helps Idaho’s pharmacy technicians keep pace with industry standards, ethical conduct, and professionalism on the job.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in ID:

Idaho Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

The Idaho Board of Pharmacy requires individuals to register as a pharmacy technician or pharmacy technician-in-training prior to practicing in state-licensed pharmacies. The Board will issue a pharmacy technician-in-training license to an individual who receives an offer of employment as a pharmacy technician but has not met the requirements for national certification. Individuals who earn the CPhT designation after the successful passage of the PTCB or NHA exam can apply for registration as a Certified Pharmacy Technician.

To be eligible for registration the applicant must meet the Board’s age and education requirements and possess a good moral character. Upon approval of the registration, the professional must renew the license yearly and keep a copy of the registration at the drug outlet where the individual works. If the license holder renews the registration online, he/she must print a copy of the confirmation and post it in the drug outlet. If a technician provides services at a temporary location, he/she should be able to provide proof of registration upon request.

Idaho’s pharmacy employers should verify a prospective employee’s registration status before the individual practices pharmacy-related activities in the drug outlet.

Age Requirement

The applicant for registration must be at least 18 years old. The Board will accept pharmacy technician-in-training registration applications from 16-year-olds with a request for waiver. The waiver is available for students enrolled in a school supervised program or from a pharmacy owner’s child.

Education Requirement

A copy of the applicant’s high school diploma or GED certificate must accompany all applications for registration. The Board will also accept a copy of the applicant’s high school transcript if it indicates the date of graduation. Candidates who do not meet the requirement must apply for a waiver from the Board’s executive director.

Other Requirements

All applicants must submit fingerprints for a criminal history check of Idaho’s criminal database and the FBI database. A local law enforcement agency could assist with the fingerprinting. Along with the fingerprints, applicants must submit a copy of their government-issued ID and a completed Non-Criminal Justice Applicant Privacy Statement. The background check takes approximately 3 to 4 weeks.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Pharmacy technician training programs are available at colleges, universities, vocational schools, and high schools across Idaho. The training equips students with the skills to begin a career as a Certified Pharmacy Technician. Accredited programs utilize an established curriculum that prepares students to take the PTCB or ExCPT exam. Training programs also explore the numerous job settings and career paths open to pharmacy technicians.

From the onset of training, students learn basic anatomy, clinical terms for common medical conditions, techniques for reading prescriptions and patient records, and common classes of drugs and how they work. Pharmaceutical calculations, including how to translate the measurements into household measurements, pharmacy laws and regulations, prescription pricing, effective communication, public safety, avoiding medication errors, and customer service skills are some other critical components of pharmacy technician training.

Apart from classroom instruction, students also participate in a hands-on lab in the school’s compounding lab facility where they learn through interactive review sessions. The theory and skills lab prepares students for an externship at local retail or hospital pharmacy to apply their learning in a real-world setting under the direction of a pharmacist.

Requirements for entry into most pharmacy technician programs, even those sponsored by employers, include a high school diploma and a criminal background check. Students must be at least 18 years old. However, some programs, targeted at high school students, will accept individuals who are at least 16 years. Note: you cannot register as a Certified Pharmacy Technician until you’re 18 years or older.

Duration and Cost

The cost of training depends on the type of program. Schools, such as Carrington College, facilitate programs that culminate in one of two outcomes: a certificate or associate degree. Certificate programs are normally shorter and cost less than degree programs. The average cost of a basic certificate program is $14,500 for approximately 36 weeks of training. An associate degree costs $25,450 for 60 weeks of training. Financial aid may be available through federal loans. Workforce training programs, like the one offered at Lewis-Clark State College, costs considerably less, but there may be limited enrollment. Additional costs include a criminal background check, immunizations, textbooks, workbooks, uniforms, and testing fees.

Although the immediate need to fill shortages can force employers to hire trained and certified pharmacy technicians, you can still train for free through several employer-based training programs. You’ll need to search actively for opportunities and register as a pharmacy technician-in-training before you begin working at the designated pharmacy.

National Exams

Pharmacy technicians are an indispensable part of the health care team. Their increasing responsibilities and supportive role to pharmacists make certification an important requirement by many state employers and Idaho’s Board of Pharmacy. Pharmacy technicians may perform many of the tasks of a pharmacist, but the pharmacist supervisor must check their work before dispensing the medication to a patient. National certification through the PTCB or NHA helps to boost technician confidence, professionalism and reduce medication error.

The PTCB is the older of the two certifying agencies and recognized by 45 states. The Pharmacy Technician Certification Board designs and develops the PTCE and delivers the exam through a collaboration with Pearson Vue. Currently, the exam is available through more than 200 testing centers across the United States, including several centers in Idaho. To be eligible for testing, applicants must be at least 18 years, pass a criminal background check, have no drug or criminal felonies, and abide by the Board’s policies. Applicants must submit their applications for certification online and follow the procedures for fingerprinting. Once the Board approves the request, the candidate can schedule a test date within 90 days and take the 2-hour exam, which comprises of 90 multiple-choice questions. Pharmacy technicians certified by the PTCB must complete the continuing education requirements and renew their certification biennially to maintain their CPhT status. The renewal fee is $40.

The ExCPT, developed by the Institute for Certification of Pharmacy Technicians (ICPT), is an alternative to the PTCB, which Idaho’s Board of Pharmacy also accepts. Applicants for certification must be at least 18 years, possess a high school diploma or equivalent, and have no drug-related felonies or other criminal convictions. Applicants should also have proof of completing a formal pharmacy technician training program or at least 12 months of pharmacy employment. The cost of ICPT certification is $105, and renewal is every two years. The two-hour test comprises 110 multiple-choice questions, which test candidates’ knowledge of the dispensing process, technician duties, and responsibilities, and generic and brand name drugs.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Idaho’s pharmacy technicians have two options for registering with the Board of Pharmacy. An individual who has not completed the requirements for national certification can register as a technician-in-training if he/she is employed in a pharmacy and meet all other requirements for registration. Certified technician registration applies to individuals who acquire national certification and meet the Board’s requirements for registration. Applicants must be at least 18 years old unless the Board’s executive director grants a waiver.

Pharmacy Technician-in-Training Application:

An individual who is currently employed in a pharmacy, but has not obtained national certification through a recognized agency is eligible to apply for registration as a pharmacy technician-in-training. Following are the steps for registration.

  • Download the Technician-in-training application and fill out all questions.
  • Include a copy of your high school diploma, transcript, or GED certificate. Attach the waiver request if you’re currently enrolled in a school supervised program.
  • Include a copy of your government-issued ID (a driver’s license or passport)
  • Email the Board to request a fingerprint packet, and submit your completed fingerprints with the application.
  • Include copies of your state ID, social security card, and a high school diploma.
  • Fill out the Non-criminal Justice Applicant Privacy Statement included in the fingerprint packet.
  • Enclose the application fee of $35 plus $39.50 for the criminal background check.
  • Two reputable business persons should attest to your good moral character on the application form.
  • Mail the application form, fee, and supporting documents to the address provided below.

Pharmacy technicians in training may renew their registration up to two times before meeting the requirements to register as certified pharmacy technicians.

Certified Pharmacy Technician Application:

An individual who earns the CPhT designation after passing a national certification exam (PTCB or NHA) can register as a Certified Pharmacy Technician in Idaho. The applicant must meet all the requirements listed above and also provide a copy of the PTCB or NHA certificate. The application fee is $35 plus $39.50 for the criminal background check (where applicable).

Supporting documents, such as police reports and court documents should accompany any positive responses to the criminal history or disciplinary action questions.

The criminal background check takes approximately 3 to 4 weeks, and the results are valid for 180 days. The Board requires 4 to 6 weeks to process the application for registration after receiving the completed form and all supporting documents. Criminal convictions and disciplinary actions may delay the processing time for your application.

Renewal

Pharmacy technician licenses expire on June 30 every year. Pharmacy technicians and technicians-in-training should renew on time to maintain valid licenses for continued employment. The Board of Pharmacy will mail the renewal application by the fourth week in April to the licensee’s last known address. It is the technician’s responsibility to renew the application before the expiration date.

Following are the steps for renewal.

  • Look for the renewal form in the mail after the fourth week in April. The renewal website will be available after the Board sends the notices. Note: It is crucial that you maintain an accurate address with the Board to receive notices. If your address changes, submit an Address Change Request to update your information.
  • Pay the renewal fee of $35 using a credit/debit card, check, or money order.
  • Verify your license 2-3 weeks after mailing in your application.
  • For faster renewals, you should submit your request online. You can verify your active renewal immediately after renewing online.

Failure to renew on time will cause your registration to lapse, and you will incur a late fee. Lapsed registrations are invalid, and the pharmacy technician is unable to work until the Board approves the request. The technician must apply for a reinstatement if the registration is not renewed within 30 days after expiration.

Pharmacy technicians who receive their registrations 10 weeks or less prior to the renewal date are exempt from the renewal requirements during the first year only.

Transfer

Pharmacy technicians, registered in other states, should follow the steps for a new registration to work in Idaho.

Contact the Board:

Idaho Board of Pharmacy
1199 W Shoreline Lane, Suite 303
Boise, ID 83702-9103
Phone: 208.334.2356
Fax: 208.334.3536

Illinois

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, there are more than 356,000 pharmacy technicians working in hospitals and independent retail chains across the nation. Outside of traditional pharmacies, technicians also work in long-term care facilities, insurance companies, government agencies, and pharmaceutical companies. Demand for pharmacy technicians is high and is expected to increase by 20% by the year 2018. New drug treatments, the aging population, and affordable health care covered by insurance help fuel the growth in this particular sector. As of 2012, the median pay rate for pharmacy technicians is $29,320 per year or $14.10 per hour, which makes it an attractive profession for many individuals.

The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) regulates the profession of pharmacy technicians in Illinois. The Department requires technicians to complete accredited training, pass a recognized exam, and register with the state. Pharmacy technicians should also have excellent communication skills and compassionate nature to support patients who may not be in the best of health.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in IL:

Illinois Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

All pharmacy technicians working in Illinois pharmacies must first apply for registration with the Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation. According to the Pharmacy Practice Act, a pharmacy technician is any person employed by a pharmacy who performs non-discretionary functions associated with the practice of pharmacy. The pharmacy technician also performs other duties subject to the restrictions of the IDFPR and under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist.

Once registered, the IDFPR will issue a registration certificate, which must be on display and visible to the public at the technician’s place of work.

Applicants for registration should file a completed application with the Department along with proof of high school graduation or equivalent and the application fee.

The Pharmacy Act allows applicants for registration to assist a registered pharmacist for a period of 60 days after submitting the application for registration. Applicants for reinstatement of a license can also work for a 60-day period as long as there are no instances of disciplinary actions taken against the applicant. During the 60-day allowance, applicants must maintain a copy of the application at the employment site and must be readily available for review by the Drug Compliance Investigator.

Pharmacists with revoked, denied, restricted, and suspended licenses are not eligible for registration as pharmacy technicians.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 16 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in Illinois. Pharmacy technicians registering for Certified designation must be at least 18 years old.

Education Requirement

High school students applying for registration must submit proof of their current enrollment. All other applicants will need to present evidence of high school graduation or completion of GED. The Department will accept proof in the form of

  • A high school diploma
  • High school transcript
  • GED certificate, or
  • A statement from the school printed on official letterhead.

Other Requirements

All applicants must demonstrate good moral character, which the Department will determine, based on your response to the Personal History section on the application form.

Applicants for Certified designation must provide proof of completing a pharmacy technician training program from an accredited institution. The Department will also accept employer-based training provided by a pharmacist-in-charge. Claims of employer-based training must be supported by accompanying documentation.

Pharmacy technicians must also successfully pass an accredited examination in order to qualify for registration as Certified Pharmacy Technicians. Department-approved assessments are those administered by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board and the Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians. Pharmacy technicians have up to two years, after registration, to pass the exam and update the license.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

The comprehensive pharmacy technician training programs at Illinois accredited institutes equips students with theoretical knowledge and practical skills to enter the workplace as entry-level employees. A combination of classroom instruction and hands-on externship help students develop in all aspects of pharmacy practice, including pharmaceutical calculations, computer entry, compounding aseptic and extemporaneous products, communicating with customers, and presenting a professional manner at all times.

Other topics include drug class differentiation, drug interactions, pharmacy law and ethics, basic anatomy and physiology, and pharmacokinetics.

In addition to the coursework, students earn hands-on experience through a clinical externship. Some schools require students to complete an equal number of hours in a community and hospital pharmacy. Illinois requires pharmacy technicians to obtain a license prior to working. Therefore, students will need to apply for a license and complete a criminal background check, drug screen and obtain all required immunizations prior to the externship. Accredited programs meet the IDFPR requirements and prepare students for success on the PTCB or ExCPT exams.

Duration and Cost

The average cost of pharmacy technician training in Illinois is $1,250. Colleges and technical institutes outnumber the other traditional training providers by far. However, there’s a mass number of employer-based programs provided by the state’s recognized pharmacies. Students who opt for in-house training at their place of employment must apply for a license and can work for a duration of 60 hours while the Department processes the application. Apart from the benefit of free training, employer-based programs also give students the chance to learn directly from a licensed pharmacist in a real-world setting.

Financial aid may be available to help cover the cost of tuition at colleges and vocational schools. Remember, advertised costs may not cover essential expenses, such as textbooks, workbooks, pharmacy technician certification or other assessment exams, immunization, background check, uniform, and other costs. The average program covers 120 training hours, which students can complete in 3 to 8 weeks.

National Exams

Illinois is one of a few states that give pharmacy technicians the choice of certification exams. The IDFPR accepts two leading exams to satisfy the candidates’ need for certification. Illinois techs can take either the PTCB exam or the ExCPT, developed by the Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians (ICPT).

The PTCB is the older of the two assessments specifically designed for pharmacy technicians. More than 26 states require technicians to obtain PTCB certification, and pharmacy employers, almost always, expect PTCB certification from their pharmacy tech employees.

The exam is available at more than 350 Pearson Vue testing centers nationwide. The PTCB application is available online. Candidates must provide proof of high school graduation and pass a criminal background check to qualify. The application fee is $129. Once the PTCB approves the request, candidates must schedule a test date within 90 days at the center of their choice. The computer-based exam contains 90 questions, which students must complete in two hours.

The ExCPT offers test dates throughout the year at more than 1,000 computerized testing centers across the nation. Applicants can schedule a test date within 48 hours of registration. Applicants must possess a high school diploma or GED equivalent and pay the $105 exam fee to register. The two-hour exam contains 110 multiple-choice questions.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Pharmacy technicians (or students) can apply for registration with the Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation using the instructions provided below. All registered pharmacy technicians must request the designation as a Student or Certified pharmacy technician with the application or renewal form.

Following is a list of instructions:

  • Fill out the application for registration making sure to provide accurate information.
  • Provide copies of your ID and social security card.
  • Provide a copy of your high school transcript, diploma, a statement from the school, or GED certificate.
  • Enclose the $40 application fee using a check or money order – make payable to the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.
  • Include proof of legal name change if applicable.
  • Applicants for Certified Pharmacy Technician designation will need to submit proof of graduation from an approved pharmacy technician training program and proof of certification from the ICPT or PTCB.
  • Student pharmacy technicians must submit proof of enrollment in an accredited School of Pharmacy.
  • If you answer “yes” to the Personal History questions, you must provide supporting court documents.
  • Sign and date the application and mail it to the address provided below.

Renewal

Pharmacy technicians must renew their registration with the Department annually. The registration expires on March 31 every year. All licenses must have the Student or Certified designation by the second renewal.

It is the pharmacy technician’s responsibility to inform the Department of any name or address changes within 30 days of making the change. The Department will mail the renewal application 30-45 days before the license expires.

Provide supporting documents via mail if your name or address changes.

If you do not have to make changes, you can renew your application online using a Visa, MasterCard, or Discover Card.

You can provide your license number and social security number to print a renewal application online if you do not receive one by mail. If you need to add your Student or Certified designation with the renewal, you should provide the documents outlined in the renewal requirements form.

Transfer

Pharmacy technicians who are registered in another state must apply for registration with the Department before working in the state’s pharmacies. The technician will need to fill out the application form and provide the supporting documents, including previous training and certification to the licensing authority.

Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation

Springfield Office:
320 West Washington St
Springfield, IL 62786

Mailing Address:
PO Box 7086
Springfield, IL 62791-7086

Phone: 1-855-445-7763

Indiana

A pharmacy technician’s role encompasses all the tasks that do not require the clinical judgment of a pharmacist. Some of the technician’s key roles include dispensing medication, billing, and insurance, managing inventory, purchasing, repacking medication, compounding sterile and non-sterile products, and data input. In order to fulfill their demanding roles, Indiana’s Board of Pharmacy requires new pharmacy technicians to complete specific training and testing requirements. Indiana is one of many states that require pharmacy technicians to obtain training through a board-approved program before performing specific duties on the job. Upon licensure, a pharmacy technicians can work in retail establishments, hospitals, and long-term care.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in IN:

Indiana Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Anyone who begins working at a pharmacy must obtain a technician-in-training permit from the Board of Pharmacy within 30 days of employment. Failure to obtain the “blue card” permit is a Class D felony. A pharmacy technician-in-training is any individual enrolled in a board-approved pharmacy technician program for the purpose of taking a board-approved exam. The non-renewable permit remains valid for one year, and the trainee must fulfill the training requirements within the one-year period. After completing the education program or approved certification exam (PTCB or ExCPT), the trainee can submit appropriate documentation to the board to obtain the pharmacy technician certification.

Age Requirement

You must be at least 18 years old to apply for your pharmacy technician license or technician-in-training permit. The state board will waive this requirement if a licensed pharmacist at your place of employment submits a statement supporting your request for licensure.

Education Requirement

The Indiana Board of Pharmacy requires a high school diploma or GED as a prerequisite to licensure. However, there are several ways to circumnavigate this requirement if you don’t have a high school diploma or GED:

  • Provide a statement of your academic performance, from your school counselor, and a copy of your current transcript if you’re currently enrolled in high school. You’ll also need an accompanying statement from a licensed pharmacist supporting your request to become a pharmacy technician.
  • Provide a progress report if you’re currently pursuing your GED. The report must come from an authorized individual at the center where you’re taking your GED. You’ll also need a written statement from a pharmacist confirming your intent to become a pharmacy technician.
  • If you’re in high school or pursuing a GED, the board will consider a statement from a pharmacist, where you plan to work.

Other Requirements

To qualify for state licensure, you must submit to a criminal background check. The board will not grant approval to anyone who has a criminal conviction that impairs their ability to work with controlled substances or legend drugs.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Board-approved training programs teach students the specifics of their role as a pharmacy technician and provide the knowledge and skills required to execute their duties. Course content includes the duties and responsibilities of the technician, patient confidentiality, pharmacy ethics, policies and procedures, pharmacy medical terminology, common symbols, and abbreviations. Students also learn how to package, label, and store drugs, how to dispense drugs, and standards of inventory control.

After completing training, you can submit details of your training and education to the state board to update your status from technician-in-training to pharmacy technician. The pharmacy where you work will also need to keep records of your training, including the completion date or proof of passing a Board-recognized certification exam.

Duration and Cost

Pharmacy technician programs range from $1,250 to $6,500 in Indiana. The duration depends on the training program and can be anywhere from 4 months to 12 months, including classroom, clinical and laboratory training. Some hybrid programs offer online instruction followed by a clinical and hands-on lab in a traditional setting. Financial aid may be available to defray student costs. College credits may also be available for pharmacy technicians who plan to pursue further education to become a licensed pharmacist.

National Exams

Indiana recognizes both the PTCB and ExCPT exams. The Pharmacy Technician Certification Board offers the national Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE), which was designed specifically for certified pharmacy technicians. The PTCE is widely recognized and endorsed, especially by larger corporations and hospitals. The computer-based exam comprises 90 multiple-choice questions, which candidates must complete within 110 minutes. The test costs $129.

The Examination for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians (ExCPT) is the second option for pharmacy technician certification. Established by the Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians (ICPT), this exam is acquiring growing acceptance by state boards and prospective employers. The exam comprises 120 multiple-choice questions, which candidates must complete in 2 hours. The test costs $105.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Your first step to licensure as a pharmacy technician is to apply for a Pharmacy Technician-In-Training permit. Apply for a permit only if you have not met the state’s training requirements or completed a state-recognized examination. You must submit the appropriate documents along with a copy of your state ID, criminal background records, and the $25 application fee.

Once you complete the training or certification exam, you can submit the affidavit of program completion or a copy of the PTCB or ExCPT certificate to update your licensure to a pharmacy technician. You won’t need to resubmit an application or fee if you submit the documents while your technician-in-training permit is active. If your permit is in expired status, you must submit another application, fee, and documentation.

Renewal

Indiana’s pharmacy technician licenses expire on June 30th in even-numbered years. The fee for a renewal is $25.

Transfers

Indiana does not accept license transfers from other states. Pharmacy technicians from other states must meet Indiana’s license requirements for licensure within the state.

The Indiana State Board of Pharmacy Information
402 West Washington Street, Room W072
Indianapolis, Indiana
Telephone: (317) 234-2067
Fax: (317) 233-4236
http://www.in.gov/pla/pharmacy.htm

Iowa

A pharmacy technician assists in the delivery of medication and other pharmacy products under the supervision of a pharmacist. Due to higher standards and stringent training and certification requirements, Iowa’s pharmacists demonstrate their confidence in their technicians by delegating numerous tasks that do not require a pharmacist’s professional judgment. Iowa’s Board of Pharmacy is one of a few State Boards that mandates national certification for all technicians. Technicians and prospective technicians must also complete formal training at an accredited provider or from an employer-sponsored program. Training gives technicians a broad knowledge of pharmacy practice and the skills needed to prepare and package medications, manage inventory, calculate dosages, and maintain patient confidentiality. Iowa’s regulations give pharmacy technicians the freedom to perform many of the duties of a pharmacist. However, the pharmacist supervisor must check the medication before dispensing it to the patient.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in IA:

Iowa Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Any individual employed as a pharmacy technician in Iowa must obtain and maintain a current registration with the Board. The individual must submit the application for registration within 30 days of commencing work. Students enrolled in a pharmacy technician training program must also apply for registration as a pharmacy technician trainee before commencing the practical portion of the training. Anyone who fails to register and maintain national certification (Certified Pharmacy Technician) may be subject to disciplinary actions. Iowa’s established rules for registration ensure pharmacy technicians have the competency and skills required to complete their duties on the job. Registration also helps the Board to keep track of pharmacy technicians and administer disciplinary action when needed. After receiving confirmation of registration, a pharmacy technician must renew the license biennially to continue working in a licensed pharmacy. There are no continuing education requirements for renewal. However, the technician must maintain certification with the PTCB or NHA. Technician trainee licenses expire one year following the date of issue and are not renewable. Employers should verify a technician’s active status with the registry as pharmacists are ultimately responsible for the actions of a pharmacy technician (trainee) within their care.

Pharmacy interns who work as pharmacy technicians are exempt from the registration requirements if they’re in good standing with the Board.

Age Requirement

Pharmacy technicians and technician trainees must be at least 18 years old when applying for registration with the Board. Both the PTCB and NHA require applicants for certification to be 18 years or older.

Education Requirement

Although the Board does not request proof of high school completion, applicants cannot obtain PTCB or NHA certification (to register in Iowa) without a diploma or GED. Individuals must also complete pharmacy technician training from an ASHP accredited program, accredited college, or approved pharmacy employer.

Other Requirements

An applicant for registration must declare any history of felony or misdemeanor crimes. This includes any guilty pleas or no contest to felonies or misdemeanors – does not include minor traffic violations with fines under $100. Provide supporting documents along with your application if you answer “yes” to any of the criminal history questions.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Iowa’s Pharmacy Board recommends pharmacy technician programs accredited by the ASHP or accredited colleges. They also recommend employer-based training where a pharmacist develops, implement and update a program to equip technicians with essential knowledge, skills, and abilities. The pharmacy must document and keep records of the technician training for the duration of employment. During training, students learn medical and pharmaceutical terminology, pharmaceutical calculations, and pharmacy laws. Anatomy, identifying drugs, dispensing drugs, communications and patient confidentiality are other major components of the coursework. Accredited programs provide preparatory training for those seeking national certification, which gives students the confidence to obtain a passing score on national exams, such as the PTCB or ExCPT.

Colleges like DMACC West Campus requires students to complete clinical rotations in both a retail and hospital setting, which gives them exposure and competency to work in any pharmacy setting. The clinical rotation is a critical component of pharmacy technician training; students cannot graduate without completing the hands-on training at a community or hospital pharmacy. Training providers may conduct a criminal background check and require students to take a physical exam, and pass a TB and drug test before participating in the clinical externship. The Board of Pharmacy requires students to apply for registration as a pharmacy technician trainee before the practical component of the training begins.

Duration and Cost

The average cost of $2,450 does not include expenses for textbooks, uniforms, workbooks, national certification, criminal background checks, and other supplies. Financial aid may be available for qualifying students. The duration of the program depends on the type of credential awarded at the end of the training. Certificate programs run from 6 to 12 weeks while diploma and degree programs can last up to 56 weeks.

Employer-based training remains the preferred mode of training for many Iowa technicians as it affords students an opportunity to train for free while earning an income. Employer-based training may be up to 12 months long as the pharmacist-in-charge trains technicians in all aspects of the services they must provide to the public. There are a few drawbacks to employer-based training: there might be a long waiting list for training (recruiting new employees) due to low turnover in the industry and fewer opportunities are available as understaffed employers hire pharmacy technicians who are already trained and certified.

National Exams

Iowa’s pharmacy technicians must pursue certification through one of the two major certifying agencies: the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board and the National Healthcareer Association. Technicians who successfully pass the exam and meet the requirements of either agency can bear the CPhT credential. Both agencies require applicants to hold a high school diploma or GED, pass a criminal background check, and obtain a passing score on the exam. Certified technicians must meet the annual continuing education requirements to maintain their CPhT status and renew their registration with the Board of Pharmacy. Since certified technicians are bound by a strict code of conduct and ethics, there are fewer instances of medication errors and violations of patients’ confidentiality in Iowa.

The PTCB is a nationally recognized and the older of the two certifying agencies. They not only ensure pharmacy technicians have the basic skills to support pharmacists on the job but also have strict continuing education requirements to improve critical thinking and boost staff retention. The PTCE is available at more than 200 Pearson Vue testing centers across the nation, including several centers in Iowa. Pharmacy technicians can complete training to improve their chances of success on the exam. However, the PTCB does not require applicants to complete training before taking the test – that will change by 2020. Applicants must submit a request online and pay the $129 fee. The exam is two hours long and comprises of 90-multiple-choice questions. The biennial renewal fee is $40.

The ExCPT is another option for certification that is recognized by a growing number of states, including Iowa’s Board of Pharmacy. Apart from the standard age, criminal history, and education requirements, the ICPT requires prospective CPhTs to complete formal pharmacy technician training or at least 12 months of employment before taking the certification exam. Students receive their results immediately following the 2-hour, 110-question computerized test. The fee for certification is $105, and renewal is also every two years.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

There are two registration options for Iowa’s pharmacy technicians. Those who have not completed the requirements for national certification must register as a pharmacy technician trainee and register again as a Certified Pharmacy Technician before the trainee license expires. An individual who is nationally certified by the PTCB or NHA can apply for registration as a certified pharmacy technician. All applicants must be at least 18 years and provide information on their educational background, criminal history, work experience, and current employment on the application form.

Pharmacy Technician Trainee Application:

Iowa defines a pharmacy technician trainee as an individual who is training to become a pharmacy technician or someone who is pursuing national certification through one of the national certifying agencies.

Following are the steps for registration.

  • Print a copy of the application from the Board’s website and answer all questions.
  • Provide your social security number, educational background, criminal history, and current employment. If you’re registering as a prerequisite to training as part of a college-based externship, you should make a note on the form.
  • Include copies of your high school diploma and other education completed.
  • Include a copy of your state-issued ID and social security card.
  • Enclose the $20 application fee using a check or money order. Make check payable to the Iowa Board of Pharmacy.
  • Include supporting documents if there are criminal convictions in your past.
  • Double-check the application before mailing it to the address provided below – the Board will return incomplete applications.

Pharmacy technician trainee registrations are non-renewable as technician trainees must register as a Certified Pharmacy Technician within one year, starting from the date of employment. If the technician does not obtain national certification within the one-year period, he/she cannot continue to provide services or train in the pharmacy.

Certified Pharmacy Technician Application:

After passing a national certification exam and acquiring CPhT certification, a pharmacy technician trainee can register as a Certified Pharmacy Technician in Iowa. The process is the same as listed above. However, the applicant must provide a copy of the PTCB or NHA certificate and pay the $40 application fee. If the individual fails to register within 30 days of commencing employment, the Board will assess a $40 penalty, so the total cost of registration will be $80. Applicants must complete all the questions for registration as the Board will return incomplete applications.

Renewal

Certified pharmacy technicians’ licenses expire on the last day of their birth month every two years. The Board sends a renewal application to the licensee’s last known address at least two months prior to the license expiration.

Following are the steps for renewal.

  • If you did not receive the renewal application in the mail, you can print a copy from the Board’s Website.
  • Inform the Board of any address or name changes within 10 days of making the change.
  • Pay the renewal fee using a check or money order.

Failure to renew your license on time would cause your license to lapse into a delinquent status. The penalty for late renewal is $40; the fee increases in $10 increments with each passing month up to a maximum penalty of $70.

Transfer

A pharmacy technician who is licensed in another state should follow the procedure for a new registration as Iowa does not practice reciprocity with other states.

Contact the Board:
Iowa Board of Pharmacy
400 SW Eighth Street, Suite E
Des Moines, Iowa 50309-4688
Phone: (515) 281-5944
Fax: (515) 281-4609

Kansas

With over 15.6 million jobs and counting, the health care sector is one of the largest industries. For several years, pharmacy technicians remain one of the fastest-growing and leading occupations on the BLS list of top occupations. Kansas Board of Pharmacy regulations helps maintain the integrity of the occupation and safeguard public health. Accredited training programs prepare graduates to work alongside pharmacists in community pharmacies, hospital pharmacies, grocery stores and assisted living facilities.

Pharmacy technicians dispense medication and other health care products to patients. Other duties include administration, inventory, and customer service. In hospitals, technicians have the added responsibility of reading patient charts and delivering medicine to the patients’ room.

While the Board of Pharmacy regulations does not stipulate formal training, paving the way for on-the-job training, employers welcome the opportunity to hire trained and certified pharmacy technicians. Not all employers have the resources, time, and capacity to train employees. For this reason, pharmacy technicians with previous training and certification will stand a better chance of employment.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in KS:

Kansas Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

It is unlawful for any individual to function as a pharmacy technician in Kansas without first registering with the Board of Pharmacy. Pharmacy technicians must complete appropriate training at an accredited institution or by a pharmacist-in-charge at the place of employment. The Pharmacy Act also requires technicians to pass a Board-approved exam within 30 days of registration with the State Board of Pharmacy. The technician must take the test within 30 days of Board licensure, and the employer must maintain a copy at the pharmacy’s location and be readily available for inspection by a Board representative.

Pharmacy technicians need only one registration to work in multiple pharmacies. The Board will provide a registration card with a registration number that the technicians must present to the new employer when changing jobs.

Employers have the responsibility for checking the registration status of their technicians to maintain their compliance with state laws. Employers will need a copy of the prospective employee’s registration card and use the License Verification tab on the Pharmacy Board’s website to ensure they’re employing properly registered technicians.

Once employed, the pharmacy technician’s registration must be prominently displayed in the place of business.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in Kansas.

Education Requirement

While the KBP does not stipulate a high school education as a requirement for registration, pharmacy employers will request it from prospective employees. Additionally, technicians who plan to pursue national certification through the PTCB or ExCPT exams will need to submit proof of completing high school or GED equivalent.

Other Requirements

Applicants must disclose previous felony convictions on the application for registration. Legal documents and an explanation of the events leading up to the conviction should accompany the application if you have prior convictions. Admission to felonies could delay the registration process but does not automatically bar a candidate from registration.

The Pharmacy Board may also, at their determination, require an applicant to submit to a physical or mental examination before granting approval of the license.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Pharmacy technician education programs are available at academic institutions, private institutions, health care organizations, and various divisions in the Department of Defense and Public Health Service.

Since Kansas requires employers to train technicians in all aspects of the work they perform, a vast majority of the state’s technicians acquire their skills through employer-based programs.

Training programs conducted by a pharmacist-in-charge covers the tasks that help technicians fulfill their roles in the pharmacy. Key areas of study include:

  • An understanding of different pharmacy settings and needs
  • The role and responsibility of pharmacy technicians
  • Pharmacy ethics, laws, and regulations governing pharmacy practice
  • Medical terms, symbols, and abbreviations as they relate to pharmacy
  • Pharmaceutical calculations
  • Identification of drugs, dosages, storage requirements, and routes of administration
  • Record keeping in relation to dispensing prescriptions
  • Aseptic techniques, compounding, labeling, and packaging

Pharmacy technician classes at traditional institutions cover a lot of the same topics but will often include an externship, giving students the opportunity to employ their skills in retail and hospital pharmacies.

At the conclusion of training, students are prepared to take a state-required 20-question exam or challenge the national PTCB or ExCPT exam.

Duration and Cost

Apply for employment at a local community pharmacy, and you’ll train for free. Tuition at academic institutions, such as Hutchinson Community College, costs an average of $3230 plus extra for textbooks, course materials, uniform, registration, immunization, and insurance. Applicants must possess a high school diploma or GED equivalent and pass a criminal background check. With the other expenses, the total cost of attendance could be in the region of $4700.

Although employer-based programs may be attractive due to free training, changes in pharmacy regulations could create a shift towards accredited programs, especially those accredited by the ASHP. If you attend training at academic institutions, you can consult with a financial aid officer to learn about scholarships, grants, federal or private loans to fund your tuition.

The duration of training provided by a pharmacist-in-charge is no more than 180 days. Training at academic institutes and other for-profit providers typically last 3 to 12 months.

National Exams

Associations such as the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) and the Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians (ICPT) grant certification to pharmacy technicians who meet their specified qualifications. The PTCE and ExCPT use assessment exams to determine technicians’ knowledge, skills, and work readiness.

The Kansas Board of Pharmacy does not currently require national certification from pharmacy technicians. However, they recognize the benefits of both certifying bodies.

The PTCE, the older of the two assessments, are developed and managed by the PTCB, and candidates must pass the assessment and fulfill all other requirements to achieve certification.

Candidates for testing must have a high school diploma or equivalent education, pass a criminal background check, disclose actions taken against state licenses and comply with PTCB certification policies.

The cost to take the exam is $129. After the PTCB approves the application, candidates can schedule a test date (within 90 days) at any one of Pearson Vue test centers across Kansas and the rest of the nation.

There’s a total of 90 multiple choice questions, and candidates have 2 hours to answer them. Ten of the questions will not count towards the final score.

The ExCPT is another exam for pharmacy technicians. Developed by the National Healthcareer Association, the test is available at PSI/LasetGrade test centers across the nation. The computer-based exam comprises 120 multiple-choice questions. Candidates have 2 hours to complete the test. The fee to take the exam is $105.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Pharmacy technicians must apply for and receive approval of registration from the Board of Pharmacy before working at state pharmacies. Use the following instructions to submit your application to the Board.

  • Submit a request for the technician application by mail. The form is not available online.
  • Affix copies of your state ID and social security card with the application.
  • Enclose the $68 registration fee with the completed application.
  • Follow the instructions to complete the fingerprint card for background screening.
  • Provide copies of any training or certification completed.

Renewal

Pharmacy technicians must renew their registration with the Board every two years. The Board will send out the renewal form by mail – it is not available on the Board website. Pharmacy technicians should maintain an accurate address and name on file in order to receive critical communication from the Board.

The following is a guide to renewal:

  • Check your license registration number to determine if it’s odd or even. Holders of even registration numbers will renew in even-numbered years, and odd-numbered registrations renew in odd-numbered years.
  • Check your mail. The Board will only send renewal forms to technicians who are due for renewal.
  • Pay the $20 renewal fee using a check or money order.
  • The Board will supply a prorated fee for renewals that fall short of the two-year period.
  • The Board may deny an application for renewal if there are any reports of disciplinary actions taken against the applicant.
  • There’s a 30-day grace period from the license renewal date. If you fail to renew within this period, you must apply for a new license.

Transfer

Pharmacy technicians licensed in another state must apply for registration with the Board of Pharmacy before taking up employment at state pharmacies.

Kansas Board of Pharmacy
800 SW Jackson, Room 1414
Topeka, KS 66612

Phone: (785) 296-4056
Fax: (785) 296-8420
E-mail: pharmacy@pharmacy.ks.gov

Kentucky

A pharmacy technician conducts technical functions under the supervision of a Registered Pharmacist. The duties include preparing prescriptions, repackaging, compounding, inventory, and billing. The Kentucky State Board of Pharmacy recognizes PTCB and ICPT certification although it is not required for registration. Employers are especially invested in pharmacy technician certification as it enables employees to work effectively and offer quality patient care and service with an emphasis on safety. Trained and certified pharmacy technicians help pharmacists better serve patients and focus heavily on counseling and direct patient care services. Pharmacy technicians must register with the Board and renew annually to provide technical services at the state’s licensed pharmacies.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in KY:

Kentucky Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

According to regulations, all pharmacy technicians must register with the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy. Once registered, technicians must place the registration certificate in a visible place in their primary place of employment. The pocket registration card must be in their possession while working. Pharmacy technicians with expired licenses should not submit a new registration application, but seek to renew or reinstate their expired licenses. The online license verification tool is useful when you need to determine the status of your registration. Pharmacy interns registered with the Board of Pharmacy do not need to register as a pharmacy technician to function in the role.

The Board permits technicians to assist in the practice of pharmacy without obtaining a registration if the individual:

  • Filed an application and no more than 30 days have elapsed. The individual must discontinue working upon notification of a denied application. Persons younger than 16 years cannot provide pharmacy technician services.
  • Is a student enrolled in a pharmacy technician training Students do not need to register to participate in the clinical component of the programs.

Individuals who have been denied a license in any jurisdiction and those with revoked or suspended licenses cannot provide pharmacy technician services. Pharmacy technicians must renew their registrations prior to the annual March 31st deadline in order to continue working.

Age Requirement

Pharmacy technicians must be at least 16 years old when applying for registration with the Board. The Board recognizes Certified Pharmacy Technicians who complete the national certification exam administered by the PTCB and ICPT. Both agencies require applicants to be at least 18 years old at the time of application.

Education Requirement

While many state pharmacy boards place a strong emphasis on pharmacy technician education, there are no regulations outlining minimum education requirements for Kentucky’s technicians. Pharmacy employers may stipulate a minimum high school diploma from prospective employees. Additionally, pharmacy technicians who plan to pursue national certification must have a high school diploma or GED equivalent.

Other Requirements

The Kentucky Board of Pharmacy expects pharmacy technicians to possess a good moral character, including no history of drug use or felony and misdemeanors. A positive response to the criminal history/drug use questions on the application must be accompanied by supporting documentation, such as police reports, court documents, and other related documents.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Kentucky’s accredited pharmacy technician training programs help students build skills in preparing prescriptions, maintaining patient profiles, filling out insurance claims forms, and managing inventory. Students must complete the didactic and practical externship in order to graduate from most programs. The combination of theory and hands-on training also prepares graduates for the national PTCB or ICPT exam. ASHP accredited programs require students to complete at least 100 hours of clinical training, which prepares them for work in the real world setting but also gives employers an opportunity to assess their skills prior to hiring them as capable pharmacy technicians. The externship may take place at a community pharmacy and hospital pharmacy to help students fit into a variety of settings.

Essential elements of the training include instruction in pharmacy law, anatomy/systems, communication skills, aseptic IV preparation, compounding, pharmacology, pharmaceutical calculations, medical terminology, over the counter medications, and much more.

Training is available at Kentucky’s colleges, universities, and vocational schools. However, prospective pharmacy technicians can also train under the direction of a licensed pharmacist in a community pharmacy. The prerequisite for entry varies; training providers may require students to complete a criminal background check, TB test, drug screen, and physical exam. Others may have an age requirement and administer an entrance exam to applicants who do not possess a high school diploma.

Duration and Cost

A top-notch pharmacy technician diploma program, such as the one offered by Sullivan University, costs $27,000 plus extra for books and supplies. The associate’s degree program at Day College costs $36,000 for tuition only. Fortunately, there are affordable training programs at institutions like Jefferson College, which cost an average of $4,200 for tuition and books. Always inquire about additional costs, such as textbooks, lab fees, registration, and uniform, as training providers do not include these extras in their advertised costs. Financial aid may be available to help students meet the cost of training. The duration of the training program depends on the outcome; diploma programs can last up to 12 months and degree programs run for 18 to 24 months.

Employer-based training presents the opportunity for many technicians to acquire knowledge and skills without the accompanying costs. A pharmacist-in-charge will design the program and ensure that students/employees get all the skills they need to work effectively. Keep in mind that these opportunities are rare since many time-strapped employers hire pharmacy technicians with prior training and certification.

National Exams

National certification is not necessary to register as a pharmacy technician with the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy. However, certification may be important to a prospective employer who will hire the best and the most qualified candidates. National certification obtained through the PTCB or ICPT demonstrates that you have the knowledge and skills as well as a high commitment to the profession. It also demonstrates your commitment to growth and providing excellent patient care.

Applicants for certification must pass the agency’s exam and meet the other requirements to earn the CPhT credential. The applicant must possess a high school diploma or GED equivalent, pass a criminal background check, and complete formal pharmacy technician training (in the case of the ICPT). After acquiring the CPhT designation, technicians must complete the continuing education requirements and renew biennially to maintain their status.

The PTCE is the product of the PTCB and a widely recognized exam. Technicians certified by this agency have the basic competency skills but must continue to meet the high standards for maintaining certification. This requirement helps to improve critical thinking and helps employers decrease staff turnover. The exam is administered by Pearson Vue at the state of the art testing centers across Kentucky. Pharmacy technician training is not a strict requirement for success. However, training helps to increase a candidate’s chances of success. The fee for certification is $129, which covers part of the cost of the computerized, two-hour exam and other administrative costs. The fee for a biennial renewal is $40.

The alternative to the PTCE is the ExCPT, which is gaining ground with many state boards and pharmacy employers. Applicants must meet the age, training, education, and criminal background requirements to take the test and obtain certification. Applicants without formal pharmacy technician training must have evidence of at least 12 months of pharmacy-related employment to challenge the exam. The computerized exam allows for immediate results following the exam. The test is 2 hours long and contains 110 questions. The fee is $105; CPhTs must renew their certification every 2 years.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

An individual may not practice as a pharmacy technician unless he/she submits an application for registration using an application form provided by the Board. There are two ways to register: using an online application or a paper application. For both submissions, the applicant should print the registration certificate online after the Board processes the registration. Applicants must be at least 16 years with no history of a felony, misdemeanor, and drug abuse.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

Following are the steps for registration.

  • Submit your application online for faster processing of your application. Alternatively, you can print the paper application and return the completed application to the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy.
  • Provide details of your employment, including the pharmacy’s permit number. Use a separate piece of paper to submit details if you work at multiple pharmacies.
  • Respond to the criminal history and drug use questions and enclose supporting documents if you provide a positive answer to any of the questions.
  • Enclose the $25 application fee using a check or money order payable to the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy.
  • Double-check the application before mailing it to the address provided below.

The processing time for applications is 3 to 5 business days. Once the Board approves your application, you can print the certificate online and keep a copy at your place of employment. Applications, where the applicants answer “yes” to criminal convictions or drug use questions, will take longer to process. False or fraudulent information may result in disciplinary actions.

Renewal

All registrations expire annually on March 31st. The Board encourages online renewal for faster processing. However, license holders can print a paper renewal and forward the completed application to the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy. License holders must notify the Board of their address changes within 30 days.

Following are the steps for renewal.

  • Use the online portal to renew online or print a paper renewal application.
  • The fee for a renewal is $25. For renewal after the March 31st deadline, the license holder must include an additional $25 delinquent fee.

A pharmacy technician who continues to work without renewing the registration may be subject to disciplinary action.

Transfer

An out-of-state pharmacy technician must follow the steps for new registration in order to begin practicing in Kentucky.

Contact the Board:
Kentucky Board of Pharmacy
State Office Building Annex, Suite 300
125 Holmes Street
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: (502) 564-7910
Fax: (502) 696-3806
Email: pharmacy.board@ky.gov

Louisiana

Pharmacy technicians are trained health care professionals who support pharmacists in hospital and retail pharmacies. They prepare and fill prescriptions, dispense medications, manage inventory, and label supplies. The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy governs the practice of pharmacy in the state and requires prospective technicians to register, complete 600 hours of training, and obtain PTCB certification. The Board’s requirements help uphold safe practices, but also help technicians develop the competency to fill an increasingly developing role.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in LA:

Louisiana Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy regulates the practice of pharmacy within the state. An individual seeking to practice as a pharmacy technician must have a Louisiana Pharmacy Technician Certificate. In order to obtain the certificate, the candidate must complete 600 hours of practical experience at a Louisiana-licensed pharmacy only after acquiring a Pharmacy Technician Candidate Registration. The Board will issue the Candidate Registration to persons who are 18 years and older, possess a high school diploma, and pass a criminal background check. Since the candidate registration is non-renewable, applicants must meet the requirements for Certificate Registration within the 18-month period. Apart from the 600 hours of practical experience, candidates must complete the requirements for PTCB certification.

Registration is a privilege and pharmacy technicians must take responsibility for their actions prior to and following registration. They have a duty to learn the laws and rules that govern pharmacy technicians and their practice. The Board’s rules and regulations are available on the website. Failure to abide by the laws could result in disciplinary actions, including a letter of warning, a letter of reprimand, a suspended certificate, or revoked certificate. The Board may also subject a fine of up to $5,000 to cover the costs of investigation and prosecution.

Technicians must complete the Board-required continuing education requirements (separate from the PTCB’s requirements) to renew annually and continue practicing pharmacy.

Age Requirement

Pharmacy technicians must be 18 years and older to register as candidates in preparation for the Pharmacy Technician Certification.

Education Requirement

Applicants must submit evidence of completing high school or equivalent education with the application for registration. The Board requires a legible copy of a high school diploma or university degree or official transcripts from either institution.

Other Requirements

The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy will not issue a license without receiving and reviewing a criminal history report. Candidates should have a good moral character with no criminal convictions, felonies, and misdemeanors. The investigation will include a search of the LA Department of Public Safety and the FBI. The cost for the CBC is $42.50 payable to the LA State Police.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Graduates of accredited pharmacy technician programs understand the basic aspects of pharmacy practice, including interpreting, filling, and dispensing prescriptions. Graduates also understand a pharmacy’s legal responsibility to maintain patient records and proper handling of various drug categories. Instruction in common drug interactions, medications, pharmaceutical agents, and pharmaceutical calculations helps graduates become reliable members of the pharmacy healthcare team.

Louisiana has more than a dozen ASHP accredited training programs at colleges, universities, and vocational schools. In accordance with the Board’s guidelines, students spend more than 200 hours completing didactic and experiential training at state hospitals and community pharmacies. The practical training in multiple settings exposes students to the varying responsibilities in each setting.

Pharmacy employers also provide training to employees. These training programs/work-study cover 600 plus hours of experience as required by the Board. The pharmacist/trainer covers topics, such as medical abbreviations, introduction to pharmacy practice, pharmacy calculations, pharmacy law and ethics, anatomy and physiology, and drug interactions.

Students wishing to enroll in a pharmacy technician class should have a high school diploma or Louisiana High School Equivalency. The training provider may also conduct a criminal background check, drug screen, and require applicants to take a TB test.

Duration and Cost

Pharmacy technician training programs in Louisiana are more expensive than most. At an average cost of $14,750, before financial aid, the training program covers all the essential areas students need to pass the state exam and succeed on the job. Apart from tuition, students must budget for registration fees, uniforms, textbooks, lab fees, insurance, exam fees, and other miscellaneous expenses. Financial aid may be available for qualifying students. The mounting cost of traditional training drives many students towards employer-based training wherever they’re available. The training through employers are often free, and students can earn a stipend while studying. In order to promote the value of pharmacy-based programs, the Board of Pharmacy maintains a growing list of more than 100 approved pharmacy providers.

The duration of training at formal institutes can last up to 18 months for diploma programs. Employer training covers 600 hours of training, which can also extend up to 18 months. The training prepares students for the PTCB exam, which represents an additional cost of $129.

National Exams

National certification is an important part of the registration process in Louisiana. In order to secure the Pharmacy Technician Certificate, a candidate must complete the requirements for PTCB certification within 18 months of registering as a candidate. Due to PTCB certification and other strict requirements, Louisiana’s pharmacy technicians can easily transfer their skills to other states. National certification also helps them earn pharmacists’ respect and confidence, which leads to better salaries.

The PTCB has specific requirements for certifying candidates. Applicants must be high school graduates at least 18 years old. They must also pass a criminal background check and agree to abide by the PTCB’s policies before the Board grants approval to take the exam. The 2-hour exam is available at computerized Pearson Vue testing centers in Louisiana. The exam is a multiple-choice evaluation that tests candidates’ knowledge of six critical domains. The cost of certification is $129 and $40 for the biennial renewal. CPhTs must also complete the Continuing Pharmacy Education requirements to renew their certification.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

All candidates must register with the Board before practicing as a pharmacy technician. The state requires technicians first to register as a candidate and complete 600 hours of practical experience at a licensed pharmacy and acquire PTCB certification before submitting an application for certificate registration. Applicants must be 18 years or older, of good moral character with no impairments, a high school graduate, and pass a criminal background check.

Pharmacy Technician Candidate Application:

Following are the requirements for candidate registration:

  • Make sure you read and understand all the requirements for obtaining a Pharmacy Technician Certificate before submitting the application for candidate registration.
  • Enclose a check or money order, payable to the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy for the amount of $25.
  • Include legible copies of your birth certificate, passport or naturalization documents, and your social security card.
  • Provide a legible copy of your high school diploma or university degree. The Board will also accept official transcripts from a high school or university.
  • Attach a recent photo (within 6 months) to the application.
  • Sign the completed application in the presence of a notary public.
  • Once you submit the application to the address provided below, the Board will provide instructions for completing a criminal background check with the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and the FBI.

The Board will not issue a registration before receiving and reviewing the contents of the criminal history report. The candidate permit expires 18 months after the issue. During this time, the license holder must complete 600 hours of training (50 hours max per week) and pass the exam administered by the PTCB. To continue working, the candidate must apply for the Pharmacy Technician Certificate.

Pharmacy Technician Certificate Application:

The requirements for the Pharmacy Technician Certificate application is similar to those listed above. However, candidates should use the Certificate application form and submit the registration fee of $100. Following is a list of documents to provide along with the completed application:

  • Legal documentation of a name change beyond the name recorded on your birth certificate.
  • Check or money order in the amount of $100, payable to the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy.
  • Proof of successful completion of the PTCB exam- a legible copy of the wall certificate.
  • Proof of at least 600 hours of practical training documented on a Pharmacist Affidavit form – use separate forms if you complete the practical experience at multiple pharmacies.
  • The Board requires proof of completion of an accredited training program for applications submitted after January 1, 2016.

Before issuing the Pharmacy Technician Certificate, the Board must submit your name to the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance and the LA Department of Social Services to verify that you’re not in default on any student loans or court-ordered support payments.

Renewal

All technician certificates expire on June 30 annually. Technicians who practice with expired certificates will be subject to disciplinary actions. The renewal cycle begins from May 1 ad runs through June 30. The Board facilitates online renewal for faster processing. As an alternative, you can retrieve an electronic form, fill out the information, and mail it to the Board along with your check or money order.

Following are the steps for renewal.

  • Renew your certificate online and pay the $50 renewal using a credit card or print the electronic renewal form.
  • Renew the certificate before June 30 to avoid the $275 penalty.
  • Demonstrate completion of at least 10 hours of ACPE-accredited technician CPE in the previous 12-month period.
  • Technicians must ensure the CPE meets the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy specifications as they differ from those outlined by the PTCB.

Transfer

Due to Louisiana’s unique registration process, the state does not practice reciprocity with other states. Pharmacy technicians from other states must meet the requirements and follow the steps for new registration.

Contact the Board:
Louisiana Board of Pharmacy
3388 Brentwood Drive
Baton Rouge, La. 70809
Phone: (225) 925-6496
Fax: (225) 925-6499
Email: info@pharmacy.la.gov

Maine

As with most other healthcare jobs, the outlook for pharmacy technicians is closely linked with the aging population and developing technology. The continuous rise in the middle-aged and senior population along with new FDA-approved medications contribute to the positive outlook for qualified and trained pharmacy technicians. The Bureau of Labor Statistics predicts a 25% rise in demands for Pharmacy Technicians by 2018, especially for those with formal training and certification.

If you’re thinking about a career in healthcare, but don’t want to spend years in school, a career as a pharmacy technician could be an excellent option. As a technician, you’ll assist pharmacists with dispensing medications and other products to patients. The Maine Board of Pharmacy oversees the licensure of the state’s pharmacy technicians and ensures that candidates have the tools to provide quality service to the general public.

Maine Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Maine’s pharmacy technicians must register with the Board of Pharmacy before providing services at licensed pharmacies. You must submit an application along with the required documents and wait until the Board approves the application and updates your status from Pending to Active before you can begin working. The Board can refuse to grant a license to anyone who received disciplinary action in another state or have a drug-related conviction.

Maine recognizes pharmacy technicians who receive national certification through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board, PTCB. However, you don’t need to obtain national certification in order to register or work in Maine. There are some distinct advantages for employers and employees when pharmacy technicians earn the PT advanced designation. Pharmacists are more likely to hire a pharmacy technician with PTCB certification because a pharmacist can supervise more technicians when there’s at least one with advanced status. The Board of Pharmacy requires Advanced Pharmacy Technicians to provide proof of PTCB certification.

After receiving your license to work, you must report your employment, changes of the work site, and termination to the Board within 30 days of each change. You can send notifications to the Board via letter, fax or email.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in Maine.

Education Requirement

Pharmacy technicians and advanced pharmacy technicians in Maine must possess a high school diploma or GED equivalent to register with the Board. Include a copy of your high school transcript indicating your graduation date or a certified copy of your GED transcript with the completed application.

Other Requirements

According to State of Maine law, the Board must take an applicant’s criminal history record into consideration when processing a professional license. Therefore, the Board will require a criminal background check as part of the application process for all applicants. You must respond truthfully to the criminal disclosure questions on the application form and provide supporting court documents for each conviction. You will also need to disclose your Social Security number for tax administration purposes.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

ASHP, American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, accredited programs provide students with a complete, formal education that prepares them for their supporting role alongside pharmacists. The program content targets those with and without experience in the field of pharmacy. In-depth instruction covers key skills that prepare graduates for job-related tasks, such as creating prescription labels, maintain patient records and confidentiality, preparing medications to dispense, counting, measuring, and bottling tablets, and verifying prescription requests. The programs contain an experiential component that gives students the opportunity to work alongside pharmacists and other employees to hone their skills. In order to get the best value for money, you should enroll in ASHP-accredited programs, which receive nationwide recognition.

Duration and Cost

The cost of tuition at ASHP accredited pharmacy technician programs in Maine is approximately $4,800. In addition to tuition costs, you should allocate funds for textbooks, workbooks, state registration, insurance, background check, immunization, uniform, and other expenses. Financial aid may be available through government grants, scholarships, and private loans. The duration of the training ranges from 3 to 6 months for full-time students and 6 to 12 months for part-time students.

National Exams

Pharmacy technicians applying for advanced pharmacy technician registration in Maine must acquire national certification by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB). The Pharmacy Board bears the responsibility of developing and maintaining the Pharmacy Technician Certification Examination (PTCE), which is recognized by most states and employers. Successful completion of the PTCE not only improves your employment prospects but also gives you the CPhT designation. In order to apply for the 90-question, multiple-choice exam, you must possess a high school diploma – this is the minimum education requirement. You should also have no criminal convictions in your past as well as no denial or suspension of a pharmacy technician license in any state.

The PTCB prefers online applications for testing. If you’re unable to use the online submission, you must send a written note to the Board, explaining your circumstances, and they will consider your request for paper submission. When the Board approves your application, you can schedule a date to take the exam at a testing center of your choice – you must schedule within 90-days of the Board’s approval.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

The Board will not process your application until you submit all the required documents and fees with your completed application. You must mail the form to the mailing address provided below. The Board will not accept a faxed application form and documents. Follow the steps below to submit your application to the Board.

  • Download and fill out the individual license application.
  • Provide honest answers to the criminal background disclosure questions.
  • Include a check payable to the Maine Board of Pharmacy in the amount of $41. You can also include your credit card information if you prefer to use your Visa or MasterCard.
  • Sign, date, and initial all pages where indicated.
  • Attach copies of your transcripts to the application.
  • Provide copies of your social security card and Drivers’ License.
  • Mail the application to the address provided below.

Check online to follow up on your application status. The Board will post real-time updates of any actions taken when processing your application. Once approved, your license will have an “active” status, and you may print a copy of your license online.

Note: The Board will terminate any applications that remain in an incomplete status for more than 60 days.

Renewal

Maine requires pharmacy technicians to renew their licenses annually by December 31st. There’s no cost to renew the license if you renew on time. However, the Board will assess a $50 late fee for renewal requests made after the expiration date – up to 90 days after expiration. If you fail to renew your license within 90 days after expiration, you will need to fulfill all the requirements governing new applications, which means submitting a new request along with the required documents and fees.

It is essential that you notify the Board of address changes within 10 days. The Board will mail the renewal reminder up to 60 days prior to your license expiration date.

Use the online portal to renew your license online.

Transfers

Pharmacy technicians licensed in other states can apply for registration in Maine. Follow the steps below to obtain a license to work in Maine:

  • Contact the Board of Pharmacy (or other governing body) to obtain an official License Verification. The verification form should include the state of licensure, pharmacy technician’s name, type of license, license number, date of issue, the status of the license, method of issue, examinations, disciplinary actions (if any), state seal, and signature and title of a representative at the licensing authority.
  • Direct the Board of Pharmacy to send the license verification to you and attach the report to a completed application for registration.
  • Include the $41 fee for processing the application and criminal background check.

Maine Board of Pharmacy

Mailing Address:

Department of Professional & Financial Regulation
Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation
35 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0035

Delivery address/physical location

Department of Professional & Financial Regulation
Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation
76 Northern Avenue
Gardiner, Maine 04345

Phone: 207-624-8603
Fax: 207-624-8637

Maryland

A pharmacy technician works under a pharmacist’s supervision to assist with activities not requiring the professional judgment of a pharmacist. Before taking up the role, you need to acquire a broad knowledge of pharmacy practice along with techniques for dispensing, ordering, stocking, and preparing medications. Maryland’s state-approved pharmacy technician training programs prepare students for the entry-level position to work alongside licensed pharmacists. Today’s pharmacists rely heavily on pharmacy technicians to keep up with the growing consumer demands. The lower salaries and wide scope of activities are just some reasons for the positive outlook for this career as employers seek to control health care costs.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in MD:

Maryland Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Any non-registered individual working behind a pharmacy counter and anyone applying for work as a pharmacy technician must register with Maryland’s Board of Pharmacy. This requirement applies to individuals working at retail pharmacies, hospital pharmacies, and pharmacies at nursing homes assisted living facilities, and other health facilities. Pharmacy technician candidates may work at a pharmacy while attending a board-approved training program as long as the program does not exceed 6 months. Employers have the responsibility to verify a prospective employee’s standing with the Board before hiring. The Board maintains two listings; a list of pending applications and a list of registered pharmacy technicians.

Applicants for registration must provide proof of completing a board-approved training program, including 160 hours of work experience and the state certification exam or certification from a national pharmacy technician program. Students enrolled in pharmacy degree programs can apply for exemption from training with the submission of transcripts from an accredited school of pharmacy. Pharmacy student applicants must complete the student exemption form and an affidavit of enrollment from the pharmacy school.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 17 years old for pharmacy technician registration in Maryland.

Education Requirement

All applicants for registration must submit proof of high school graduation or GED. High school students may apply for registration with a supporting note from a school counselor and pharmacist.

Other Requirements

Applicants must submit a Criminal History Record Report from the Criminal Justice Information System (CJIS) along with the application. The Board will not process the application without the criminal history report. Disqualifying felonies will impair your ability to register as a pharmacy technician.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Maryland’s Pharmacy Technician Certificate programs prepare students for entry-level employment by teaching knowledge, technical skills, and best practices for working in a retail or hospital pharmacy setting. Programs include classroom instructions as well as 160+ hours of work experience in a local retail pharmacy, hospital, assisted living facility, or pharmaceutical facility.

After covering, topics, such as pharmaceutical calculations, pharmaceutical terminology, prescription medications, ethics of pharmacy, and others, graduates will understand the basic aspects of pharmacy, including how to read, fill and distribute prescriptions. Graduates will also understand pharmacies’ legal responsibility to maintain accurate records and safe handling of various drug categories.

Graduates of state-approved programs are eligible for state registration and can also apply to take the National Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) exam for national certification.

Duration and Cost

Pharmacy technician programs cost an average of $1,200 for classroom and clinical experience at institutes like Prince George Community College. Other schools such as Fortis, charge $14,647 for a 36-week training program. Advertised costs are for tuition only and do not cover necessary expenses like textbooks, course materials, uniforms,s and transportation to and from the clinical rotation. Other costs include a criminal background check, application fee, national exam costs, and state registration. The duration of Maryland’s pharmacy technician programs is approximately 6 months.

National Exams

Maryland’s Board of Pharmacy acknowledges both the PTCB and ExCPT exams. The Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE) is administered by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board and gives successful candidates national certification. The PTCB is a widely recognized body, but there’s also a growing acceptance for ExCPT certification among Marland’s employers. There are similarities in the exams administered by both organizations.

The PTCE is a computer-based exam that tests candidates’ understanding of nine knowledge domains. The exam contains 90 multiple-choice questions (80 scored and 10 unscored). The test costs $129.

The Examination for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians (ExCPT) is the other recognized national certification for pharmacy technicians. The 2-hour long exam contains 120 multiple-choice questions. At a cost of $105, the application for the ExCPT exam costs slightly lower than the PTCB exam.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Aspiring pharmacy technicians can submit an application for registration with the Board of Pharmacy after completing an approved training program or a national certification exam and a criminal background check. Along with the completed application for registration, you must submit your criminal history record, passport sized photo, copy of your state ID, proof of board-approved training, high school transcript, and the $45 application fee (check or money order).

Note: The Board will keep the application open for one year from the date they acknowledge receipt. If you fail to meet all the criteria for registration within the one-year period, you must resubmit another application, fee, and accompanying documents.

Renewal

Your pharmacy technician license is valid for two years, from the first day of the month after your birth month and ends the last day of your birth month. The renewal process takes at least two weeks, so you should initiate the renewal early – as incomplete applications can cause your license to expire. If the license expires without notice of successful renewal from the board, you cannot practice pharmacy until the license renews.

Pharmacy technicians must complete 10 Continuing Education (CE) hours during the first renewal cycle and 20 CE for subsequent cycles. To renew your licenses, submit the completed application along with the CEs earned and the $45 renewal fee to the Board of Pharmacy.

Transfers

Pharmacy technicians from other states can apply for registration in Maryland through reciprocity. The applicant must submit evidence of registration from the other state – requirements must be similar to Maryland’s requirements. The Board also requires a letter verifying good standing with the out-of-state Board.

For states where pharmacy technicians are not regulated by a Pharmacy Board, the applicant must submit a Pharmacy Work Experience Affidavit signed by a pharmacist under whom the PT worked for at least six months.

The Maryland State Board of Pharmacy Information
4201 Patterson Avenue,
Baltimore, Maryland 21215
Main (410) 764-4755
Fax (410)358-6207
(800) 542-4964 (MD Only)

Massachusetts

Pharmacy technicians are in demand, and according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, those demands will continue to increase substantially through the year 2018. The rising need for medications and the expansive pharmaceutical industry means more jobs for pharmacy technicians nationwide. Today’s technicians do a lot more than ever before, but regulations demand that they work under the supervision of a registered pharmacist in community pharmacies, hospitals, long-term care facilities, and home infusion pharmacies.

Pharmacy technicians mix, count, and label prescriptions in preparation for dispensing. They also stay on top of inventory and manage administration and billing. Most of all, pharmacy technicians ensure the safety and timely delivery of medication, and in collaboration with the pharmacist promote public health and wellness. In order to protect the public’s health, the Massachusetts Department of Registration in Pharmacy requires pharmacy technicians to register with the state before working in state-licensed pharmacies. Professional Credentialing Services, Inc processes all applications for registration.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in MA:

Massachusetts Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

The Department of Registration in Pharmacy requires all pharmacy technicians and trainees to register with the Board. Non-certified pharmacy technicians can apply for registration after completing up to 500 hours of employment and respective training at a registered pharmacy. The employer must verify employment and details of the training. Certified pharmacy technicians are those who have completed the PTCE or ExCPT exam for national certification.

Pharmacy technicians must obtain appropriate training as a requirement for registration. Candidates should complete a Board-approved training program, which covers pharmacy security, job descriptions, medical abbreviations, product selection, and other key topics. The following are examples of programs the Board approves:

  • Programs accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
  • Programs provided by a branch of the US Armed Services of Public Health Service
  • Board-approved programs containing a minimum of 240 hours of didactic and practical training

After completing the necessary training, pharmacy technicians must demonstrate their work-readiness by achieving a passing score on a Board-approved assessment examination. The exam will cover five knowledge domains; practice settings, medical abbreviations and symbols, dosage calculations, identification of drugs, and duties and responsibilities of a pharmacy technician. In lieu of employer-based assessments, pharmacy technicians can take PTCE or ExCPT for national certification.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in Massachusetts.

Education Requirement

Pharmacy technicians looking to register with the Board of Pharmacy must be a high school graduate or have equivalent education. If you don’t have a high school diploma, you must be enrolled in a program that rewards a degree or certificate.

Along with your application for registration, you’ll need to submit any of the following as proof of completing high school.

  • Copy of your high school diploma
  • Copy of your high school transcript with graduation date included
  • GED certificate or test results

Other Requirements

Like other states, pharmacy technicians in Massachusetts must have a good moral character. Applicants with drug-related felonies will not qualify for renewal. Admission of prior convictions could delay the processing of your application as PCS reviews your applications, documents, and circumstances surrounding your conviction before making a final decision.

Applicants for Certified Pharmacy Technician registration must have PTCB or ExCPT certification.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Pharmacy technician training provides students with the safety, communication, and patient care skills required to obtain entry-level employment in various health care settings. Accredited programs also prepare students for PTCB certification. Most programs cover classroom sessions plus a clinical externship at a retail or hospital pharmacy (or sometimes, both). Key topics include pharmacy abbreviations, pharmacy technician role and responsibilities, drug regulation and control, pharmacy calculations, pharmaceutical terminology, basics of IV solution, Parenterals, and compounding. Students also learn basic administration, such as inventory management, customer service, patient records, and pharmacy billing.

The externship highlights the major topics covered in the classroom from a practical perspective. For most programs, the externship is a requirement for graduation. Basic requirements for working as student technicians in most pharmacies include up-to-date vaccinations, TB clearance, drug screen, and criminal background checks.

Duration and Cost

Massachusetts’ accredited pharmacy technician training programs cost $1,200 on average. Programs are available at colleges, universities, vocational schools, private institutions, and employer-based programs. For free training that leads to Board registration, you should seek out employment/training opportunities at community pharmacies. After completing 500 hours of employment, training, and an assessment, you will meet the requirements for Board registration. You’ll also have the basic knowledge needed to succeed at the national PTCB exam.

The average cost of training at paid institutions will cover tuition and textbook only. You must budget for other expenses, such as registration, immunization, background check, drug screen, TB test, and PTCB certification. Board-approved programs must supply a minimum of 240 theoretical and practical instruction. Based on those requirements, programs typically last 2 to 8 months based on the schedule.

National Exams

Assessment exams, whether national or local to Massachusetts, evaluate candidates’ competency related to their role as pharmacy technicians. The Department of Registration in Pharmacy requires Certified Pharmacy Technicians to take the PTCE or ExCPT exam prior to registration. The DRP accepts both national certifying exams; the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE) administered by the PTCB and the ExCPT exam developed by the National Health Career Association (NHA).

The Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians administers and scores the ExCPT exam. Applicants for the computer-based exam must be 18 years old and possess a high school diploma or GED equivalent. The two-hour exam contains 110 multiple-choice questions, which covers three key areas; pharmacy regulations and technician duties, dispensing medication and brand name, and generic drugs. Applicants must pay $105 to take the national exam.

The widely accepted PTCB is the older and more recognized national certification exam. The PTCB has contracted with Pearson Vue to administer the computer-based exam at various testing centers across the nation, including several testing centers in Massachusetts. Applicants must present proof of completing high school or GED. In order to improve the integrity of their certification and commit to public safety, the PTCB also requires candidates to pass a criminal background check. The two-hour exam comprises 90 questions – 80 of which counts towards the final score. Applicants must apply for the exam online and submit the $129 fee with the completed application.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

The Massachusetts Board of Registration in Pharmacy has given the Professional Credential Services (PCS) the responsibility to process pharmacy technicians’ applications for registration. Applicants can register as non-certified pharmacy technicians or certified technicians.

Following is a list of instructions for each option:

Non-certified pharmacy technician

  • Download and fill out the pharmacy technician application.
  • Provide proof of age – state-issued ID
  • Provide a copy of your high school or GED transcript.
  • Provide proof of completing a Board-approved training program or at least 500 hours of employment as a pharmacy technician
  • Submit proof of completing a Board-approved or employer-based pharmacy technician assessment examination.
  • Include the application fee of $150 with your completed application (check, money order or credit card accepted).
  • Your employer must fill out the Employer Verification of Experience and Examination (included in the application packet).
  • Sign the application in the presence of a notary public and attach a 2×2 photo.

Certified pharmacy technician

  • Download and fill out the pharmacy technician application.
  • Provide proof of age and legal U.S. residency.
  • You must respond to the questions on criminal convictions and be of good moral character.
  • Enclose copies of your high school diploma or GED and your PTCB or EXCPT
  • Pay the application fee of $150 using a check, money order, or credit card.
  • Sign the application in the presence of a notary public and attach a 2×2 photo.

Renewal

The registration expires on the technician’s birth date every two years. You must renew your registration on time to continue practicing –failure to renew by the expiration date will result in penalties if you continue to work. If your renewal lapses, you can renew your registration after submitting an application, the renewal fee, and late fee. You may have to fulfill the requirements of a new registration if your license remains in lapsed status for more than two years.

The renewal fee is $60. You must notify the Board of changes in your residence, place of employment, or name changes within 10 working days of finalizing the change.

Transfer

Massachusetts practices reciprocity with other states. If you’re currently registered in another state, you can apply for registration with the Board providing you meet the following requirements:

  • Provide proof of good standing with another State Board.
  • Compare the registration requirements in your old state with that of Massachusetts. The requirements should be equivalent to qualify for transfer.

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Department of Public Health
Division of Health Professions Licensure

Massachusetts Board of Registration in Pharmacy
239 Causeway Street, Suite 500, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02114
Phone: 800-414-0168

Michigan

As of December 22, 2014, Michigan’s pharmacy technicians cannot practice without a license from the state’s Board of Pharmacy. The new requirement, passed in Public Act 285, serves to protect patient safety, regulate the handling of controlled substances and help pharmacists concentrate on quality patient care. Prior to the passage of this Act, pharmacy technicians did not need a license to perform the duties that are essential to this profession. Since the Act took effect in December, it is the pharmacy owner’s and pharmacist’s responsibility to ensure present and future pharmacy technicians in their employees comply with all the terms of the Act.

Apart from setting forth new requirements for pharmacy technicians’ licensure, the Act also enumerates specific responsibilities that classify individuals as pharmacy technicians. These responsibilities include compounding drugs, dispensing medication, preparing or mixing intravenous drugs, transfer of prescriptions, and receiving verbal orders for prescription drugs. Pharmacists must understand the new role and function of pharmacy technicians and ensure that general employees (under the unregulated status) obtain state licensure before performing pharmacy technician duties.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in MI:

Michigan Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Effective December 2014, all pharmacy technicians must obtain a license with the State Board of Pharmacy to practice. General employees, under the previous unregulated status, should obtain a full or limited license in order to maintain employment. Although the Act took effect in December, the Board of Pharmacy gives current and prospective pharmacy technicians a grace period of 6 months to secure their state licensure. The grace period expires on June 30, 2015.

Under the Act, general employments currently functioning as pharmacy technicians could apply for a limited license, which remains valid if the employees remain employed with the same pharmacy. The employer will need to complete the Verification of Employment page on the application packet. The limited license is no longer valid if the employee stops working or begin employment at another pharmacy.

For full licensure, state pharmacy technicians must submit proof of certification from the PTCB or NHA. The Board will only accept scores directly from the certifying Board as evidence of national certification. Candidates who plan to work while preparing for national certification can apply for a temporary license. The license is valid for 210 days and is non-renewable.

Age Requirement

Under the new Act, pharmacy technician candidates in Michigan must be at least 18 years to register with the Board.

Education Requirement

The Board requires proof of high school completion for state registration. There are currently no specific educational requirements beyond that of high school education. Your high school or GED testing company must provide a copy of your transcripts directly to the Board – they will not accept copies of your personal documents.

  • Request a copy of your high school transcript and have the school send it directly to the Board.
  • If you completed your GED, ask the company to send verification of your scores directly to the Board.
  • State of Michigan graduates can use the e-transcript service to send details directly to the Board via electronic transmission.

If you’re applying for a full license using your PTCB or NHA certification, you won’t need to submit proof of high school graduation.

Other Requirements

The Board requires all applicants for state licensure to undergo a Criminal Background Check. The CBC must be completed through an authorized agency, which will send the results directly to the Board. The application packet contains forms and detailed instructions for the CBC and fingerprinting process.

Applicants consenting to an investigation of their criminal conviction history also permit law enforcement officials and the judicial organization to release the information to the licensing agency.

Disclosure of prior convictions or felonies could affect your ability to register with the Board. It will also delay the processing of your application as the Health Professions Licensing Division reviews your application. The final decision is based on the conviction, the time elapsed, and your age at the time of the charge.

Applicants for full licensure will need to submit proof of national certification through the PTCB or NHA along with the completed application.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Accredited pharmacy technician classes take students through a career-focused curriculum that helps them acquire the knowledge, skills, and confidence to assist pharmacists with dispensing operations, prescription preparation, and administration at retail, hospital, and mail-order pharmacies.

In the classroom, students learn basic terms for medical conditions and prescription drugs to help them read prescriptions and patient records. They’ll understand the common classes of drugs and their interactions with the human body. Pharmaceutical calculations prepare students for the responsibility of calculating dosages. Students also learn about the important laws and regulations that govern pharmacy practice. Communication and administrative procedures are also critical topics in pharmacy technician training programs.

Most programs also include an externship component that gives students a chance to gain hands-on experience to succeed on the job. Currently, Michigan does not require pharmacy technicians to enroll in a formal training program as a requirement for licensure. However, the knowledge and skills imparted through accredited programs can help graduates succeed with the PTCB exam and give them a leg-up over other pharmacy technicians on the job market.

Duration and Cost

The classroom and clinical components of pharmacy technician classes depend largely on the training provider, especially as there are no specific requirements outlined by state agencies. The program duration ranges from 6 weeks to 8 months, depending on the class schedule. Tuition is approximate $2,500 not including mandatory expenses, such as a criminal background check, textbooks, workbook, course materials, liability insurance, uniform, registration fees, and PTCB certification. Financial aid may be available to help cover the cost of tuition.

National Exams

Pharmacy technician certifying exams evaluate a candidate’s knowledge and skills related to the tasks they must perform in a pharmacy setting. Michigan’s new laws require pharmacy technicians to acquire certification to register with the Board and work in a health care setting. The Board acknowledges both certifying exams; the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE) and the ExCPT exam. Successful candidates can use the title of Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT).

The Exam for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians (ExCPT) is a certifying exam developed by the National Health Career Association (NHA). The Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians administers the exam and manages the scoring and certification of technicians. In order to take the computer-based exam, you must be at least 18 years old and possess a high school diploma or GED. The exam comprises 110 multiple-choice questions, which candidates must complete in two hours. The questions cover three general areas; dispensing medications, pharmacy regulations and technician duties, and brand name and generic products. The cost of taking the ExCPT certification exam is $105.

The PTCB oversees the administration of the PTCE, which is the older and more recognized of the two certifying exams. Pearson VUE administers the computer-based exam at testing centers around the nation, including several testing centers in Michigan. Candidates applying for the PTCE exam must possess a high school diploma or GED and pass a criminal background check. The two-hour exam contains 90 questions – 80 out of 90 questions count towards the final score. The cost of the exam is $129.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

There are three routes to licensure in Michigan. All applicants must undergo a criminal background check and provide proof of high school graduation with their applications.

Pharmacy technician by Examination (Full License)

This license is applicable to pharmacy technicians with the CPhT designation through the PTCB or NHA.

  • Complete the application for registration
  • Contact the certifying agency (PTCB or NHA) and ask them to send your passing scores directly to the Michigan Board of Pharmacy.
  • Include a copy of your ID and social security card with the completed application.
  • Enclose the application fee of $55 via check or money order. Make checks payable to the State of Michigan.
  • Complete the Livescan Fingerprint Request form and take it to your scheduled appointment with Identogo or another approved agency. The CBC fee is $65.
  • Applicants with PTCB or NHA certification do not need to provide high school transcripts.

Pharmacy Technician Limited License

This license is applicable to candidates who can document at least 1,000 hours of employment over a two-year period before the application date. The limited license lets current pharmacy technicians continue employment as pharmacy technicians. The license becomes invalid when the technician changes jobs or stops working.

  • Complete the application for registration
  • Complete Section I of the Verification of Employment on the application form and have your employer complete Section II and send it directly to the Board.
  • Request your high school transcripts to be sent directly to the Board.
  • Complete the Livescan Fingerprint Request Form to complete a criminal background check.
  • Enclose the application fee of $10 via check or money order.
  • Enclose a copy of your ID and social security card.

Pharmacy Technician Temporary License

This license applies to candidates who plan to work while preparing for the national PTCB or NHA exam. The temporary license expires 210 days after the issue. To qualify for a temporary permit, submit the following to the Board of Pharmacy:

  • A completed application for a registration form.
  • The application fee of $15 using a check or money order.
  • Copy of your state ID and social security card.
  • Your high school transcripts or GED sent directly from the issuing organization.
  • A criminal background report.

The Board processes applications in order of receipt. They will not accept faxed documents, so ensure all parties send documents via mail. The Board will send a letter confirming your request and your Customer Number within 7 days of receiving your application. You can use your Customer Number to check your application status online.

Renewal

The initial license is a partial license that will expire on the June 30 renewal date. Subsequent licenses will remain valid for a two-year period. The Board will mail a renewal reminder 6 to 8 weeks before your license expires. The notice will contain details for renewing your application online along with the applicable fees for renewal. After the first renewal, pharmacy technicians will need to submit proof of at least 20 hours of Board-approved continuing pharmacy education units within the 2-year period.

Make sure to inform the Board when your name or address changes to receive notifications about the status of your license.

Transfer

Michigan does not have a reciprocity agreement with other states. Pharmacy technicians who are registered in other states can apply for registration with the Board of Pharmacy providing they meet the requirements for registration. Any verification of your license or registration from another state must come directly from the licensing agency. The Board will not accept copies of your license.

Michigan Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Bureau of Health Care Services
Board of Pharmacy
Mailing Address: PO Box 30670, Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: 517-373-1820

Minnesota

The healthcare industry employs over 15.6 million professionals nationwide. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, those numbers will continue to increase as the growing senior population places more demands on the industry. Pharmacy professionals, including pharmacy technicians, contribute to the growth of jobs in the industry. The Minnesota Board of Pharmacy enforces the rules surrounding the registration and management of pharmacy technicians. The requirements for registration and formal training is one way to safeguard public health and hold pharmacy technicians and their pharmacist supervisors accountable. Technicians, once registered, can practice in hospital and community pharmacies, assisted living facilities, and specialized clinics.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in MN:

Minnesota Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Minnesota’s pharmacy technicians must register with the Board of Pharmacy before beginning employment. Effective 2014, the Board implemented new prerequisites for pharmacy technician registration. The changes apply to new registrations as well as for those who need to reinstate a lapsed license. The new requirements include a minimum age (18) and education (applicants must be high school graduates or possess a GED). The Board also requires applicants to complete a pharmacy technician training program – one meeting the specifications outlined below:

  • A board-approved accredited technical or vocational institute or college.
  • A program accredited by a Board-approved national organization that accredits PT training programs.
  • A program facilitated by a branch of the United States Defense Force or Public Health Service.
  • An employer-based program that covers at least 240 hours of training over a one-year period.

Pharmacy technician training programs accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists are automatically approved by the Board.

The Board will issue a registration number once they approve the application for registration. The registration number stays with the pharmacy technician and is valid for employment at multiple pharmacies. Employers can use the registration number to check a prospective employee’s status at the registry. Registration expires yearly, and pharmacy technicians have the responsibility to renew their licenses on time to keep working legally within the state. It’s the pharmacist-in-charge responsibility to ensure all technicians working in the pharmacy have current licenses and registrations.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in Minnesota.

Education Requirement

Minnesota’s Board of Pharmacy requires all applicants to have a high school diploma or GED equivalent. Other educational requirements include completion of a pharmacy technician training program through an accredited institution or employer-provided program.

Other Requirements

Criminal background checks are not automatic as it is in other states. However, applicants should have a good moral character and no criminal charges related to theft, or state law violations involving drugs or alcohol. Applicants must respond to questions relating to their criminal background on the application form and provide details of the events leading to the conviction. The Board will determine if the information warrants a criminal background check. Although responding “yes” to those qualifying questions could delay the processing of the application for registration, it is important to provide truthful information.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Pharmacy technicians are one of a few registered healthcare professionals in the pharmacy setting. They have a legal and ethical responsibility to acquire the knowledge and skills required to cater to the general public. Whether training takes place at an accredited college, university, or vocational institution, or within the hallowed walls of community pharmacies, students must cover a series of didactic and hands-on training that will give them confidence in their roles as pharmacy technicians.

The Board specifically recommends ASHP accredited programs, of which there are 11 in Minnesota. They also recommend colleges and universities accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the Department of Education where students are eligible to receive financial aid.

The third option for training is an employer-based program that covers at least 240 hours of theory and practical training. In this instance, the pharmacist-in-charge must ensure students are adequately trained to perform the tasks that will become part of their responsibilities as pharmacy technicians. Some of the minimum content that training must cover include legal and ethical content, pharmacy and medical terminology, abbreviations and symbols, the dispensing process, and customer service. The pharmacist-in-charge will have to specify the details of the training in a formal training manual and include details of the assessment process for every area.

Duration and Cost

Employer-based training presents one of the best ways to train as a pharmacy technician without the accompanying high costs of tuition. There are hundreds of family-operated pharmacies and large retail chains that provide valuable training to employees. Employers typically cover the costs of tuition, uniform, study materials, textbooks, and eventual registration with the state. Another benefit of in-house training is the opportunity to work with a multi-professional team in a real-world setting while training. The duration of employer-based programs varies from a few months to one year as pharmacists-in-charge must cover at least 240 hours of training.

The average cost of training at traditional academia is $4,500. The advertised costs do not typically include expenses for textbooks, uniforms, and other supplies. The good news is that many colleges and vocational institutes offer financial aid for pharmacy technician students. After completing the program, students can apply for national certification through the PTCB or ExCPT in order to receive the CPhT designation and improve their employment prospects. The duration of training at colleges and similar institutes depends on the class schedule. Full-time students can expect to complete their training in 6 to 12 months.

National Exams

National certification through associations, such as the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) and the Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians (ICPT) give pharmacy technicians a distinct advantage over their non-certified counterparts. The Minnesota Board of Pharmacy does not require certification as a requirement for registration. However, as Boards across the nation search for ways to reduce medication errors and safeguard public health, it may be a requirement in the future. The two certifying authorities grant certification to candidates who meet all their requirements, which includes passing an assessment exam.

The PTCB is responsible for the PTCE, which is the older of the two assessments. Before granting approval to take the exam, the PTCB requires applicants to:

  • Present a copy of their high school diploma or GED.
  • Disclose all criminal convictions and disciplinary actions taken by any State Board of Pharmacy.
  • Comply with the Board’s policies.
  • Achieve a passing grade on the PTCE.

The PTCB reserves the right to disqualify a candidate upon disclosure of criminal convictions, disciplinary action, or violation of the Board’s policy. They may conduct a criminal background check to determine a candidate’s eligibility for certification.

The Board prefers online submissions from candidates seeking certification, but they will accept paper submissions with a written request. Candidates can schedule a convenient date for the exam at any one of Pearson Vue’s testing centers across the nation after the Board approves the request. The two-hour exam contains 90 multiple questions – ten of which will not count towards the final score. The cost of certification with the PTCB is $129. Certified Pharmacy Technicians must renew every 2 years. The renewal fee is $40.

The ICPT designs and develops the ExCPT exam. The agency is fast gaining recognition by state Boards and employers. Applicants for certification must be at least 18 years and submit:

  • A high school diploma
  • Proof of formal pharmacy technician training or at least 12 months of pharmacy-related employment over a 36-month period.

Candidates can take the test at any one of the PSI/LaserGrade centers across the US. Test dates are available 310 days a year. The exam contains 120 questions that evaluate candidates’ understanding of Drug Products, Regulation and Technician Duties, and the Dispensing Process. The certification cost is $105.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

First-time applicants for registration need to be 18 years or older and possess a high school diploma. Previously registered pharmacy technicians, with a lapsed registration of more than 12 months, must present a high school diploma or GED certificate in order to reinstate their registration. All applicants for registration must also provide proof of formal pharmacy technician training. Applications must be submitted on a Board-provided form or using the online portal.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

  • Complete the Board-provided application form or submit your registration online.
  • Make your check or money order payable to the Minnesota Board of Pharmacy. The application fee is $35.
  • Include a copy of your state ID and social security card.
  • Attach a copy of your high school diploma or GED certificate.
  • Although the Board does not require applicants to include certificates as proof of formal training, they will perform audits. Therefore, it is important that you don’t make claims you cannot substantiate.
  • Provide proof of national certification (PTCB or ICPT) if any.
  • Mail the application and supporting documents to the address provided below.

Once the Board approves your application, they will issue a registration number that will stay with you as long as you work as a pharmacy technician.

Renewal

Pharmacy technician registration expires on December 31 every year. The Board will send a renewal application 30 days before the expiration date to your last known address. It is important to keep up-to-date information with the Board in order to receive notifications. For fast and convenient renewal, you can renew your registration online. The renewal fee is $35. Pharmacy technicians must submit evidence of completing 20 hours of continuing education over a two-year period in order to maintain registration. CPTE must focus on the competencies that the technician needs to carry out their specific responsibilities at the pharmacy.

Transfer

Pharmacy technicians, registered in other states, can apply for registration in Minnesota through the normal channels of application. The Board will grant approval to candidates who are in good standing with no disciplinary actions taken against the technician.

To apply for registration:

  • Fill out the application for new registration.
  • Provide proof of high school graduation or GED, state ID, formal pharmacy technician training, national certification, and a copy of the registration card from the home state.

Contact the Board:

Pharmacy, Minnesota Board of
2829 University Avenue S.E., Suite 530
Minneapolis, MN 55414-3251
Phone: (651) 201-2825
Fax: (612) 617-2262
Email: pharmacy.board @state.mn.us

Mississippi

Employment opportunities for pharmacy technicians are expected to increase by 20% through the year 2022. The Bureau of Labor Statistics credits the expected growth to the demands of a rising senior population who use more prescription drugs than the younger generation. The rise in the number of retail pharmacies in Mississippi also creates greater employment opportunities for pharmacy technicians. After training, certification, and state registration, pharmacy technicians work under the direction of a licensed pharmacist, performing duties that do not require the pharmacist’s professional judgment. According to the Mississippi’s Board of Pharmacy regulations, they can prepare prescriptions, manage patient records and billing, order supplies, and maintain inventory. They can also receive and screen prescription orders and maintain pharmacy equipment, such as sterilizing bottles, beakers, and other glassware. Pharmacy technicians should have a broad knowledge of pharmacy practice and be able to understand and interpret pharmaceutical and medical terms, abbreviations, and symbols in order to fill their roles responsibly.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in MS:

Mississippi Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Any individual who wants to serve as a pharmacy technician must first obtain a registration from the Board of Pharmacy. The individual must meet all the conditions outlined by the Board, including the age requirement, education requirement, certification requirement, and moral requirement. All candidates for registration must consent to a criminal background check and pay the fee for initial registration and subsequent renewals to continue working. There are no specific requirements for training. However, national certifying agencies, such as the ExCPT require pharmacy technicians to complete training as a requirement for certification. The PTCB will enforce the requirements for accredited training in 2020.

Upon registration, pharmacy technicians must abide by the state’s regulation for pharmacy practice. This includes renewing the registration annually before the March 31 deadline, maintaining national certification, and operating within the principles outlined by the Board. Technicians must operate under the direction of a licensed pharmacist and shall not provide a prescription or medication to the patient without the pharmacist’s verification. They also cannot counsel patients, perform tasks that require a pharmacist’s professional judgment and perform tasks that violate federal and state laws. Pharmacists with a revoked or suspended license cannot register as a pharmacy technician. A pharmacy intern in good standing does not need to register as a pharmacy technician to function in the role. Pharmacists must verify a prospective employee’s registration with the Board before extending an offer of employment.

Age Requirement

Mississippi’s pharmacy technicians must be 18 years or older before submitting an application for registration with the Board.

Education Requirement

A high school diploma or GED equivalent is necessary to register as a pharmacy technician in Mississippi. The applicant must submit a copy of the high school diploma or GED certification or an official copy of the transcript along with the completed application.

Other Requirements

Mississippi’s pharmacy technicians must have a good moral character verifiable from the result of a criminal history report. An individual who has prior arrests for criminal convictions must indicate on the questionnaire and include a detailed explanation of the circumstances surrounding the arrest. Providing false information on the application may be grounds for immediate denial of the application for a Mississipi license. The Board will conduct a nationwide criminal background check to uncover information not contained in a local background check. Provide the information beforehand to increase your chances of success. If the Board denies your request for registration, you cannot submit another request for at least one year following the denied application. In some cases, the Board may restrict an individual from ever applying for registration.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Although the Board of Pharmacy does not stipulate training as a requirement for registration, pharmacy technicians will benefit from formal training. Traditional training institutes and employers facilitate training to give students the communication, safety, and patient advocacy skills needed to perform their duties on the job. Instructors use classroom and hands-on training to emphasize special skills such as the preparation and distribution of medication, record maintenance, labeling and filling orders, and communicating with patients and members of the health care team.

The clinical experience also prepares students for employment in various health care settings. The Board of Pharmacy upholds high standards for technicians. Therefore, students must undergo a criminal background check, drug testing, immunization, and state registration before commencing the clinical experience. To ensure patient safety, students will cover topics such as drug classifications, common drug side effects, generic and trade names, pharmacy maths and dosage calculations, and methods of drug preparation before the training begin in a clinical setting.

ASHP accredited programs, such as the ones offered at Virginia College and Jones County College, cover at least 200 hours of clinical experience in a retail and hospital environment to prepare students for work in multiple environments. The ASHP sets the standards for training nationally, making it easy for graduates to move their skills between states.

The abundance of employer-based training provides balance to the shortage of accredited institutionalized training. Retail pharmacy employers provide structured training to employees and prospective employees. The curriculum is similar to traditional training but will include training in duties that are specific to the employer’s requirements for pharmacy technicians.

Duration and Cost

The average cost of pharmacy technician training in Mississippi is $19,500 plus expenses for textbooks, supplies, and uniforms. The costs of a criminal history check, immunization, drug screen, and TB test are also the students’ responsibility. Federal and private loans, grants, and scholarships may be available to qualifying students. Due to the high cost of formal training, many aspiring pharmacy technicians choose the route of employer-sponsored training, which is free and lets them earn while they train. With numerous pharmacies across the state, there are opportunities in almost every city. Both employer and institutionalized training prepare students for national certification, which costs an additional $105 to $129, depending on the agency.

The average duration of the training depends on the objective and outcome. For example, the diploma program at Virginia College – Jackson Campus is approximately 55 weeks while the Associate of Applied Science at Jones County Junior College is five semesters long. Employer training could last up to 12 months at some locations.

National Exams

Mississippi’s Board of Pharmacy requires technicians to obtain certification from the PTCB or ExCPT as a requirement for registration – or by the first renewal at the very latest. The national exams assess technicians’ readiness for work. As the older of the two certifying bodies, the PTCB is widely recognized and accepted by employers and state pharmacy boards. The PTCB, through a partnership with Pearson Vue, delivers the exam electronically at hundreds of testing centers across the nation and two centers in Ridgeland and Tupelo, Mississippi. Applicants must submit their high school diploma and fingerprints for screening before receiving authorization to take the exam.

The two-hour exam contains 90 questions that test candidates’ knowledge of six critical domains. Only 80 out of 90 questions count toward the final score. The fee for PTCB certification is $129, and the renewal is $40 biennially. CPhTs must complete the continuing pharmacy education requirements to qualify for renewal.

The ExCPT, a product of the NHA, is the second option for national certification. The agency’s prerequisites for certification are similar to the PTCB, requiring applicants to possess a high school diploma, be at least 18 years, and possess a good moral character. Candidates must also demonstrate proof of formal pharmacy technician training or 12 months of employment performing pharmacy-related tasks. The ExCPT exam is two hours long and contains 110 multiple-choice questions, which tests students’ knowledge of the brand name and generic drugs, pharmacy regulations, and technician duties, and dispensing medication.

The ExCPT has contracted with LSI/LaserGrade to administer the exam at more than 200 centers across the nation. The cost of certification is $105.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Aspiring pharmacy technicians must register with the Board before engaging in the practice of pharmacy. Technicians who receive the Board’s approval to practice must fulfill the requirements for national certification before the registration renewal date. Beginning April 1, 2011, all applicants must be 18 years or older, possess a high school diploma or GED, and have a good moral character. Following are the requirements for registering with Mississippi’s Board of Pharmacy.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

Checklist for candidate registration:

  • Contact the Board to request an application packet or download the form and detailed instructions from the Board’s website.
  • Fill out the entire application, making sure to respond to all questions, and include a recent passport quality photo.
  • Provide proof of CPhT certification – an official letter of notification or copy of your PTCB or ExCPT certificate. If you did not a complete certification, you must do so before the first renewal.
  • Fill out the affidavit questionnaire and sign in the presence of a notary.
  • Respond to the questions relating to state regulations governing the practice of pharmacy technicians.
  • Enclose money orders or business checks for the $50 registration and $40 background check fee in a postage-paid envelope.
  • Add proof of high school graduation to the prepaid envelope.
  • Take the package to your local police, department of public safety, or other agency to get fingerprinted on a white and blue FD-258 card. The person completing the fingerprints must complete the questionnaire on page 4 of the application.
  • Ask the person who took the fingerprints to place the completed fingerprint card in the prepaid envelope along with other documents and mail directly to the Board of Pharmacy at the address provided below.

The Board cannot issue a license if the applicant does not provide the specified documents, including the fingerprint card for a criminal history check. False or incorrect information could result in the Board’s refusal to grant or renew a technician’s license. Violation of any of the state or federal laws relating to the practice of pharmacy could result in disciplinary action, including the revocation of a license. Once approved, the technician must keep a copy of the registration certificate at his/her primary place of employment.

Renewal

Pharmacy technicians must renew their registration annually by submitting the request on a Board-provided form. The registration expires on March 31 every year. Any registration not renewed by the deadline will become null and void, and the pharmacy technician cannot perform duties in the dispensing or drug storage areas of the pharmacy. The Board will return all renewal applications postmarked after March 31 and assess a $50 late fee. The pharmacist-in-charge must ensure all pharmacy technician employees have up-to-date registrations and are in good standing with the Board.

Following are the steps for renewal.

  • Fill out the renewal form that the Board sends through the mail.
  • Mail the form with the $50 renewal fee before March 31.
  • Include a copy of your current PTCB or ExCPT certification. Technicians must maintain certification with the national certifying agency.

It’s the technician’s responsibility to use the change of name/address form to notify the Board of any changes within 10 business days.

Transfer

Mississippi does not practice reciprocity for pharmacy technicians. Pharmacy technicians registered in another state and certified through a national agency can follow the standard procedure for new registration.

Contact the Board:

Mississippi Board of Pharmacy
6360 I-55 North, Suite 400
Jackson, MS 39211
Phone: 601-899-8880
Fax: 601-899-8851

Missouri

The services a pharmacy provides go well beyond the provision of medical supplies. In order to deliver safe and efficient services to the public, pharmacists need to rely on their team of skilled pharmacy technicians. Missouri’s Board of Pharmacy plays an essential role in defining the roles, responsibilities, and accountability of pharmacy technicians in their delivery of service to the public. Under the direction of their pharmacist supervisors, registered pharmacy technicians develop the level of competence needed to deliver quality and safe pharmacy services. While the Board outlines specific requirements for registration, it’s left to the individual and employers to determine the training and education requirements for employment. Although the state does not require technicians to obtain certification, pharmacists are, generally, more comfortable delegating tasks to persons who demonstrate their skills and competency from the onset.

Apart from obtaining the key competencies required to obtain employment, pharmacy technicians have a duty to expand their skills and competencies to embrace new roles within the confines of the law. Accredited training and certification prepare technicians for their roles and responsibilities, and continuing education units, keep them accountable and mindful of public safety and key changes in the field of pharmacy.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in MO:

Missouri Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

In order to practice in Missouri, pharmacy technicians must register with the Board of Pharmacy. Registration requires filling out a Board-provided application form, submitting the application fee, and consenting to a criminal background check.

Once a technician submits the application and the fingerprint receipt, he/she can begin working in a pharmacy but must keep copies of the documents submitted to the Board on file at the pharmacy. The Board requires at least 3 weeks to process the application – more for persons who are applying from another state.

After the Board approves the application, pharmacy technicians have the responsibility of renewing the application annually before May 31st. Those who fail to renew the application must cease working until they submit a renewal request and receive confirmation of renewal from the Board.

There are no education or certification requirements specified by the Board. However, the Board’s policies do not reflect employer requirements. Therefore, technicians should pursue formal training from accredited institutions in order to improve their employment opportunities. Another common requirement among employers is certification from third-party authorities, such as the PTCB and ICPT. These authorities set the standards for pharmacy technicians across the nation. Those who pass the exam and meet the stipulated requirements will receive the CPhT designation and must complete continuing education requirements in order to renew biennially.

Age Requirement

Pharmacy technicians must be at least 18 years old to register with the Board.

Education Requirement

There are no requirements for pharmacy technicians to present proof of completing high school on the application for registration. However, most pharmacy technicians will agree that a high school diploma is beneficial for a number of reasons. For one, employers will request it, especially if a new employee has no experience working in a pharmacy setting. A high school education makes it easier for technicians to grasp pharmaceutical calculations, concepts, policies, and laws. That would explain why certifying agencies, such as the PTCB and the ICPT, require candidates to have this minimum education as a requirement for certification.

Finally, high school education is most beneficial for those who plan to pursue further study to obtain an associate or an advanced degree in pharmacy.

Other Requirements

All applicants for registration must submit their fingerprints and undergo a criminal background check. 3M/Cogent Corp is the approved fingerprint services vendor. The total fee for a standard State and FBI search is $44.80.

If you’re guilty or enter a plea of guilty or nolo contendere in a criminal prosecution for offenses related to the functions of a pharmacy technician, the Board will have to review your case, and possibly, schedule an interview with you before making a decision. A criminal charge does not mean automatic denial of your application for registration. The Board will consider your age at the time of the crime and the severity of the crime. Answer all questions truthfully on the application and provide a full description to explain the circumstances surrounding the offense.

Make sure to pay all state-owned taxes and file all necessary tax returns for the preceding three years to qualify for registration and maintain your license with the Board.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Aspiring pharmacy technicians should enroll in accredited schools to acquire quality education. The Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education recommends the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) due to their stringent but realistic requirements for pharmacy technician training providers.

The core curriculum comprises the classroom, lab, and clinical components. Classroom instruction provides a broad knowledge of prescription medication, professional ethics, pharmaceutical calculations, drug interactions, and side effects, pharmacokinetics, drug delivery systems, pharmacy law, medication dosage forms, and administration. Students also gain an understanding of health care systems, clinical pharmacy services, controlled substance procedures, anatomy, physiology, medication abbreviations, and pharmacy purchasing and inventory.

Simulated laboratory activities and a clinical internship let students develop and enhance their clinical, technical, and computer skills and critical thinking. The clinical experience also gives students a chance to work in a pharmacy setting under the direction of a licensed pharmacist and alongside other trained pharmacy technicians. The clinical internship might take place in a hospital, community, specialty or outpatient pharmacy. Students may be required to pass a criminal background check and drug test before they begin the internship.

Duration and Cost

How much does one spend on pharmacy technician training? It depends on the school and the type of credential earned. The certificate programs at vocational schools, private institutions, and community colleges cost an average of $3,200. The estimated cost covers tuition only and does not reflect necessary costs for textbooks, lab coat, liability insurance, immunization, course materials, registration fees, parking, background check, and other student fees. Degree programs where students earn transferable credit units cost a lot more and can extend beyond 12 months. The unfortunate fact is that financial aid is not always available to help students cover the costs. Although, there might be options for the interest-free payment plan, scholarships, and loans.

An obvious question is, why pay thousands of dollars to train as a pharmacy technician when you can train for free with a pharmacy employer? There are many employers that still provide training for new employees. In fact, employers must provide training for all employees, even those that apply with an accredited training program under their belt. However, the extent of training depends on the employee’s previous knowledge – gained from accredited programs or previous employers. The truth is, training employees affects productivity and costs money because time is money. If you don’t have the funds for tuition, then waiting for an opening for training is the next best option.

If you want to get a head start on your career, then enroll in an accredited program and earn the skills and recognition that you can take from one state to another or one employer to another.

National Exams

Certified pharmacy technicians earn more than their non-certified counterparts. The PTCB and the ICPT are both certifying agencies that are recognized in all 50 states – although the regulations vary from state to state. Pharmacy technicians who fulfill all the requirements for certification earn the CPhT designation and can maintain it through ongoing professional development during the two-year certification period.

To qualify for certification from either agency, candidates must pass the agency’s exam and meet the predetermined qualifications. For the PTCB, it means presenting a high school diploma or equivalent education, full disclosure of criminal and disciplinary actions, compliance with the PTCB certification policies, and achieving a passing score on the exam.

Apart from earning a higher salary, certified technicians benefit from career growth opportunities, respect from employers and coworkers, improved employment opportunities, and a better understanding of pharmacy law. The Pharmacy Technician Certifying Exam (PTCE) is a multiple-choice exam consisting of 90 questions; 80 scored and 10 unscored. Candidates have one hour and 50 minutes to complete the exam, which tests their knowledge of nine knowledge domains. The passing scaled score is 1,400. The cost for certification is $129.

The ExCPT, managed by the ICPT, is the second option for certification. The exam comprises 120 multiple-choice questions, which candidates must complete in 2 hours and 10 minutes. Before scheduling the exam, candidates must first submit an application and provide proof of completing high school or equivalent education and a formal pharmacy technician training program. The agency will accept candidates who have a minimum of 12 months of pharmacy-related experience in lieu of formal training. The cost for certification is $105 and the exam is available 310 days a year at PSI/LaserGrade centers.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

After submitting your application for registration with the Board along with the application fee and fingerprint receipt, you may begin working as a pharmacy technician. However, you’ll need to keep a copy of the application and the fingerprint receipt at your place of employment to present to auditors upon request. The Board will notify you of their decision in writing within 3 weeks of submitting your application and all the required documents.

Pharmacy technician application:

  • Download the application form online and answer all the questions. Incomplete or inaccurate information will invalidate the application.
  • Fill out the applicant’s affidavit and sign in the presence of a notary
  • Include the application fee of $35. A check, money order, or cashier’s check should be made out of the Missouri Board of Pharmacy.
  • Tape a 2” X 2” photo into the photo box on the application
  • Register to be fingerprinted on the Missouri Automated Criminal History Site and visit the fingerprint location to complete the fingerprint. Enclose a copy of the fingerprint receipt with the completed application for registration.
  • Mail the completed application, supporting documents, and fee to the Board of Pharmacy.

The Board will mail your registration card once they approve the application. Your registration number will be available on the Board’s website.

Renewal

Pharmacy technician licenses expire on May 31st annually. The Board will send out a renewal reminder/form in March. For faster renewals, you can submit your application online and pay using a credit card. The annual renewal fee is $35. There’s a vendor processing fee added to each transaction. If you want to skip the processing fee, you can renew your application by mail and send a check or money order. You must stop working immediately if you do not receive confirmation of your renewal by May 31st.

There are no continuing education requirements or employment hours to complete your renewal. If there are any changes to your name or address, you should notify the Board of your renewal submission.

Transfer

Pharmacy technicians licensed in other states can submit an application for registration with the Board. Use the following steps for fingerprinting:

  • Register with MACHS and make the payment for fingerprinting
  • Go to a law enforcement agency and capture fingerprints on an FBI-258 fingerprint card
  • Include the registration number 0003 on the card and mail it to 3M/Cogent, Missouri CardScan, 5025 Bradenton Ave, Suite A, Dublin, OH 43017.

Contact the Board of Pharmacy:

3605 Missouri Boulevard
P.O. Box 625
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0625

573.751.0091 Telephone
573.526.3464 Fax
800.735.2966 TTY
800.735.2466 Voice Relay

MissouriBOP@pr.mo.gov
http://pr.mo.gov/pharmacists

Montana

Close to 72 percent of pharmacy technicians work in independently owned retail pharmacies, drugstore chain pharmacies, and pharmacies in department and grocery stores. The other 18 percent of pharmacy technicians find work in hospitals, mail-order and Internet pharmacies, and the federal government. The Bureau of Labor Statistics predicts a 32 percent increase in employment for pharmacy technicians between the years 2006 to 2016. The median annual wage for Montana’s pharmacy technicians is $31,200, making it an attractive career for many. As a pharmacy technician, you’ll assist pharmacists by dispensing medication and other health-related products to patients. You’ll also help prepare medication, perform administrative duties, manage inventory, operate the cash registers, and maintain patients’ records. All patient questions relating to prescriptions, drug information, and requests for counsel should be referred to the pharmacist. Pharmacy technician training prepares students for the duties of this entry-level position. Program graduates demonstrate the positive work ethic, interpersonal skills, and professionalism that hiring managers search for in all pharmacy technician employees.

Montana Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Pharmacy technicians cannot practice pharmacy in any respect without an active Montana registration. In order to acquire registration in the state, the applicant must submit a request to the Board using an approved application form and paying the applicable registration fee. Applicants can register as a pharmacy technician-in-training, which is a nonrenewable permit. The technician-in-training must submit proof of PTCB or ExCPT certification to register as a Certified Pharmacy Technician within the 18-month period. Applicants must be at least 18 years old, have a high school graduate, and possess a good moral character. A pharmacy intern in good standing with the Board can perform pharmacy technician duties without registering for the role. Pharmacists with a suspended or revoked license cannot apply for pharmacy technician registration.

The supervising pharmacist should verify employees’ and prospective employees’ registration with the Board before assigning specific duties. Once registered, a pharmacy technician’s tasks and duties must be guided by the Board’s regulations. Specifically, the technician should not perform duties that require a pharmacist’s professional judgment. He/she also should not dispense medication if the pharmacist is not present in the prescription department, and a pharmacist must check all medication before releasing it to a patient.

Technicians must wear a name badge to identify their names and job title and ensure their licenses are conspicuously on display in their primary place of employment.

Age Requirement

Montana’s Board of Pharmacy limits pharmacy technician registration to persons 18 years and older.

Education Requirement

In accordance with state regulations, an individual must possess a high school diploma, GED, or other equivalent degrees to register as a pharmacy technician or pharmacy technician-in-training. The applicant must include a copy of the high school diploma, official transcript, or similar document as proof of education.

Other Requirements

While the Montana Board of Pharmacy does not commission criminal background checks by default, applicants must have a good moral character and answer all the questions related to their criminal history, disciplinary actions, and drug use on the application form. Responding “yes” to any of the questions will require a letter explaining the circumstances and accompanying court documents. The Board may schedule an in-person interview before making a decision. Providing false information on the application could result in denial of the license or revocation of an existing license and disciplinary action.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

The pharmacy technician training program at the Missoula College at the University of Montana is the sole American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) – accredited program in the state. However, there are other training programs accredited by other bodies. Additionally, a huge percentage of pharmacy employers sponsor training for employees and prospective employees. Pharmacy technology classes prepare students for employment in hospitals and community pharmacies and other non-traditional pharmacy settings. Training providers use classroom, lab, and experiential opportunities to ensure balanced learning. In the classroom, instructors cover topics such as pharmacy calculations, medication terminology, medication safety, pharmacy dispensing lab, pharmacology for technicians, state laws, and regulations, in preparation for the externship experience. Instruction in the lab and at local pharmacies allows students to apply their knowledge in a practical setting. In some programs, students complete the externship in at least two different clinical settings.

Students must pass a criminal background check, possess a high school diploma, acquire immunization, and consent to a physical exam and TB testing as requirements for entry into training programs, including employer-provided training programs. Another important requirement is the registration with the State of Montana’s Board of Pharmacy. Students will be unable to complete the experiential training without the appropriate registration.

After successfully completing the training program, students are eligible to sit the national certification exam provided by the PTCB or ExCPT.

Duration and Cost

Numerous pharmacy technicians flock to employer-provided training, which eliminates the cost of tuition and the other expenses associated with attending a traditional class. The accredited programs at universities, community colleges, and vocational schools cost an average of $16,700 for tuition only. Other reasonable costs include the pre-admission requirements, such as a criminal background check, assessment in Maths and English, TB test, physical exam, state registration, immunization, and liability insurance. Students also have to cover the costs of textbooks, lab fees, course materials, uniforms, and transport to and from the clinical sessions. Financial aid may be available from private and state-funded sources. The average duration of training programs (formal and employer-sponsored) is 12 months.

National Exams

Montana’s pharmacy technicians are nationally certified by one of two certifying agencies: the PTCB or the ExCPT. The Board of Pharmacy’s requirements for certification affords technicians numerous advantages over non-certified technicians in other states. Montana’s technicians are among the best paid in the nation. They also earn the respect and confidence of their pharmacist supervisors and play a more active role in the pharmacies where they work. The Board of Pharmacy accepts certification from the PTCB and ExCPT, but like most other states, the majority of pharmacy technicians pursue certification through the PTCB.

Since its inception, the PTCB has earned the respect of state agencies and pharmacists alike. Their strict guidelines, prequalification, and requirements for continuous education keep CPhTs on top of industry standards. Applicants must be at least 18 years and have a high school diploma and good moral character. The PTCB requires applicants to pass a criminal background check and confirm their agreement to practice within the Board’s guidelines. After meeting the prequalification requirements, including the $129 registration fee, the PTCB will grant the applicant approval to take the certification exam at any one of Pearson Vue’s 200 + computerized centers. The two-hour exam contains 90 multiple choice questions, which tests candidates’ understanding of 6 knowledge domains. The certification, once granted, is valid for two years. CPhTs must complete the continuing education requirements and pay the $40 renewal to maintain an active status.

The requirements for ExCPT certification is similar to that of the PTCB. The primary difference arises in the training requirements: Applicants must demonstrate completion of formal training or at least 12 months of pharmacy employment. The fee for certification is $105. Students can schedule the test, after approval from the NHA, at any one of LaserGrade/LSI centers in Montana or another state. The ExCPT is a two-hour exam comprising of 110 multiple-choice questions.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

A pharmacy technician cannot practice in Montana before obtaining the appropriate registration from the Board of Pharmacy. Montana’s pharmacy technicians are Certified Pharmacy Technicians – certified by the PTCB or ExCPT or other recognized body. An individual, 18 years or older with a high school diploma and good moral character can register as a pharmacy technician-in-training while pursuing the training and education required to obtain national certification. The pharmacy technician-in-training permit is non-renewable and valid for 18 months only.

Pharmacy Technician-in-Training Application:

An individual who has not completed the requirements for national certification must register as a pharmacy technician-in-training before practicing pharmacy. The Board requires 30 days to process the application following the receipt of all required documents.

  • Download the application form from the Board’s website.
  • Provide the name and address of the pharmacy where you plan to complete training. If your place of employment changes, you must submit the updated information to the Board within 10 working days.
  • Attach a passport quality photo to page three of the application.
  • Enclose the non-refundable $60 fee using a check or money order payable to the Montana Board of Pharmacy.
  • Enclose a copy of your high school diploma or equivalency certificate and your driver’s
  • Make copies of the character reference forms and obtain three character references from individuals who can confirm your ability to practice as a pharmacy technician. One character reference must be from a registered pharmacist. Each character reference should mail the form directly to the Board – must be submitted before the end of the 18-month probationary period.
  • Respond to the criminal history/disciplinary action questions. The Board may schedule an interview if you answer “yes” to any of the questions.

Pharmacy technicians-in-training have 18 months from the time of registration to pass the PTCB or ExCPT and submit the certificate to the Board. The permit is non-renewable. However, if extenuating circumstances prevent an individual from acquiring certification, the Board may grant an extension of the permit. Any technician who works with an expired license will be subject to disciplinary actions. There is no cost to register as a Certified Pharmacy Technician if you submit proof of national certification before the 18-month period.

Pharmacy Technician Certificate Application:

If you complete the certification requirements after the Board’s stipulated 18-month period, you must submit a new application for registration and pay a new fee. The documents/procedures are the same if you’re submitting a new application. However, you should apply as a Certified Pharmacy Technician and submit a legible copy of your PTCB or ExCPT certification along with the required character references and other documents.

Renewal

Licenses for Montana’s Certified Pharmacy Technicians expire on June 30 annually. The renewal fee is $25 or $50 for renewal forms postmarked after the June 30 deadline. The Board recommends online renewal for faster processing. Pharmacy technicians should not apply for renewal if they do not have current pharmacy technician certification.

Use the following steps to renew your application online or through the mail:

  • To renew online, go to the Board’s online portal (Internet Explorer 9 recommended). Download and print the renewal form if you plan to renew through the mail.
  • Complete the application form, making sure to answer the disciplinary questions, and review the pharmacy technician certification statement.
  • Enclose a check or money order payable to the Montana Board of Pharmacy.
  • Sign the application and return it to the Board before June 30.

Your application for renewal is an admission of current PTCB or ExCPT certification. The Board randomly subjects technicians to an audit after the completion of the renewal cycle.

Transfer

Out-of-state pharmacy technicians with an active national certification from the PTCB or ExCPTmust submit an application for new pharmacy technician registration to the Board of Pharmacy.

Contact the Board:
Montana Board of Pharmacy
www.pharmacy.mt.gov
301 South Park, 4th Floor
P.O. Box 200513
Helena, MT 59620-0513
Fax: (406) 841-2305
E-mail: dlibsdpha@mt.gov

Nebraska

As life expectancy and the need for prescription medication increases, the demands for pharmacy technicians and similar positions will hit higher than average rates. The U.S. Department of Labor has already projected that employment opportunities for pharmacy technicians will grow faster than the average for all occupations. The projections represent good news for individuals who are searching for careers that are in demand now and will remain that way for years to come. According to data from the Occupational Outlook Handbook, the median wage for Nebraska’s pharmacy technicians is $13.18, which translates to an annual wage of $27,770. Certified Pharmacy Technicians earn wages that exceed the median wage, so while the Department of Health and Human Services does not require certification, there are benefits of taking the national PTCB exam.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in NE:

Nebraska Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

In 2007, Nebraska’s state adopted legislation requiring all pharmacy technicians employed with licensed facilities to register within 30 days of initial employment. The registration does not have to be issued within the 30-day period, but the individual must have proof of application. A single registration authorizes a pharmacy technician to work in multiple settings. To register, the individual must be at least 18 years old with a high school diploma. Crime and drug-related convictions could affect the applicant’s ability to obtain the DHHS’approval.

The pharmacy employer or facility should check with the Department to verify that the employer has submitted an application for registration. The Department processes applications in the order in which they’re received. Generally, applicants can expect a response within 4 to 6 weeks of submitting the completed application and all supporting documents. Once registered, pharmacy technicians must keep a copy of the wall certificate in the primary place of employment. Pharmacy technicians should also be familiar with the regulations governing their roles, including the pharmacist/technician ratio, roles and responsibilities, and name badge requirements.

All pharmacy technicians must renew their registration biennially to continue practicing pharmacy. Pharmacy interns functioning as pharmacy technicians do not need to submit another registration with the Department.

Age Requirement

The Department of Health and Human Services accepts registration requests from persons 18 years and older only.

Education Requirement

Pharmacy technicians applying for registration with the DHHS must be high school graduates or possess an equivalent degree of education recognized by the State Department of Education. The Department will accept proof of education in the form of:

  • A copy of the high school diploma
  • A copy of a GED certificate
  • A copy of an official high school transcript with the graduation date included.
  • A copy of a college diploma
  • A copy of a college transcript that indicates the date of high school graduation.

Other Requirements

The DHHS does not commission criminal background checks by default. However, pharmacy technicians must provide complete and truthful responses to questions regarding malpractice, criminal conduct, mental and physical health, and disciplinary actions. It is critical that you disclose all arrests, convictions, or charges even if they were dropped, pled down, dismissed, pardoned or settled through diversion. Failure to disclose this information will result in denial of your application for registration. Adverse events, such as criminal convictions, does not mean automatic disqualification for licensure.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Nebraska’s pharmacy technician training providers offer students the opportunity to learn the principles of pharmacy practice through classroom instruction and hands-on learning in multiple clinical settings. Accredited programs, such as the one at Southeast Community College, emphasize the principles, skills, knowledge, and attitudes program graduates need to work as efficient members of the pharmacy care team. The course curriculum includes topics such as anatomy and physiology, pharmacy calculations, pharmacy operations, pharmacy law and ethics, pharmacology, brand name and generic drugs.

After completing the classroom instruction, students must participate in a hands-on clinical experience under the close supervision of licensed pharmacists. During the practical experience, students use calculations to prepare and dispense medications, use pharmacy equipment to fill prescriptions, practice medical ethics, respond to patient questions, practice data entry, perform inventory, and label medications under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist.

Pharmacies and other facilities that employ pharmacy technicians also conduct training to prepare pharmacy technicians for their role. The course content is similar to the curriculum at formal institutions, although employer-trained technicians may begin practical training from the onset.

Duration and Cost

The average cost of the South Community College ASHP-accredited program is $4,789 for tuition only. All other fees for books, parking, uniform, course materials, transport to and from the clinical rotation, and other related costs are the students’ responsibility. Many schools require students to complete a criminal background check, obtain a health statement, including TB and flu shot, present current CPR certification and register with the DHHS before the clinical rotation begins. All these requirements have associated costs for which students should be prepared.

Considering the cost of tuition and related costs, pharmacy technician students in Nebraska can spend up to $5,650 for a 12-month program. Financial aid may be available to qualifying students. Due, in part, to high training costs and the scarcity of accredited institutions offering pharmacy technician training, many pharmacy technician hopefuls opt for employer-based training, which offers a fast-track and affordable way to begin a rewarding career.

National Exams

Since pharmacy technicians require a very specific set of skills and a broad knowledge of medication and its effects, they must undergo intensive training to prepare for their role on the job. The DHHS requirements do not include certification for Nebraska’s pharmacy technicians. However, approximately 30% of the state’s technicians take the PTCB exam and earn higher wages and the respect and confidence of their pharmacist supervisors. PTCB certification also makes it easier for pharmacy technicians to move from one employer to another or to transfer from Nebraska to other states.

The PTCB is the older of the two recognized certification agencies in the United States. The Board adheres to strict guidelines for certification and maintaining certification. Pharmacy technicians must be 18 years or older and possess a high school diploma when submitting an application request. Other requirements include criminal background clearance and agreement with the Board’s guidelines. Formal pharmacy technician training is currently not a requirement, but that will change by the year 2020.

After submitting the online application and the supporting documents, the candidate will receive authorization to schedule a convenient test date at a PearsonVue testing center in Nebraska. The computerized test contains 90 multiple-choice questions, which candidates must complete in 2 hours. Successful candidates can use the CPhT designation for two years and apply for renewal to maintain certification. The registration fee is $129 and $40 for renewal.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Nebraska law requires pharmacy technicians to register with the Licensure Unit of the Department of Health and Human Services within 30 days of beginning employment at a pharmacy or facility. The individual must be at least 18 years of age, a high graduate or equivalent, and have no criminal or drug-related misdemeanor or felony convictions to file an application with the Department.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

The application form is available on the Department’s website. Currently, there is no option for online registration. Pharmacy technicians must print the application form, complete all fields, and submit the completed form, the application fee, and the supporting documents listed below:

  • The completed application form, including the attestation.
  • The application fee of $25; paid using a check or money order made out to the DHHS Licensure Unit.
  • Proof of age. Submit a copy of your current driver’s license, birth certification, state identification, or other appropriate government-issued ID.
  • Proof of education. Submit a copy of your high school diploma or official high school transcripts showing graduation date. The Department will also accept a copy of your college diploma as proof of education.
  • Proof of US citizenship or residency. US-born citizens should submit a copy of their birth certificate or passport. If submitting a government-issued birth certificate, it must have an official seal. Individuals with US residency should submit a copy of their Green Card or a document showing Alien Registration Number, Certificate of Citizenship, American Indian Card, Certificate of Naturalization, or similar document.
  • Submit a letter of explanation describing the event of circumstances pertaining to a “yes” response for any of the criminal history or drug-related questions on the application form. Include a letter from your probation officer if you’re on probation and copies of official court documents. Individuals with a history of mental health or drug abuse should provide proof of treatment and a discharge summary from the supervising doctor or therapist.
  • Mail the completed application and supporting documents to the address provided below.

Successful applicants will receive a 5”x7” wall registration document and wallet card upon initial registration. Pharmacy technicians should keep a copy of the wall registration at their primary place of employment. The wallet card should be on their persons at all times.

The Department reserves the right to deny registration to individuals who fail to meet the requirements due to removal from another state’s registry, disciplinary actions, misdemeanors or felonies, or for violation of the Department’s statutes or regulations that govern pharmacy technicians.

Renewal

Pharmacy technician registrations renew biennially, expiring biennially on January 1 of odd-numbered years. The Department will send a renewal notice at least 30 days before the registration expiry date. Pharmacy technicians must attest to not having misdemeanors, felony convictions related to drugs or other criminal convictions at the time of renewal. Individuals with convictions must submit supporting documentation. The Department may deny renewal to individuals with felony convictions and update the registry to reflect the convictions and disciplinary actions taken against the individual.

Take note of the following points:

  • The renewal fee is $25
  • Individuals who renew after the January deadline within 30 days must pay a $25 late fee in addition to the renewal fee.
  • Individuals renewing up to one year after the registration expiry must use the reinstatement application and pay a $35 late fee in addition to the $25 renewal fee.
  • Individuals renewing more than one year after the registration expiration date must pay a $75 late fee.
  • Pharmacy technicians must use the change of name form to update their names and contact the Department to advise of any changes to their mailing address.

Transfer

Out-of-state pharmacy technicians should submit an application for pharmacy technician registration within 30 days of commencing employment in Nebraska.

Contact the Department:
DHHS, Division of Public Health
Licensure Unit, RPQI
PO Box 95026
Lincoln, NE 68509-5026
Phone: (402) 471-6515
Email: monica.gissler@nebraska.gov

Nevada

To work as a pharmacy technician in the state of Nevada, registration is required with the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy. Two types of registrations are available: Pharmaceutical Technician and Pharmaceutical Technician In Training.

To apply for registration as a trainee, fully complete and submit the Pharmaceutical Technician in Training application together with a fee of $40. To register as a Pharmacy Technician, complete and submit the Pharmaceutical Technician Application along with the fee of $40. This application requires a copy submission of one of the following: certificate of completion from a pharmacy tech program that is Board-approved, current pharmacy technician registration with another state, or certificate from an ASHP accredited pharmacy tech program.

Renewal of registration is required by October 31st of each even-numbered year for either type of registration

Basic Pharmacy Technician Requirements in Nevada

The following are the minimum requirements for registering as a Pharmaceutical Technician:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Have a high school diploma or a GED
  • Must not have been convicted of any misdemeanor or felony regarding moral turpitude, dishonesty, or drugs
  • Must have no history of drug abuse
  • Must meet one of the following training requirements:
    • Successful completion of a pharmacy tech training program that is Board-approved
    • Be currently registered as a pharmacy technician in another state if that state has equivalent requirements. If the state does not regulate pharmacy technicians, they must show proof of at least 1,500 hours of pharmacy experience over the preceding 3 years, successful completion of at least 350 hours working in a Nevada pharmacy, and a written statement to the Board from the pharmacist in charge stating that you demonstrated the competence to perform effectively
    • Successful completion of at least 1,500 hours as a pharmaceutical technician in training
    • Successful completion of a training program for pharmacy technicians given by a branch of the Armed Forces of the US
    • Certified by either the PTCB or ICPT – if you have completed a pharmacy technician program in another state and that program is accredited or approved by the proper authorities in that state

The following are the minimum requirements for registering as a Pharmaceutical Technician in Training:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Have a high school diploma or a GED
  • Must not have been convicted of any misdemeanor or felony regarding moral turpitude, dishonesty, or drugs
  • Must have no history of drug abuse
  • Must participate in training on the job to gain experience for employment as a pharmaceutical technician

Training Requirements

The state of Nevada sets forth that the pharmacist of the pharmacy provides training for techs employed. This training must have an initial training program at the start of employment and also a minimum of 12 hours of in-service training during the 2-year timeframe preceding registration renewal. The pharmacist must maintain a written record of the initial and ongoing training.

Pharmacy techs may also complete a training program that is accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). Programs that are accredited by the ASHP have shown that they meet the recommended requirements to help enable you to pass one of the national exams.  

All pharmacy technicians must obtain a minimum of 12 hours of continuing education (CE) prior to renewal of the license.

Certification Requirements

The state of Nevada recognizes national certification from the PTCB and the ICPT for pharmacy technicians.

Please consult Nevada’s Chapter 639 – Pharmacists and Pharmacy for more information regarding requirements for pharmacy technicians.

New Hampshire

New medications offering hope to those suffering from acute and chronic diseases make their debut on the market daily. The onslaught of new medications along with an increase in the number of middle-aged and senior persons requiring prescription drugs drive the demands for qualified pharmacy workers across the nation. According to the Department of Labor, there will be approximately 1,652 jobs for pharmacy technicians in New Hampshire by the year 2020. The projected figure represents a 17.1 percent increase from the 1,411 jobs in 2010. At the higher end, experienced and certified New Hampshire pharmacy technicians earn $15.57 per hour while new technicians can expect to earn $10.46. The New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy governs the practice of pharmacy within the states, outlining the training, certification, and roles and responsibilities of both Registered and Certified Pharmacy Technicians to ensure public safety.

New Hampshire Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Any person who assists in performing manipulative and nondiscretionary pharmacy functions under a pharmacist’s supervision must register with the Board of Pharmacy. New technicians should register within 15 days of employment after completing 80 hours of initial training. Candidates must also meet the other requirements for registration:

  • Be 16 years or older
  • Possess a high school diploma or equivalent or working to complete high school or equivalent
  • Have a good moral character
  • No drug-related felonies

An applicant who has not completed the 80-hour training requirement can submit a letter from a supervising pharmacist with the application. The letter must indicate a date for completing the training.

Registered pharmacy technicians can register as a certified pharmacy technician after completing a minimum of 600 hours of training under a licensed pharmacist and passing a nationally recognized certification exam. Pharmacy technicians bearing the “certified” status with the Board, can only perform duties as a certified pharmacy technician as long the certification is current and in good standing. The technician must notify the pharmacist in charge and the Board within 15 days of a lapse in certification. Thereafter, the Board will assign the individual a “registered” status.

Registered and certified pharmacy technicians must renew their applications annually, report changes in their names and address, and perform only those duties that are in line with the Board’s regulations governing pharmacy technicians.

Age Requirement

The New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy accepts registration requests from persons 16 years and older only.

Education Requirement

All Registered and Certified Pharmacy Technicians must be high school graduates or have equivalent education. Applicants for Registered Pharmacy Technician status who are completing the requirements for high school graduation should present proof of their enrollment. The Board will accept an official letter from the institution specifying the intended date of graduation/completion of the equivalent education.

High school graduates can present a copy of their diploma, transcript with graduation date, GED certificate, or college transcript with a clear high school graduation date.

Other Requirements

The New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy may conduct a criminal history check at its discretion. A criminal background check is not a mandatory part of the registration process. However, applicants are expected to process complete and truthful responses to the “Charges, Convictions, and Disciplinary Actions” segment of the application form and attest to the accuracy of all answers. Individuals with prior convictions or disciplinary actions must explain each “yes” answer on a separate sheet of paper and provide copies of legal/court documents with the application for registration. While convictions do not always lead to disqualification for registration, they can delay the process and may often require further information and an interview with a representative from the Board.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Comprehensive training programs prepare students to enter the medical industry as pharmacy technicians and take the PTCB or ICPT national certification exam. Employer-based training outnumbers training at colleges, vocational schools, universities, and other institutions. The New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy requires pharmacy technicians to complete 80 hours of training under a licensed pharmacy after hire. Registered Pharmacy Technicians must complete another 600 hours of training as a requirement for certificate registration.

Formal institutions and pharmacist-trainers cover all aspects of pharmacy practice, including drug compounding, dosage calculations, pharmacy medical terminology, I.V. flow rates, dose conversions, reading and interpreting prescriptions, and identifying generic and brand name drugs. Students also learn the evolving role of pharmacy technicians, how to fill prescriptions, how to manage inventory, billing, and patient profiles.

Requirements for hire/entry into training depends on employers and training providers. Standard requirements include a high school diploma, criminal background investigation/check. TB testing, drug screen, immunization, and a physical exam. Students must register with the Board of Pharmacy 15 days after commencing in-house training at state-licensed pharmacies.

Duration and Cost

More than 80 percent of New Hampshire’s pharmacy technicians obtain their knowledge, skills, and competency on the job, learning all they need under the direction of capable pharmacists. The on-the-job training has numerous benefits, which makes it an attractive option for many new technicians. At an average rate of 3,450 for tuition plus other expenses, many students can save money while securing superior training in community and hospital pharmacies. Employers may cover tuition, textbooks, course materials, uniform, and state registration. Students work in the pharmacies full-time or part-time while they train, so it gives them a chance to earn while they learn.

National Exams

Pharmacy technicians work intimately with pharmacists to help facilitate the increasing demands for pharmaceutical products. With proper training, pharmacy technicians can work directly with the public and members of the pharmacy care team. National certification is the standard by which state boards and pharmacy employers make an initial judgment on pharmacy technicians’ competency. Certified Pharmacy Technicians (CPhTs) under the prescription process, body functions, pharmacy law, and ethics, and they have the confidence to process medication requests efficiently and meticulously.

Pharmacy technicians with “certified” registration with the Board obtain their certification after taking a national exam with the PTCB or ICPT. Both certifying agencies require applicants to be 18 years or older, possess a high school diploma, and pass a criminal background. Both agencies also have policies that members must adhere to. Applicants for ICPT certification must have formal training from an accredited training provider or 12 months of pharmacy employment. The PTCB does not currently have training requirements for members, but the requirements related to pharmacy technician training will go into effect by 2020.

Two-year registration with the PTCB is $129. To begin the process, you must submit an online application and the Board will verify your credentials and authorize testing at a Pearson Vue center in New Hampshire or other convenient location. The two-hour exam contains 90 multiple choice questions that cover six primary aspects of pharmacy practice. Successful candidates will receive a certificate and can carry the CPhT designation. The fee for PTCB renewal is $40.

The ICPT’s certification fee is $105. Like the PTCE, the ExCPT is a multiple-choice, 2-hour exam. However, the exam contains 110-multiple choice questions. After submitting an application to the Association, candidates can schedule a convenient time to take the exam at a LaserGrade/LSI center of their choosing.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

New Hampshire law requires pharmacy technicians to register with the Licensure Unit of the Department of Health and Human Services within 30 days of beginning employment at a pharmacy or facility. The individual must be at least 18 years of age, a high graduate or equivalent, and have no criminal or drug-related misdemeanor or felony convictions to file an application with the Department.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

New Hampshire’s Pharmacy technicians may register as a “Registered Pharmacy Technician” or as a “Certified Pharmacy Technician” after completing a national certification exam. The “Registered” status is granted to individuals 16 years or older, who are high school graduates, have a good moral character, and completed the prerequisite 80 hours of training. Pharmacy technicians must apply for registration within fifteen days of initial hire.

  • Secure the application form on the Board’s website and respond to all questions.
  • Enclose the $50 application fee using a check or money order made out to the Treasurer, The State of New Hampshire.
  • Provide copies of your high school diploma or GED.
  • Include a copy of a government-issued ID and social security card.
  • Applicants for “Certified” status should include proof of relevant certification from the PTCB, ICPT, or ASHP.
  • A pharmacist-in-charge should complete the statement on the first page of the application if applying for certified status.
  • Applicants for “registered” status should obtain a letter from a pharmacist-in-charge requesting time to complete the prerequisite 80 hours of training – only if they did not complete the training hours.

Note: Applicants for “certified” status must complete at least 600 hours of training in addition to successfully passing a national exam.

The Board will issue a registration certificate to each successful applicant. A copy of the certificate must be posted in the prescription department at the pharmacy technician’s place of employment. The approximate time for processing applications is 2 weeks.

Renewal

All pharmacy technician registrations expire on March 31 annually. Both the pharmacy technician and the pharmacist-in-charge must complete the Board-provided renewal form. Certified pharmacy technicians must complete the continuing education units before the renewal date. The renewal fee for each 1-year registration is $50. Pharmacy technicians must maintain accurate information with the Board, making sure to notify the department when their name or address changes.

Transfer

New Hampshire does not make provision for transferring out-of-state pharmacy technicians. Therefore, an individual registered in another state should obtain employment in New Hampshire and file a request for registration within 15 days of commencing employment.

Contact the Department:
State of New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, NH 03301-2412
(603) 271-2350
Fax: (603) 271-2856
pharmacy.board@nh.gov

New Jersey

The state of New Jersey requires registration with the New Jersey Board of Pharmacy to work as a pharmacy technician.

To apply for registration, fully complete and submit the online Pharmacy Technician Registration Form together with the application fee of $35.

Renewal of registration is required by March 31st each year with the fee of $25.

Basic Pharmacy Technician Requirements in New Jersey

The following are the minimum requirements for registration:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Have a high school diploma or a GED
  • Must be of good moral character
  • Have passed a national pharmacy technician examination OR completing a Board-approved pharmacy technician training program

Training Requirements

The state of New Jersey sets forth that the pharmacies that employ pharmacy technicians ensure passage of one of the national pharmacy technician exams or completes a Board-approved training program.

If you are considering attending a formal pharmacy technician training program, consider one that is accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).

Programs that are accredited by the ASHP have shown that they meet the recommended requirements to help enable you to pass one of the national exams.  

Certification Requirements

The state of New Jersey recognizes national certification from the PTCB and the ICPT for pharmacy technicians.

Please consult the New Jersey Board of Pharmacy Laws for more information regarding requirements for pharmacy technicians.

New Mexico

Pharmacy technicians support licensed pharmacists by providing education, information, and other healthcare solutions to patients. They perform the basic tasks to prepare prescription requests, such as calculating dosages, counting tablets, labeling containers, and dispensing the prescription after the pharmacist reviews the order. Pharmacy technicians must adhere to a pharmacist’s directive. However, the role calls for a lot of independent work. They manage inventory, answer the telephone, maintain patient records, and perform other clerical duties. Due to the critical nature of the work pharmacy technicians perform, the New Mexico Board of Pharmacy requires individuals to register before practicing pharmacy. The requirements for training and certification also help technicians acquire the knowledge, precision, skills, and competency to complete their tasks with accuracy and consciousness of public health.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in NM:

New Mexico Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Any individual who assists a pharmacist with the preparation and distribution of medication in New Mexico must first obtain the Board of Pharmacy’s approval by submitting an application for registration along with the appropriate fees. All technicians in New Mexico must obtain certification by completion of the requirements outlined by the PTCB or ICPT. However, the Board issues non-certified registrations for persons pursuing pharmacy technician training and certification. The non-certified registration is valid for one year; non-certified license holders must complete the requirements for certified registration within the allocated time or discontinue the provision of pharmacy services at state-licensed facilities.

To receive the Board’s approval for registration, applicants must submit the name of the training sponsor along with the application. The training sponsor, usually a pharmacist-in-charge, will ensure the technician receives appropriate and ongoing training and registration to execute the roles and responsibilities of the job. The training sponsor will ensure technicians learn federal and state laws that govern the practice of pharmacy, ethics, medical and pharmaceutical terminology, dosage forms, and other essential topics. The training sponsor must maintain a record of the technician’s training and education in the pharmacy and ensure all technician employees comply with state laws.

Pharmacy technicians must operate within the confines of the regulations and wear proper identification at all times while serving the public. Certified pharmacy technicians must renew their registrations biennially to continue practicing pharmacy.

Age Requirement

The New Mexico Board of Pharmacy requires applicants for registration to be 18 years or older.

Education Requirement

There are no high school or college degree requirements specified by state regulations. However, all technicians must pursue national certification to bear the CPhT designation, which requires them to possess a high school diploma or GED equivalent. Therefore, the Board, through the requirements for certification, expects candidates to fulfill the minimum education requirements outlined by the PTCB and ICPT.

A pharmacist-in-charge must ensure all employees complete initial pharmacy technician training and document the contents of the in-house training as required by the Board. Pharmacy technicians must keep records of their training when changing employment.

Other Requirements

A background check is not a requirement for registration. However, the Board reserves the right to conduct criminal background checks on any applicant. Additionally, all individuals applying for registration must supply their signatures on the application after the statement attesting to no arrests, charges or investigations for a criminal offense in the state or another territory in the United States. Providing false information could lead to denial of licensure or renewal or revocation of an issued license. The Board may also administer disciplinary actions to persons who supply false information on the application for registration.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Pharmacy technician training prepares students for employment in this growing occupation. Both formal and employer-sponsored training combines classroom instruction with practical experience to produce well-rounded graduates. Training may cover more than 400 hours of didactic, hands-on, and practical training in the pharmacy setting. After completing the training, students will have the tools they need to succeed on the PTCB or ICPT exam.

The course content at New Mexico’s sole ASHP accredited training provider consists of 600 hours of classroom and lab instruction followed by practical training in two pharmacy settings; a retail and hospital pharmacy. The course topics include anatomy and physiology, medical terminology, drug classifications, law and ethics, pharmacology, pharmacy calculations, and alternative medicine. Other topics include aseptic techniques, repackaging and compounding, processing prescriptions, OTC medications, billing, stock, and computing.

Employer-sponsored training is a primary source of training for New Mexico’s pharmacy technicians. In accordance with the Board’s requirements, applicants for non-certified registration must submit a training record completed and signed by a training sponsor. The sponsor, usually the pharmacist-in-charge, must document and keep records of technician training. In-house training should cover:

  • Federal and state laws and regulations
  • Ethics and professional standards
  • Pharmaceutical calculations
  • Manufacturing, packaging, labeling, and storage of medications
  • Pharmacology
  • Trade and generic names for common drugs
  • Dosage forms and routes of administration.

Upon completion of training, pharmacy technicians can take the national exam to register as Certified Pharmacy Technicians with the Board of Pharmacy.

Duration and Cost

Pharmacy technicians who acquire their training on the job do not have the burden of tuition, registration, textbooks, and other expenses associated with traditional training. The best part of employer-sponsored training is that students earn while they learn and meet the Board’s requirements for training and continuing education. The expense requirements depend on the employer; some employers will sponsor everything from the textbooks, workbook, uniform, and state registration while others may require students to pay for registration and other miscellaneous costs. The duration of the training also depends on the pharmacist and could vary from 6 months to 1 year. Technicians must fulfill the Board’s requirements for training and certification within one year of their initial licensing.

National Exams

The PTCB and ICPT both offer national exams that lead to CPhT certification. Fortunately, for New Mexico residents, the state Pharmacy Board accepts certification from both organizations, so it’s left for technicians to determine their preferred agency.

The PTCB is a widely recognized and endorsed organization and has been around longer than the ICPT. However, there is no evidence to suggest that one exam is better than the other.

The Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) offers the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE). For many years, it was the only certifying exam available for pharmacy technicians. Candidates for the PTCE must submit their requests online along with accompanying documents to verify age and completion of high school or equivalent education. The PTCB may also require applicants to perform a criminal history check before authorizing the candidate to take the certifying exam. By the year 2020, the PTCB will require candidates to complete formal pharmacy technician training as a prerequisite to certification.

The PTCE is two hours long and contains 90 multiple-choice questions; 80 questions count towards the final score. Upon successful completion of the exam, technicians will receive a certificate and authorization to use the CPhT designation. The cost for PTCB certification is $129 for initial registration and $40 for renewal every two years.

The Examination for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians (ExCPT) is the second option for acquiring certification as a pharmacy technician. The exam, established by the Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians (ICPT), was initially only accepted by a few states. In a few short years, more than 30 state boards recognize the exam. Individuals desiring ICPT certification must be 18 years or older with a high school diploma or equivalent education. The ICPT may also conduct a criminal background check and request proof of formal pharmacy technician training or evidence of at least 12 months of pharmacy technician employment. The exam is a two-hour exam comprising of 110 multiple-choice questions. The registration fee is $105 for two years. Technicians must renew biennially at a cost of $40 to maintain certification.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

The New Mexico Board of Pharmacy regulates licensing of pharmacy technicians. According to the Board’s regulations stipulated in “regulation part 22,” no individual shall perform the duties of a pharmacy technician without proper registration from the Board. Students and newly hired individuals must register as non-certified or certified (after completing the PTCB or ICPT requirements for certification) pharmacy technicians before practicing pharmacy. Non-certified pharmacy technicians must complete the requirements for registration as Certified Pharmacy Technicians within one year of the original registration.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

New Hampshire’s Pharmacy technicians may register as a “Non-certified Pharmacy Technician” or as a “Certified Pharmacy Technician” after completing a national certification exam and Board-approved training.

  • The application for initial registration is available for download online.
  • The registration fee is $30 for both non-certified and certified technician applications. The check or money order should be payable to the New Mexico Board of Pharmacy.
  • Applicants must provide their social security on the form and a copy of a state ID.
  • Non-certified technicians must complete the technician training record (included with the application) signed by the Pharmacy Technician Training Sponsor.
  • Certified pharmacy technicians must include a copy of their current certification from the PTCB or ICPT.
  • All applicants must sign the application attesting to no arrests, convictions or disciplinary actions. Individuals with convictions or disciplinary actions should include supporting documents with the completed application.

After receiving the completed application, fees, and required documents, the Board will process the request within 5 to 10 days. Applicants may not work as pharmacy technicians until the Board confirms the approval. Non-certified pharmacy technicians must discontinue pharmacy technician duties if they fail to pass the national certification exam within the first year. All technicians must notify the Board when changing/leaving the employment of a pharmacy or clinic.

Renewal

The registration of certified pharmacy technicians expires biennially on the last day of the technician’s birth month. Non-certified technicians’ registration is not renewable. Following are the requirements for renewal in New Mexico:

  • Use the online renewal portal after the Board sends the renewal notification package or simply download the renewal form and mail it to the Board of Pharmacy address provided below.
  • The Board requires 5 to 10 days to process renewal requests, so mail your application early. The fee for late renewal is $7.50.
  • Enclose the $30 renewal fee using a check or money order payable to the New Mexico Board of Pharmacy.
  • Attach a copy of your current certification.
  • Include your social security number and sign the form, attesting to no convictions and disciplinary actions.
  • Use the Change Reporting Form to notify the Board of changes in your name, address or employment.

Transfer

There is no reciprocity of technician registration in New Mexico. Pharmacy technicians, registered in other states must re-train in order to work as pharmacy technicians. The Technician Training Sponsor will document and provide verification of training to the Board, which must be submitted with an application for registration.

Contact the Department:
New Mexico Board of Pharmacy Offices
5200 Oakland NE Suite A
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87113
Phone: (505) 222-9830
Fax: (505) 222-9845

New York

New York State does not require registration to work as a pharmacy technician. The New York Division of Professional Licensing Services does not provide regulation for pharmacy techs, therefore there are no requirements in New York to work as a pharmacy technician.

Basic Pharmacy Technician Requirements in New York

While the state does not require registration or licensing of pharmacy technicians, you should meet at least the following criteria:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Have a high school diploma or a GED
  • Must be of good moral character
  • Pass a criminal background check
  • Completed a pharmacy technician program accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists

Training Requirements

As New York does not regulate the pharmacy technician career field, your best option is to attend a pharmacy tech program that is accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). Training programs that are accredited by the ASHP have shown that they meet the recommended requirements as deemed by the national certification programs from both the PTCB and the NHA.

Certification Requirements

National certification is not required in New York.

North Carolina

Pharmacy technicians are allied health professionals who perform various duties related to the preparation and dispensation of drugs under the direct supervision of a registered pharmacist. Training programs, approved by North Carolina’s Board of Pharmacy, teach students how to interpret a physician’s prescription, fill orders for pharmacists’ review, and deliver the final order to the customer. They also learn how to prepare admixtures of intravenous solutions, process insurance forms, maintain patient profiles, replenish drugs and perform clerical duties. As community and hospital pharmacies in North Carolina expand their services to meet increasing public demands, there will be a greater need for competent technical support that only a pharmacy technician can deliver. Certified pharmacy technicians have the skills and abilities to meet this need and will realize excellent employment opportunities in hospitals, nursing homes, retail drugstores, research labs, and home health care agencies.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in NC:

North Carolina Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

In order to work as a pharmacy technician in North Carolina, the law requires individuals to register with the Board of Pharmacy. The requirement for registration excludes students enrolled in technician training programs who spend time at designated pharmacies as part of their education program. Therefore, the rule applies only to students who are present in the pharmacy for educational purposes only – students must be enrolled in a Board-approved program. The students, when present, do not count towards the pharmacist: technician ratio. The Board could deny an application for registration from students who violate pharmacy laws while working as a technician.

Applicants for registration should present the following to the Board:

  • A copy of their high school diploma or equivalent. Those currently attending high school can also apply.
  • Evidence of employment at a state-licensed pharmacy.
  • Evidence of completion of a Board-approved pharmacy technician training program.

Board approved programs are those accredited by the ASHP. Pharmacy technicians who are certified by the PTCB can skip the above requirements and apply for registration.

Once registered, pharmacy technicians must abide by the state’s pharmacy laws and renew their registration annually to comply with the Board’s requirements. Pharmacists and employers should verify a prospective employee’s status with the registry before extending an offer of employment.

Age Requirement

Individuals 18 years and older can register as a pharmacy technician in North Carolina.

Education Requirement

A pharmacy technician must provide evidence of high school completion as a requirement for registration. Individuals enrolled in high school or similar program must provide an official letter confirming their current status.

Other Requirements

A criminal background check is not a mandatory step in the registration process. However, applicants should have a good moral character, free from criminal convictions and drug and alcohol abuse. Applicants with convictions or disciplinary actions should provide supporting documents and a written statement to the Board. While the Board does not conduct background checks by default, pharmacy technicians applying for PTCB certification will need to pass a criminal background check.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Accredited pharmacy technician training programs prepare students to function as pharmacy technicians under the supervision of licensed pharmacists. Pharmacy technicians are an integral member of the pharmacy staff. A competent technician, trained in all aspects of the pharmacy, will give pharmacists the freedom to focus on the critical aspects of pharmacy administration and customer care.

Through a combination of didactic, laboratory practice, and clinical experiences, students develop a knowledge of their roles and responsibilities and understand the importance of safe and efficient delivery of pharmacy products. Classroom topics cover areas, such as microbiology, pharmacy ethics and law, pharmaceutical terminology, dosage calculations, names of generic and brand name drugs, and inventory control. Students also learn compounding procedures, drug procurement, and packaging and labeling.

A clinical component of most programs takes place at a community or hospital pharmacy where students work under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist. The externship is crucial to students’ eventual success on the job as it gives them the opportunity to apply their classroom learning in a real-world setting. Pharmacy employers also get the opportunity to evaluate students’ skills before hiring them to work in the pharmacy.

There are twelve ASHP accredited training programs in North Carolina, and many accredited by other recognized agencies. Colleges, universities, and vocational schools may have stringent enrollment policies, which might require students to possess a high school diploma, get immunized and pass a criminal background check. Graduates will be eligible for state registration and can also take the PTCB exam with confidence.

Duration and Cost

North Carolina residents pay an average of $4,600 for pharmacy technician diploma programs at the state’s colleges and universities. Shorter certificate programs are also available at community Colleges, such as Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, where tuition is approximately $300. Shorter certificate programs may not fulfill the Board’s requirements for training. However, you can use the program to prepare for the national certification exam to qualify for registration as a North Carolina pharmacy technician. Apart from tuition, students should budget for other expenses such as textbooks, workbooks, course materials, uniform, background check, drug screen, TB test, and immunization. Financial aid may be available for qualifying students.

Employer-sponsored programs may be an option for a few individuals as pharmacy supervisors train new employees. However, as pharmacists face increasing responsibilities, training new employees may not be an option. This lack of time and resources is one reason so many pharmacy employers hire trained and certified individuals.

The duration of pharmacy technician training programs depends on the schedule, contact hours, and course content. Students can complete training in as little as 4 weeks or as long as 12 months.

National Exams

The North Carolina Board of Pharmacy recognizes the PTCB certification only. While certification is not mandatory for registration, it gives pharmacy technicians a distinct advantage over non-certified technicians. The PTCB evaluates individuals’ work readiness, testing their knowledge of pharmacy laws, procedures, and public safety.

The agency has over 555,700 certified pharmacy technicians who provide safe and effective services at pharmacies across the nation. Applicants for registration must have a high school diploma or equivalent (or foreign equivalent) and no felony convictions. They must also agree to the Board’s policies before taking the exam.

Once the applicant submits the request for examination online and pays the $129 fee, the Board will review the application and notify the candidate once approved. The applicant can then schedule a test date that’s most convenient at any Pearson Vue testing center in North Carolina.

After completing the two-hour exam, successful candidates can use the CPhT designation, which is valid for two years. In order to maintain the certification, CPhTs must complete the continuing education requirements and submit $40 with a request for renewal.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Pharmacy technicians must register with the Board within 30 days of beginning employment at a licensed pharmacy. North Carolina’s pharmacy technicians can pursue certification by choice since it’s not a requirement for registration. The Board recognizes PTCB certification and allows Certified Pharmacy Technicians to bypass the basic requirements for registration. Applicants for registration must be at least 18 years old.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

West Virginia’s Board of Pharmacy no longer accepts checks. Applicants must use the online portal to submit the application for registration and pay using a Visa, MasterCard, or DiscoverCard.

  • Fill out the online registration form.
  • Answer all questions, making sure to provide accurate information.
  • Upload a 2 x 2 digital photo.
  • Submit the application and pay the $30 non-refundable application fee.
  • Mail any supporting documents to the address provided below.

The Board requires 2 to 4 weeks to process the application. Criminal convictions and disciplinary actions could delay the process.

Renewal

After the initial registration, pharmacy technicians must renew their licenses yearly. The renewal period begins on November 1 and ends on December 31 every year. Pharmacy technicians who do not renew by December 31 will have a grace period of 60 days to renew their licenses – the grace period extends to March 1 of the following year. In addition to the grace period, the Board allows another 30 days wherein technicians can renew after paying a penalty. Those renewing later than this period must apply to reinstate the license.

Pharmacy technicians must use the online renewal form since the Board will not accept paper submissions. Following are the steps for renewal.

  • Use the Technician Login to log into your account using your license number and pin.
  • Submit the renewal form and pay the $30 fee using your Visa, MasterCard, or DiscoverCard.
  • Change your name/address if they need changing.
  • Print your receipt and updated certificate.

Transfer

North Carolina’s Board of Pharmacy does not practice reciprocity with other states. Pharmacy technicians who are registered in another state must use the new registration online form to submit a request to the Board.

Contact the Board:

North Carolina Board of Pharmacy
6015 Farrington Road
Suite 201
Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27517

Phone: 919.246.1050
Fax: 919.246.1056

North Dakota

Pharmacy technicians assist licensed pharmacists with the provision of medication and other pharmaceutical products to patients. They also perform other routine tasks, such as labeling containers, counting tablets, and pouring, weighing, and mixing medications, according to prescription requests. Although they do not counsel patients, technicians must interact with patients over the phone and in-person as they compile patient profiles and verify prescriptions. After completing the prerequisite training, certification, and state licensure, pharmacy technicians can go on to practice in hospitals, clinics, and community pharmacies. The U.S. Department of Labor is reporting a sizeable jump in employment opportunities for pharmacy technicians and other health-related occupations. The positive trend means excellent job opportunities for all graduates of pharmacy technician programs.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in ND:

North Dakota Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

All pharmacy technicians and technicians in training must register with the North Dakota Board of Pharmacy before practicing at licensed facilities. To be eligible for registration, pharmacy technicians must complete an American Society of Health-System Pharmacists-accredited program and obtain certification from the PTCB. Technicians in training must complete the requirements for registration as a pharmacy technician within two years. Technician in training permits is not transferable. Therefore, the technician must submit another application if changing employers.

Once the Board issues the permit, technicians must renew annually on March 1st to continue practicing. It is the Board’s responsibility to provide an annual registration card and pocket identification card: Technicians must keep the wall certificate at their place of employment and the wallet card must be on their persons at all times. Pharmacy technicians must also wear a name badge that clearly identifies their position.

Pharmacists-in-charge must assign duties in accordance with state regulations. However, it is the pharmacy technician’s responsibility to review and understand the state regulations and work within the guidelines. Technicians, who step outside the boundaries, may face disciplinary actions or revocation of their license to practice. All certified technicians must maintain their certification with the PTCB and complete the state’s continuing education units to qualify for renewal.

Age Requirement

The North Dakota Board of Pharmacy accepts registration for licensure from individuals 18 years and older.

Education Requirement

A high school diploma or GED equivalent is necessary to register for licensure. Although the Board does not require applicants to submit documentation, it is necessary to have all documents on file in case of a state audit. Pharmacy employers will verify proof of prior education. Similarly, the PTCB will verify candidates’ prior education before granting authorization to take the certifying exam.

Other Requirements

The Board will determine other requirements for registration at their discretion. For instance, a criminal history check is not an automatic part of the registration process. However, the Board may commission a criminal history check and a candidate interview based on the responses to the criminal history/disciplinary action questions on the application. Pharmacy technicians must have a good moral character. An individual with a criminal past is not exempt from registration but must provide details of the conviction for the Board to make a decision.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Technicians must pass the PTCB exam and gain registration with the North Dakota Board of Pharmacy to practice within the state. The state board specifically requires pharmacy technicians to complete an ASHP accredited program as a requirement for certification. Currently, there are two such programs in the state: The North Dakota State College of Science and Turtle Mountain Community College. Both programs prepare students for success on the national certification exam.

The comprehensive training maybe 350 to 600 contact hours long, comprising of the classroom, hands-on-lab, and clinical instruction. The course content includes pharmacy medical terminology, I.V. flow rates, dose conversions, reading and interpreting prescriptions, generic and brand name drugs, anatomy, and physiology. Students will also learn drug compounding, dispensing prescriptions, billing and reimbursement, inventory control, customer service, pharmacy law, and ethics.

Students may attend part-time or full-time as their schedules and finances allow. Most programs require students to have a high school diploma or GED equivalent and proficiency in English, math, and reading. Other requirements include a criminal background check, physical exam, drug screening, TB test, and immunization.

Duration and Cost

The program length and cost vary, so it’s important to check with your college of choice for specific details and to ensure it’s the right fit for your goals. The average cost of tuition at ASHP accredited programs is $147 per credit, which translates to approximately $6174 for tuition plus extra for special fees, administrative fees, books, and other supplies.

National Exams

North Dakota is one of several states where pharmacy technicians must register and obtain PTCB certification. After passing the certification exam, technicians must recertify every two years and earn 20 hours of continuing education. North Dakota’s requirements for pharmacy technician certification give technicians an advantage over the non-certified technicians in other states. They earn higher salaries, obtain pharmacist confidence, and greater responsibilities in the pharmacy.

Applicants for PTCB certification must submit a request online and provide proof of age and high school graduation, and receive background clearance. There are no training requirements for certification, but that will change in 2020 when students will need to complete an accredited program to qualify for certification. The cost of registration is $129 and $40 for renewal every two years. The PTCB exam is a multiple-choice exam with 90 questions, which students must complete in two hours. Once the Board approves the applicant’s request, the candidate can take the exam at a Pearson Vue testing center in North Dakota.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

The North Dakota Board of Pharmacy defines a pharmacy technician as an individual registered by the Board, who assists with the technical services of preparing pharmaceuticals for dispensing. The pharmacy technician performs all technical services under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist.

A pharmacy technician in training, by the Board’s definition, may also perform technical services under a pharmacist’s direction. The technician in training registration is specific to persons enrolled in an academic training program.

Applicants for technician registration must be at least 18 years old with a high school diploma and PTCB certification.

Pharmacy Technician in Training Application:

Following are the guidelines for a technician in training registration:

  • Provide legible answers to all the questions on the technician in the training application.
  • Sign the document where indicated.
  • Enclose the registration fee of $10 using a check or money order.
  • Include a recent photo for identification – the photo should be 2 inches x 3 inches.
  • The application is not complete until you provide your social security number.
  • Provide details on the pharmacy of employment and the name of supervising pharmacist.

The Board will provide a Technician-in-Training Card once they approve the application. You must post a copy at your place of employment. The registration is non-transferable. Therefore, you’ll need to submit another application for registration if you change employment. The registration expires in one year, and the Board allows up to two years for completion of the program. The Board may grant an extension at its discretion. After completing the pharmacy technician training and PTCB certification, you must submit an application for registration as a Pharmacy Technician.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

Use the following guidelines to register as a pharmacy technician:

  • Provide legible and accurate answers to all the questions on the technician application form.
  • Sign the document where indicated.
  • Include a recent 2 inches x 3 inches photo.
  • Enclose the registration fee of $35 using a check or money order.
  • Attach copies of your PTCB certification and pharmacy technician training certificate.
  • List your current pharmacy of employment.

Note: The Board will only accept a copy of the official PTCB certificate as proof of completion. Submitting the results of your test is not an accepted form of completion. Pharmacy technicians must graduate from an ASHP accredited program. Graduates of other programs should contact the Board for a review of their credentials.

Renewal

Technician registrations are valid from March 1st to March 1st. Applications for renewal may be submitted online or using the renewal application form available on the Board’s website. Technicians in training licenses are valid for two years only and cannot be renewed after that period.

The steps for renewal are as follows:

  • Renew on time; all renewals should be completed before March 1st.
  • The renewal fee is $35.
  • Technicians in training must submit proof of completing an ASHP accredited training program and PTCB certification.
  • Pharmacy technicians must complete at least ten hours of approved pharmacy technician continuing education.
  • Pharmacy technicians must also maintain PTCB certification.

Transfer

Pharmacy technicians moving into North Dakota must comply with the following guidelines to register and practice within the state:

  • Provide verification of prior employment – Letters of reference, detailed job description, and verified work experience.
  • Official transcript of pharmacy technician training – for those who did not complete an ASHP accredited program.
  • Official transcript of any post-high school training.
  • Copy of PTCB certificate.
  • Once the Board reviews your credentials, you can submit an application for registration.

Contact the Board:

North Dakota State Board of Pharmacy
1906 East Broadway Ave
Bismarck, ND 58501-4700
Phone: (701) 328-9535
Fax: (701) 328-9536

Ohio

Pharmacy technicians assist pharmacists in the receipt, preparation, and dispensing of medication orders for patients. They also perform administrative functions within the pharmacy, such as maintaining stock levels, removing discontinued medications from circulation, updating patient records, answering the phone, responding to customer queries, and submitting insurance claims. The Ohio State Board of Pharmacy requires technicians to complete an approved training program that meets the guidelines for registration. Through nationally recognized Pharmacy Technician training programs, students receive skills and knowledge to qualify for entry-level positions in pharmacies as well as prepare for national certification as a Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT).  National certification is offered by two governing bodies, the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board and the National Healthcareer Association.

Ohio Pharmacy Technician License Requirement

Individuals who will be performing the duties of a pharmacy technician in Ohio must seek active registration from the Board of Pharmacy. Registration is a legal term that is equivalent to licensure. There are three registration categories (Certified Technician, Registered Technician, and Technician Trainee). Each candidate must determine the best option for registration based on his/her current training and education. Completion of a technician training program is an essential part of the registration process. There are several approved training options, including:

  • Completion of an employer-based training program in Ohio
  • Completion of a non-employer-based training program that meets one of the following requirements:
    • An American Society of Health-System Pharmacists/Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education accredited program. The Board will accept training from ASHP/ACPE accredited programs that are in candidate status
    • A pharmaceutical technician program conducted by a branch of the Armed Forces of the United States, the Indian Health Service of the United States Department of Health and Human Services, or the United States Department of Veteran Affairs
    • A Board of Pharmacy approved pharmacy technician training program conducted at an Ohio public high school as part of a career-technical education program
    • A Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) program if the applicant’s graduation date is within five years of an application for registration

The Board will issue a Certificate of Issuance within 15 business days of the submitted application.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in Ohio.

Education Requirement

The Ohio State Board of Pharmacy requires all applicants to have a high school diploma or GED equivalent. Candidates for registration must all complete an accredited pharmacy technician program or an employer-based pharmacy technician program.

Other Requirements

All prospective pharmacy technicians must complete a background check as part of the registration process. Candidates with prior convictions may not be eligible for registration. However, the Board reviews each case and makes a final determination based on factors such as the time elapsed, the severity of the conviction, evidence of rehabilitation, and compliance with the terms of parole. Specific crimes may result in outright denial of registration. These include driving under the influence (drugs or alcohol), possession of illegal drugs or prescription drugs without a prescription, possession or sale of illegal drugs, theft, and multiple arrests.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

One of the greatest benefits of pharmacy technician schools (as well as other allied health careers) is that there’s no need to invest years of time and money to get started. Apart from a high school diploma, there are no prerequisites for entry into most programs. The training typically includes dynamic experiences in the classroom as directed by experienced instructors who might have years or experience in the field themselves.

Practical experiences in modern labs facilitate hands-on learning, interaction, and simulations of real-challenges in preparation for the pharmacy externship. Members of faculty will provide lots of personalized training as they guide students through the process of receiving and dispensing orders and attending to day-to-day duties in the pharmacy. The pharmacy externship experience places students in the field to work alongside pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and other students to gain real-world experience. The externship provides an excellent opportunity to build resumes, the formation of professional contacts, connect with potential employers.

Pharmacy Technician classes cover multiple topics such as medical terminology, updating patient records, administrative duties, receiving and dispensing medications, customer service, inventory management, IV preparations, pharmacy billing systems, pharmacy calculations, and pharmacy terminology. Intensive preparation for the certification exam is a feature of most pharmacy technician programs. To become eligible to take the PTCB exam, completing a program that is accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Duration and Cost

Pharmacy technician programs may be as long as one year or as short as 4 months depended on the type of credential awarded. Certificate programs include all the foundational topics required for competent practice but are designed for fast entry into the workforce. They typically require a commitment of 4 to 6 months full-time and can be more than 12 months for part-time students. The pharmacy technician associate degree includes general education studies along with core pharmacy technician courses. It is ideal for those who intend to pursue further studies in healthcare although it is not necessary for routine practice in most pharmacy settings.

Training programs are offered at community colleges, vocational schools, adult education centers, and proprietary institutes of learning. In Ohio, there are no ASHP accredited employer-based training. However, it is possible to sit for the PTCB exam after completing at least 500 hours of practice in the field. Employer-based training is beneficial in that it provides hands-on, real-world experience from the very first day. Students might even earn a small stipend throughout the training and may qualify for immediate employment depending on their ability.

The average cost of certificate programs in Ohio is $2,700 for a comprehensive program that includes clinical externships, books, uniforms, and outside support. Degree programs at public colleges can cost slightly more. As expected, training at private institutions can be costly but may include all associated costs and extended externships at leading pharmacies. Financial aid is available for eligible students and will significantly reduce out of pocket costs.

National Exams

The Ohio State Board of Pharmacy does not require certification as a prerequisite to licensure. However, national certification through the PTCB or ExCPT will improve your job prospects. Employers today expect it from prospective employees and may even pay for current employees to complete certification. The Board will accept PTCB certification as in demonstration of your ability to function as a competent pharmacy technician.

The Pharmacy Technician Certification Board bestows the Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT) credential to successful candidates. Eligibility requirements include:

  • Completion of a PTCB recognized pharmacy technician training program or equivalent work experience (500 hours minimum)
  • Full disclosure of all criminal and State Board of Pharmacy registration or licensure actions
  • Meet all the applicable PTCB certification policies
  • Take and pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam
  • Pay the fee of $129

The preliminary scores presented upon completion of the exam provide an indication of your performance but are not official. The official scores will be published within two to three weeks following the exam. The PTCB will update your certification status (verifiable on the website) after this time. The certificate will be available to download on your PTCB dashboard if you pass the exam. The certification must be renewed every 2 years to maintain the credential. Recertification requires the completion of 20 hours of CE.

The ICPT designs and develops the ExCPT exam. To be eligible to take the ExCPT, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Have a high school diploma or GED
  • Must have a completed a training program or have at least 12 months of pharmacy-related experience – completed within 36 months of the application date
  • Take and pass the ExCPT exam
  • Pay the exam fee of $105

Pharmacy technician programs include preparation for success on the PTCB and ExCPT exams.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Anyone seeking to perform the duties of a pharmacy technician (trainees included) must seek registration from the Board of Pharmacy before performing those duties. The registration must be designated as active before the technician assumes practice. Ohio State recognizes three types of registration: Certified Pharmacy Technician, Registered Pharmacy Technician, and Pharmacy Technician Trainee. The category of registration that you choose will be based on your current experience and education.

Processing of applications for registrations can take up to 15 business days after the date of submission. The candidate must wait for the Certificate of Issuance notice and an Active status from the Board of Pharmacy.

Pharmacy Technician Trainee Application:

  • Create and sign in to your account at www.eLicense.ohio.gov
  • Select “New License Applications”
  • Select Board of Pharmacy then selects “Pharmacy Technician Trainee” from the drop-down box.
  • Select General Application from the third drop-down box
  • Complete the eligibility questions
  • Submit all required documentation including proof of background check.
  • Documents must be sent directly to the Board
  • Pay the non-refundable application fee of $25

Renewal

Renewal dates are determined by the category of registration.

Registered pharmacy technicians must renew their registration by March 31st of even-numbered years. The registration costs $50.

Certified pharmacy technicians must renew their registration by September 30th of even-numbered years. The registration renewal cost is $50.

Registered pharmacy technicians must complete continuing education units to maintain registration. They must complete 10 contact hours (1.0 CEU) of continuing pharmacy technician education within the 24-month registration cycle and before the expiration date of the registration. Two of the 10 contact hours must cover pharmacy jurisprudence and two must cover patient or medication safety. One-third of the CE requirements may be fulfilled by volunteering with an approved provider of volunteer health care services in the state.

Certified pharmacy technicians will fulfill their CE requirements through the certifying organization that is recognized by the Ohio Board of Pharmacy. For the PTCB or ExCPT, it means 20 hours of CE every two years.

Contact the Board:

Ohio State Board of Pharmacy
77 S High St, Room 1702.
Columbus, OH 43215-6126
614-466-4143
Fax: 614-752-4836

Oklahoma

An explosion in the variety and quantity of medications, the upsurge in the number of pharmacies and retail drug chains, and the ever-growing aging population drive demand for more pharmacy technicians nationwide. Based on reports from the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics, growth in the pharmacy technician workforce is expected to be 4 percent over the next decade – a rate that is about the national average for all occupations. The current shortage is behind the hike in wages for technicians. Apart from better salaries, technicians today have an abundance of opportunities as pharmacists are taking on new roles in the pharmacy. Although the outlook is better today than it ever was, there has been a dip in enrollment in pharmacy technician programs, with the expected shortage of new technicians to replace retirees. Oklahoma stands as one of the slower states for pharmacy technicians with just a few program offerings and one that is accredited by the Association for Health Systems Pharmacists.

License Requirement

The Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy regulates pharmacy technicians and requires all technicians to register before practicing. There are two phases that prospective technicians must complete in preparation for a permit. Phase I is the initial stage that must be completed before applying for a permit from the Board of Pharmacy. Phase II training must be completed within 90 days of employment. Applicants for registration must complete meeting the following requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Must be proficient in the English Language
  • Must have no felony convictions – especially drug-related convictions (fingerprinting may be required)

Phase I and phase II training are typically conducted by a licensed pharmacist in a workplace setting. The pharmacist will keep an accurate record of the training conducted. The Board of Pharmacy will issue a permit to eligible candidates upon verification of training and background check. The Board does not recognize or require national certification. However, many employers may expect it from prospective employees.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in Oklahoma.

Education Requirement

The Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy requires all applicants to have a high school diploma or GED equivalent. Completing phase I and phase II training before and after employment is another requirement for obtaining a pharmacy technician permit.

Other Requirements

A pharmacy technician, working under the supervision of a pharmacist, has a key role in the distribution of prescriptions. This ready access to controlled substances can pose a danger to public health. The Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy, like other state pharmacy boards, will perform a background check to ensure that each candidate for registration has the capacity to fill the role. The background check will confirm that the candidate has no criminal history, especially drug-related, or disciplinary actions were taken against him or her that would exclude the candidate from working in a pharmacy.

The application will require disclosure of any past legal offenses. The crimes that may result in outright denial of registration varies from state to state. The Oklahoma Board of Pharmacy reviews each request on a case-by-case basis. A fingerprint record may be required as part of the criminal background check. Each applicant must cover the cost of the background check and fingerprint.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Each candidate for a permit must complete phase I (initial training) prior to receiving a permit. Both phase I and phase I must be taught a pharmacy that employs pharmacy technicians. The pharmacy manager will design and conduct the training. The program will be kept on record to be submitted to the Board on request.

Phase I training prepares the candidate for a pharmacy technician permit. The courses will include a tour of the pharmacy, confidentiality of patient information, pharmacy literature, the role of the pharmacist, the role of supportive personnel, the role of the pharmacy technicians, and the pharmacy technician’s relationship with pharmacists, patients, physicians, and nurses. Other critical topics include pharmacy law, pharmacy rules, identification of DEA drug labels, allowable functions of pharmacy technicians, and security and safety. Upon completion of this phase, the technician will receive a permit and begin phase II (on-the-job training).

Phase II of the pharmacy technician program in Oklahoma is equivalent to on-the-job training and provides hands-on training and real-world scenarios where students learn under the keen eye of the pharmacy manager or designee. Courses covered include pharmacy terminology, abbreviations and symbols, mathematical terminology, drug nomenclature, classifications of drugs, pharmaceutical dosage forms, routes of administration, materials management, drug dispensing, data entry, container selection, labeling, and preparing the finished program for a final check by the pharmacist. Phase II training must be completed within 90 days of the issue of the pharmacy technician permit.

The pharmacy must issue and correct an exam before approving the technician’s application for a permit.

Duration and Cost

Pharmacy technician candidates who choose the path of the pharmacy technician internship can complete the requirements for a permit in 6 weeks plus an additional 90 days for completing phase II of the required training. There are a few benefits of this pathway. The first is that it gives students the opportunity to learn under the guidance of a pharmacy manager and collaborate with the pharmacy team from day one. The hands-on training conducted during phase II takes place in the actual pharmacy, so students will work directly with the team, customers, physicians, and other health care providers. The training is generally free and may even include a paid stipend until the conclusion. Another great benefit is immediate employment upon completion as most pharmacies conduct this training for prospective employees.

There are other pharmacy technician training options in Oklahoma. These include those offered at community colleges, proprietary schools, and vocational institutes. The duration of the program is in line with pharmacy-based programs and can be completed in 5 to 9 months. The cost of such programs varies from $3,200 to $5,700.

National Exams

The Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy does not require technicians to obtain certification. It also does not recognize the national certification agencies. Certification could be a requirement for employment as many employers hold the certification as the standard for pharmacy technician employees.

Pharmacy technicians in Oklahoma can apply for and obtain PTCB certification after meeting the following requirements:

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must provide proof of completing high school or GED equivalency
  • Have a clean criminal record with no disciplinary actions from a State Board of Pharmacy
  • Must have completed an accredited pharmacy technician program (ASHP accredited)
  • Complete the application for the national exam and pay the fee of $129

The certification is valid for two years and can be renewed after completing the continuing education requirements. Renewal candidates must complete 20 hours of CE during the cycle. One hour must be related to pharmacy law and regulations, one hour for patient safety, and the rest must be related to the professional work and practice of a pharmacy technician. The renewal cost is $40.

The ICPT designs and develops the ExCPT exam. To be eligible to take the ExCPT, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Have a high school diploma or GED
  • Must have a completed a training program or have at least 12 months of pharmacy-related experience – completed within 36 months of the application date
  • Take and pass the ExCPT exam
  • Pay the exam fee of $105

Pharmacy technician programs at community colleges and vocational schools will include modules dedicated to success on the national exam.

Acquiring Your State Permit

Application

Candidates for a pharmacy technician permit must be at least 18 years old with a high school diploma or GED equivalent. The Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy will issue a permit to candidates who complete phase I training. Phase II training must be completed within 90 days of the issuance of the permit or else it will be revoked. The permit must be signed by a registered pharmacist to be valid.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

  • Read the application instructions and include all requested documents to avoid them being returned
  • Complete the application – answering all questions and indicating N/A where applicable
  • Include the non-refundable application fee of $40 – check or money order
  • Provide a clear copy of driver’s license, state ID, or work authorization card
  • Complete the citizenship affidavit – option 1 or 2
  • Must be employed in a licensed Oklahoma pharmacy under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist
  • Indicate any charges or convictions and have the supervising pharmacist initial the appropriate column
  • Have a supervising pharmacist sign and date the application verifying completion of the required training and examination
  • The corrected exam must be kept on file at the pharmacy to provide to the Board upon request

Applications for the permit may take up to 21 days to process.

Renewal

Permits that are not renewed will be canceled 30 days after expiration. Canceled technicians cannot apply for a new permit. The permit must be reinstated upon returning to work as a technician. Reinstating cannot be completed online. The paper application must be completed and submitted to the Board. All permits expire annually on the last day of the technician’s birth month. Renew using the following procedures:

  • Renew online or download and complete the paper application and submit it to the Board
  • Pay the renewal fee of $40. The fee doubles 15 days after the expiration
  • The supervising pharmacist must sign and date the application
  • The technician must indicate if working in multiple locations and must request a permit for each additional place of employment. There is an additional fee of $10 per additional permit

The permit will not be renewed unless actively employed in an Oklahoma pharmacy under the direction of a licensed pharmacist. The reinstatement fee of $80 must be submitted with the application for reinstatement.

Contact the Board:
Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy
2920 N Lincoln Blvd, Ste A,
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Phone: 405-521-3815
Fax: 405-521-3758
www.pharmacy.ok.gov
e-mail: pharmacy@pharmacy.ok.gov

Oregon

State and federal agencies and employers are recognizing the integral role pharmacy technicians play in the prescription processing system. Due to stringent requirements for training and certification, pharmacists are more willing to work with technicians and delegate tasks that they would normally do themselves. Standardized training and education also help to reduce medication errors and build public confidence in pharmacy technicians. The Oregon Board of Pharmacy implemented new requirements for pharmacy technicians looking to register with the state. The Board requires technicians and students to secure registration before practicing in the pharmacy. Licensed pharmacy technicians have up to one year to take a national certifying exam to upgrade their license to Certified Pharmacy Technician.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in OR:

Oregon Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Oregon’s Board of Pharmacy requires pharmacy technicians and students-in-training to possess a current registration (issued by the Board) before performing the duties of a technician. The registration must be prominently displayed in the pharmacy where the technician performs his/her duties. Initially, the Board will administer a one-year Technician License, which is non-renewable. The one-year initial license gives technicians an opportunity to obtain competency as a Pharmacy Technician, and pass the national pharmacy technician certification exam to become eligible for licensure as a Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician. Therefore, license holders must register as Certified Technicians in order to continue working as a technician.

Beginning January 1, 2015, all applicants for licensure must be at least 18 years and hold a high school diploma or GED. Additionally, applicants will need to pass a criminal background check to be eligible for registration. Applicants for Certified Pharmacy Technician must successfully complete the PTCB or NHA’s requirements and pass the national examination. Although the Board does not specifically require technicians to complete formal pharmacy technician training, graduates of training programs are more likely to pass the national exams and obtain employment. Additionally, the NHA requires applicants for certification to provide proof of training through an accredited institution. In lieu of formal training, the NHA will accept 12 months of pharmacy-related experience. The PTCB does not currently require applicants for certification to complete a formal training program, but that will change by the year 2020.

Once the Board issues the registration, the technicians’ obligations to the Board do not end there. Technicians must inform the Board of name or address changes within 15 days and perform only the duties the Board approves for pharmacy technicians. The pharmacist-in-charge must verify the status of prospective employees with the Board before extending an offer of employment and also ensure that employees maintain their registration while they continue to work.

Age Requirement

The Board requires pharmacy technicians to be at least 18 years before applying for state registration.

Education Requirement

Effective January 1, 2015, Oregon’s pharmacy technicians and Certified Pharmacy Technicians must hold a high school diploma or GED equivalent to be eligible for registration.

Other Requirements

A report from a national FBI fingerprint background check must accompany all new applications for registration or reinstatement. Those applying for reciprocity must also undergo a criminal background check. Holders of Oregon’s pharmacy technician license do not need to retake fingerprints if the application for Certified Pharmacy Technician is submitted and processed by the Board within 12 months of the initial fingerprint submission.

Applicants must respond truthfully to the criminal history questions on the application for registration. Untruthful answers or incomplete responses could lead to denial of the application. The Board requires applicants to report DUII, MIP violations, theft, shoplifting, assault violations, and other misdemeanors or felonies. It is not necessary to report speeding tickets and traffic infractions.

Responding “yes” does not mean automatic denial of the request for registration. However, there might be a delay in processing the application as the Board gathers further information before making a decision. To help expedite the process, those with prior convictions should submit the following with the completed application:

  • A written explanation of the circumstances surrounding the conviction
  • Copies of all the police reports
  • Court documents
  • Any other related document

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Oregon’s Board of Pharmacy recommends ASHP accredited programs and those accredited by recognized institutions. ASHP programs are recognized nationwide, making it easy for pharmacy technicians to transfer from one state to another. The curriculum of accredited programs prepares students for practice as entry-level pharmacy technicians in numerous settings. Graduates have the knowledge, abilities, and skills needed to practice in community pharmacies, hospitals, and long-term care.

Programs comprise didactic, simulated, and experiential components to produce well-rounded graduates. The didactic component includes those parts of the curriculum that do not require demonstration in the simulated and experiential settings. This normally takes place in a classroom setting where students learn basic and complex concepts and skills. Common topics include pharmacology, medical terminology, pharmaceutical calculations, compounding, I.V. flow rates, dispensing medication, administration, medical billing, laws, and ethics.

In a simulated setting, students practice skills in preparation for the clinical experience. Students learn via instructor demonstration and receive feedback and an evaluation of their performance. The final phase of the training involves work/training in a clinical setting where students interact with pharmacists, technicians, customers, and other members of the pharmacy care team.

Duration and Cost

ASHP accredited programs consist of a minimum of 600 clock hours of didactic, simulated, and experiential training that extends for a period of 15 weeks or more. The experiential activities take place in different contemporary settings (at least two) – community and hospital pharmacy.

Other training programs cover fewer hours ranging from 150 hours to 300 hours that students complete in 4 to 8 weeks. Since the Board of Pharmacy does not stipulate training requirements for pharmacy technicians, it’s left to the student to choose a program based on personal goals.

Training costs an average of $1,800 with a low $320 for a one-week training program and $2,400 for an eight-week program. Advertised costs do not cover essential expenses, such as textbooks, course materials, uniforms, criminal background checks, insurance, immunization, certification, and state registration. Financial aid may be available at accredited institutions.

One of the best ways to reduce the cost of training is to train under a pharmacist-in-charge at your place of employment. A growing number of employers prefer trained and certified technicians. However, a few employers still train new employees to manage the responsibilities associated with their pharmacy technician roles. All technicians in training must register with the Board of Pharmacy before practicing/training in the pharmacy setting.

National Exams

The Oregon Board of Pharmacy requires state technicians to acquire certification through the national certifying agencies, such as the NHA and the PTCB. However, there are other advantages to getting certified. National certification demonstrates to employers that your knowledge, skills, and abilities are on par with national standards. Certified Pharmacy Technicians must re-certify every 2 years after completing at least 20 hours of Continuing Education credit. This requirement ensures pharmacy technicians provide value to patients and customers. National certification also increases pharmacy technicians’ job prospects and rate of pay.

The PTCB designs and develops the PTCE and is the oldest certifying agency across the nation. Before acquiring the CPhT designation through the PTCB, you must first:

  • Provide proof of high school completion or GED.
  • Disclose any criminal convictions or actions taken against you by any state Board of Pharmacy.
  • Agree to abide by the Board’s policies.
  • Attain a passing grade on the PTCE.

The Board may deny your application based on the outcome of a review of your criminal conviction, actions of discipline, and violation of the Board’s policies. You must submit your application using the online portal unless the Board approves your written request to submit a paper application based on extenuating circumstances. Once the Board approves the application, you can schedule a convenient test date at any one of Pearson Vue’s testing centers across Oregon. The PTCB’s two-hour exam comprises 90 multiple-choice questions. The cost for initial certification is $129, and the renewal fee is $40 every two years.

The NHA’s ICPT is the second option for acquiring state certification. More and more state Boards and employers are recognizing the value of the ICPT, which gives pharmacy technicians another option. If you prefer to go the route of the ICPT, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Possess a high school diploma or GED
  • Provide proof of formal pharmacy technician training or at least 12 months of pharmacy-related experience (acquired in the last 36 months).

The exam is available at more than 200 LSI/LaserGrade centers across the US, including centers in Oregon. The two-hour exam contains 120 questions that cover areas like Drug Products, Regulation and Technician Duties, and the Dispensing Process. Certification costs $105.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

There are two options for pharmacy technicians registering with the Board of Pharmacy. Applicants without national certification can apply for the one-year pharmacy technician license and complete the requirements of the NHA or PTCB to obtain national certification. The second license option, Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician, is applicable to those who are nationally certified. For both licenses, applicants must possess a high school diploma or GED and be at least 18 years old.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

  • Complete the Board-provided application form.
  • Make your check or money order payable to the Oregon Board of Pharmacy. The application fee is $50.
  • Provide details of your high school graduation or GED.
  • Provide details of formal pharmacy technician training.
  • Complete the criminal history questions and include supporting documents.
  • Assent to the criminal background check.
  • Mail the application and supporting documents to the address provided below.

Certified Pharmacy Technician Application

In addition to the above requirements, applicants for Certified Pharmacy Technician registration must submit:

  • A copy of their PTCB or NHA certification.
  • Consent to a new criminal background check, if the previous background check is older than 12 months.

The Board requires one month to process the application. Technicians upgrading their licenses from pharmacy technicians to certified pharmacy technicians should submit the new application at least 4 weeks before the initial license expires. This is the only way to guarantee uninterrupted employment since technicians cannot work without a license.

Renewal

Oregon’s pharmacy technician licenses expire on September 30 annually. The Board encourages licensees to use the online renewal system for the fast and timely renewal of their licenses. For paper applications submitted after August 31, the renewal fee is $20. Holders of pharmacy technician licenses cannot renew their licenses. Certified Pharmacy Technicians must maintain their national certification in order to renew their state licenses. Additionally, technicians must satisfactorily complete 10 continuing pharmacy education hours during each renewal cycle. The CPE hours must cover one hour of pharmacy law, one hour in patient safety or error prevention, and eight hours of Board-approved onsite training.

Transfer

Use the following guidelines to work in Oregon if you’re licensed to work in another state.

  • Fill out the application for registration.
  • Submit evidence of completing high school and national certification and consent to a background check. Applicants must be in good standing with the Board of Pharmacy in their home state.

Contact the Board:

Oregon Board of Pharmacy
800 NE Oregon St., Suite 150
Portland, OR 97232-2162
Phone: 971-673-0001
Fax: 971-673-0002
Email: pharmacy.board@state.or.us

Pennsylvania

Pharmacy technicians do more than just fill prescriptions behind the counter. Just as doctors rely on their team of nurses, pharmacists rely on their technicians for constant support. A big reason for the evolving role of pharmacy technicians is the reduction in health care costs. At an average annual salary of $39,010, in the higher-paying states, a pharmacy technician’s salary is much lower than a certified pharmacist. Trained technicians can handle routine tasks such as filling prescriptions and customer service, freeing the pharmacist to attend to patient care and supervisory duties. Their evolving role might also see technicians advising on medical devices and drug classes. Additionally, it’s not uncommon for technicians to understand and operate within the boundaries of national regulations and methodologies regarding prescriptions. In most states, pharmacy technicians need a high school diploma and state licensure as the minimum requirement for employment. In Pennsylvania, there are no laws governing the training, education, or licensure of pharmacy technicians. However, considering the nature of their responsibilities, it’s clear that technicians should undergo extensive training before taking on the role.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in PA:

Pennsylvania Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

At this time, there are no requirements for pharmacy technicians to register or obtain certification. The Pennsylvania State Board of Pharmacy does not have regulations for pharmacy technicians. Therefore, anyone can begin working as a pharmacy technician in retail and hospital pharmacies across the state. Although there are no regulations in place, pharmacy technicians must work under the careful observation of a licensed pharmacist.

Lack of regulations also leaves the process of hiring and training completely in the hands of employers. In the competitive environment, trained technicians with national certification are more attractive to employers, so taking the initiative to become nationally certified will present immediate rewards.

Age Requirement

Pharmacy technicians should be at least 18 years to begin working in Pennsylvania.

Education Requirement

You should have a high school diploma or GED, especially if you plan to apply for national certification. Both the PTCB and NHA, the two main certifying agencies, require candidates to provide proof of high school graduation as a requirement for certification. Basic reading, comprehension, and math skills will help with pharmaceutical calculations and reading and interpreting prescriptions.

A high school diploma is also advantageous if you plan to pursue further education to get ahead of the competition.

Other Requirements

State requirements aside (or lack thereof), your first duty is to increase your chances of employment. Apart from education, training, and skills, a prospective employer will consider a candidate’s customer service skills, organization, and attention to detail. Your friendly and customer-centered attitude will help when talking to customers and healthcare professionals.

Pharmacy technicians must be detailed-oriented as incorrect prescriptions can lead to major illnesses or death. A pharmacy technician’s duties could change from dispensing medications to following up on billing with insurance companies, at a moment’s notice. You must stay organized to balance your duties to the public and the pharmacy as a whole.

If you’re considering PTCB certification, you should have a good moral character with no felonies or convictions in your background.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Since Pennsylvania does not regulate pharmacy technicians, your best option when it comes to training is to enroll in a program that’s accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). The ASHP is the leading national accrediting body for pharmacy technician training. For this reason, graduating from an accredited program will give you instant credibility and a competitive advantage over other pharmacy technicians.

There are currently five ASHP-accredited programs in Pennsylvania. The programs will ensure you receive the didactic, laboratory, and experiential training that will prepare you for employment at contemporary pharmacies. From an employer’s perspective, your accredited training demonstrates your commitment to excellence, quality, and public safety.

The training program will cover essential topics, such as anatomy, generic and brand name drug, pharmacy calculations, pharmacy law and ethics, billing systems, medical terminology, drug compounding, I.V. flow rates, and others. Another aspect of the training is the experiential component, which places students directly in the work setting to practice their skills. The externship takes place at licensed community or hospital pharmacies, dispensaries, or long-term care facilities. The employer may require students to complete a criminal background check and acquire insurance and immunization before providing services as pharmacy technician students.

Most programs also include an externship component that gives students a chance to gain hands-on experience to succeed on the job. Currently, Michigan does not require pharmacy technicians to enroll in a formal training program as a requirement for licensure. However, the knowledge and skills imparted through accredited programs can help graduates succeed with the PTCB exam and give them a leg-up over other pharmacy technicians on the job market.

Duration and Cost

Programs typically run from 6 to 12 months, depending on the class schedule. Tuition at Pennsylvania’s accredited providers is more affordable than most states. At an average of $4,400, students can reduce the cost by applying for financial aid. Expenses for textbooks, workbooks, insurance, registration, criminal background check, and uniform will increase the final cost of training. Check with the financial aid officer at your college or vocational school to find out about available sources of funding.

National Exams

The Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) develops, administers, maintains, and promotes the nationally accredited Pharmacy Technician Certification Examination (PTCE). The exam and accompanying certification identify pharmacy technicians who are able to support pharmacists through effective, safe, and quality care. Candidates can carry the Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT) designation once they successfully pass the exam.

In Pennsylvania, a state with no regulations, certification is especially important to increase your competitive advantage. Once certified, you must obtain 20 hours of continuing pharmacy education over a two-year period to maintain your certification. The continuing education must cover at least one hour of medication safety. Applicants for the exam must possess a high school diploma and pass a criminal background check. The PTCE is available at more than 200 Pearson Vue centers across the nation. You must apply for the examination online and receive the PTCB approval letter before scheduling a test date at a center of your choice. The cost for testing and certification is $129.

Pennsylvania State Board of Pharmacy

P.O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649
Phone – (717) 783-7156
Fax – (717) 787-7769
Email: st-pharmacy@pa.gov

Rhode Island

The future for pharmacy technicians is a bright one. As pharmacists venture into more clinical roles, they’ll need the support of pharmacy technicians more than ever before. An aging population with a continued dependency on prescription drugs will help drive the rising demands for skilled pharmacy technicians. In response to the evolving roles of a pharmacy technician, accredited programs and community pharmacies train students to do a lot more than the traditional pour, count, and label tasks – as long as they stay within the state’s definition of a technician’s role. Technicians work primarily in hospitals and community pharmacies, but you can also find them in assisted living facilities, triage, and diabetes clinics.

In order to practice in Rhode Island, pharmacy technicians must register with the Department of Health. Applicants for registration must meet the Board’s approved qualifications and education requirements. The need for registration with the Board is just one aspect of modernizing the workforce for the delivery of high-quality services to the general public.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in RI:

Rhode Island Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

The Board of Pharmacy requires pharmacy technicians to obtain a license with the Board before practicing at state pharmacies. Pharmacy interns do not need to register as pharmacy technicians to fill the role. High school students working as part of a career exploration program, do not need to apply for registration with the Board.

There are two levels of licensure for technicians: Pharmacy Technician I and Pharmacy Technician II.

The Pharmacy Technician I status is specifically for technicians enrolled in or graduated from a Board-approved training program. Pharmacy Technicians, I do not have certification from established Boards, such as the PTCB or ICPT. The license is employer-specific. Therefore, the licensee must notify the Board and reapply for a license when changing employers.

Holders of a Pharmacy Technician I license can upgrade their licenses to Pharmacy Technician II after successfully passing a national certification exam. The two Board-recognized exams are the PTCE and the ExCPT exams. Unlike the PT I license, the PT II is not tied to a specific employer.

The duties and responsibilities of the pharmacy technician depend on the license. Pharmacy Technician II license holders can perform some tasks that are off-limits for PT I license holders. Both licensees must report directly to license pharmacists.

It is the employer’s or pharmacist in charge responsibility to verify pharmacy technicians’ licensure with the Board. The pharmacist-in-charge must provide on-the-job training and document details of the training, specifically those tasks related to the technician’s role in the pharmacy. Pharmacy technicians can only perform those duties for which they received competency training.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in Rhode Island.

Education Requirement

The Board of Pharmacy requires all applicants to provide details of their high school education on the application form. Applicants can include details of GED as an alternative to high school.

Other Requirements

Candidates for registration must have a good moral character and not have any convictions of felonies relating to controlled substances. Applicants with previous convictions will need to provide a written explanation of all convictions and copies of legal documents. The Board will determine the applicant’s eligibility for registration based on the provision of satisfactory evidence of the individual’s ability to safely carry out the duties of a pharmacy technician. The Board may need to conduct an interview with the candidate. Prior convictions could delay the processing of the application for registration.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Within the pharmacy, pharmacists, pharmacy interns, and pharmacy technicians are registered healthcare professionals. Just like pharmacists, pharmacy technicians have a duty to obtain and maintain the skills and competencies needed to execute their roles. The didactic and experiential training covered in accredited training programs give graduates the confidence they need to make informed decisions.

The Department of Health recommends ASHP-accredited programs. In Rhode Island, programs such as CVS Caremark offer at least 600 hours of training. These types of programs combine textbook learning with hands-on learning in a simulated setting followed by experiential rotations in a pharmacy environment.

The DOH also approves employer-based programs, which cover dosage forms, laws and rules, communication techniques, security and safety, job descriptions, common abbreviations, drug order preparation, and directions for use. Students also learn routes of administration, pharmaceutical nomenclature, affixing labels, and much more.

At the end of the comprehensive training, graduates are thoroughly prepared to take up their roles in a variety of health care settings. The DOH’s strict standards benefit the public but are also beneficial to technicians who can take their portable skills from one setting to another, and from Rhode Island to other states that adopt equally strict standards.

Duration and Cost

The abundance of employer-based means anyone can train to become a pharmacy technician without spending a fortune. With hundreds of retail chains across the state, you can apply for employment at a place of your choosing and learn directly from a pharmacist-in-charge. Keep in mind that the DOH requires students to register as Pharmacy Technician I while undergoing training. If you go the route of an employer training, your biggest expense may be the application for state registration ($25). Your employer/trainer will provide course materials, uniforms, and other necessities.

The average cost of training at traditional academia is $3000. For instance, the Center for Workforce and Community Education at the Community College of Rhode Island offers a 300-hour training program, which costs $3,395 plus extra for registration, textbooks, uniform, and other materials. After graduating from accredited training programs, pharmacy technicians can apply for the national PTCB or ExCPT exams to register as Pharmacy Technician II – a registration that is not tied to a single employer like Pharmacy Technician I. The average duration of training is eight months, depending on the class schedule.

National Exams

To register as Pharmacy Technician II in Rhode Island, candidates must successfully pass the PTCB or ExCPT exam to earn the Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT) designation. National certification not only elevates the pharmacy technician’s status with the Department of Health but also makes the candidate a favorable prospect for employment.

Employers know and favor the PTCB’s assessment, which is the older of the two certifying authorities. To take the PTCB exam, you must first apply online, submitting proof of graduating high school and assenting to a criminal background check. Currently, the Board accepts high school completion or equivalent as the minimum education requirement, but by the year 2020, applicants for certification will need to graduate from a formal pharmacy technician training program.

The fee for the computer-based assessment is $129. Once the PTCB approves your application, you can schedule the exam at a Pearson Vue center in Rhode Island.

The ICPT designs and develops the ExCPT exam. While this certifying agency is not as recognized by state certifying bodies as the PTCB, it is steadily growing as a viable alternative to the older agency. The standards set forth by the ICPT is just as stringent. Applicants must present a high school diploma and must be at least 18 years old. The Board also requires applicants to present proof of formal training or have at least 12 months of pharmacy-related employment – covered within a 36-month period.

The ExCPT is readily available at hundreds of PSI/LaserGrade test centers across the nation. Convenient schedules are available, covering 310 days a year. The 120-question exam assesses candidates’ understanding of three main categories; Regulation and Technician Duties, Drug and Drug Products, and the Dispensing Process. The cost of registration is $105.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

All applications for registration must be completed on a Board-provided form. Mail the completed form along with the non-refundable application fee and supporting documents to the address provided below.

Pharmacy Technician I application:

  • Fill out the Board’s application for registration.
  • Enclose the $25 application fee using a check or money order.
  • Print copies of your ID and social security card to attach to the application.
  • Ask the pharmacist-in-charge, at the place where you plan to work, to attest to your assigned duties and on-the-job training.
  • Specify the employer’s name on the application.
  • Complete the applicant’s affidavit.
  • Attach supporting documents in the order the application packet outlines.

The Pharmacy Technician I license is employer-specific. Therefore, you must inform the Board and apply for a new license when changing jobs.

Pharmacy Technician II application:

  • Fill out the Board’s application for registration.
  • The non-refundable application fee, payable via check or money order, is $25.
  • Pharmacy Technician II applicants won’t need to complete the Pharmacist-in-charge Affidavit.
  • Include copies of your state ID and social security card.
  • Include a copy of your PTCB or ExCPT wall certificate.
  • Attach supporting documents if you answer “yes” to any criminal convictions or disciplinary action questions.

Pharmacy Technician II license holders must maintain certification with the PTCB or ExCPT in order to renew the license.

Renewal

Licenses expire on June 30th, and technicians must take steps to renew annually. The Board will send out the renewal application 30 days before the expiration date. The remainder will go to the technician’s last known address. It is the applicant’s responsibility to notify the Board of any employment, address, or name changes. The Board of Pharmacy encourages online renewal using a credit card. If you prefer to pay via check or money order, you can email the Board and request a paper application.

  • Go to the DOH’s website to renew your license online using credit cards or prepaid cards with a Visa or MasterCard logo.
  • Pharmacy Technicians II license holders must provide a copy of the PTCB or ExCPT wall certification to verify current certification.
  • Pharmacy Technician II license holders shall also complete at least 10 hours of continuing pharmacy education units from an accredited provider during the one-year cycle.
  • Three of the CPEU must be through live hours.

For auditing purposes, technicians should keep records of the continuing education for a period of two years after completing the training.

Transfer

Pharmacy technicians with a current license in good standing in another state can apply for licensure by endorsement. The endorsement only applies if the requirements for registration in the state of the current license is equivalent to the Board’s requirements in Rhode Island.

To apply for endorsement:

  • Fill out the pharmacy technician application indicating whether you’re applying for the Pharmacy Technician I or Pharmacy Technician II license.
  • Send the Interstate Verification Form to the Board of Pharmacy (or other licensing authority) in your current jurisdiction who will mail the completed form back to the RI Board of Pharmacy.

Contact the Board:

Rhode Island Department of Health
Board of Pharmacy
Room 205, 3 Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097

South Carolina

As a pharmacy technician, you’ll directly impact patients’ health through your service at community and hospital pharmacies. Your primary responsibilities will include preparing medications for dispensing and guiding patients through the prescription process while maintaining the highest level of customer service. While a licensed pharmacist will guide and closely monitor your actions, you should develop an eye for detail and effective communication skills. You’ll also learn to work independently to calculate dosages, provide service within the confines of state laws, and complete administrative procedures, such as maintaining customer records and managing inventory. The South Carolina Board of Pharmacy requires pharmacy technicians to register with the Board before providing services in nursing homes, hospitals, correctional facilities, community pharmacies, and other licensed facilities.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in SC:

South Carolina Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

In South Carolina, it is unlawful for pharmacy technicians, not registered with the Board of Pharmacy, to perform the functions of a registered technician at licensed pharmacies. Therefore, you must meet all the requirements for licensure and receive confirmation of successful registration from the Board before you begin offering pharmacy technician services for compensation. Pharmacy technician students enrolled in accredited training programs can work in the pharmacy, under the direction of a licensed pharmacist, for the purposes of practical training. The pharmacy technician student must wear proper identification indicating his or her student status. Registered pharmacy technicians must display their status in the pharmacy outlet where they’re employed – it should be displayed in a place that’s easily observed by the public.

The Board will approve your application for state registration when you provide the following:

  • A copy of your high school diploma or GED
  • Proof of formal academic training at an ASHP accredited school
  • PTCB certification
  • Affidavit of Experience certifying your completion of at least 1,000 hours of practical training at a licensed pharmacy

Once the Board approves your application for registration, it is your responsibility to complete the continuing pharmacy education requirements and report your employment/ changes in employment to the board to maintain state registration.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in South Carolina.

Education Requirement

South Carolina’s Code of Law requires prospective pharmacy technicians to possess a high school diploma before applying for Board registration. The PTCB, another requirement for state certification, also requests proof of high school education from all applicants. You can provide evidence of completing high school using the following documents:

  • A certified copy of your high school transcript with your date of graduation, or
  • A certified copy of your GED transcript

Other Requirements

As part of your preparation for the Board of Pharmacy registration, you must complete a minimum of one thousand hours of experiential training in a retail or hospital pharmacy. During the experiential training period, you will provide services under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist. This training could take place as part of an ASHP accredited pharmacy technician training program. The PTCB requires candidates to pass a criminal background check as a requirement for certification. Felonies and misdemeanors could affect your chances of CPhT certification and your eventual registration with the SC Board of Pharmacy.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

In order to save time, effort, and money, you should enroll in ASHP accredited programs only. South Carolina’s Code of Laws requires pharmacy technicians to complete a formal academic training program as a prerequisite to registration. While there are numerous programs across the state recruiting new students, the Board approves programs accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) only. A list of those programs is available below. Completion of ASHP accredited programs leads to a diploma or certificate after students learn essential topics, such as pharmacy calculations, pharmacy operations, pharmacology, anatomy and physiology, and prescription drugs. Students also learn pharmacy law and ethics, drug distribution systems, medical terminology, aseptic technique, inventory control, communications, and partake in experiential training at a community or hospital pharmacy.

Duration and Cost

Tuition at ASHP accredited pharmacy technician programs in South Carolina cost an average of $6,500. Apart from tuition, prospective students must budget for additional expenses, such as textbooks, workbooks, registration fees, national certification, uniform, background check, immunization, and insurance. On average, full-time students can complete training in four months while part-time students can expect to complete the classroom training requirements and externship in 6 to 8 months.

National Exams

Pharmacy technicians applying for Board certification in South Carolina must be certified by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB). The National Pharmacy Technician Certification Examination (PTCE), governed by the PTCB, designates the CPhT title to successful candidates who demonstrate their competency to provide pharmacy technician services. Before applying for the 90-question multiple-choice exam at testing centers across South Carolina, you must:

  • Possess a high school diploma
  • Pass a criminal background check with no felony convictions
  • Have no denial or suspension of a pharmacy technician license in any state.

Apply for the test online and pay the $129 application fee using a credit card or check. The Board will issue a paper application under extreme circumstances; you can request the paper application by writing the Board and providing details of your disability or hardship. Once the Board approves the application, you’re eligible to schedule a date for the PTCE exam within the 90-day authorization period.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Submit your application for Board registration only after you’ve met all the requirements. The Board will verify your information and process the application within 30 days. They’ll mail your registration and wallet card within 3-4 weeks of issue. Following are the steps for state licensure.

  • Download and fill out the application for registration.
  • Complete the Affidavit of Eligibility included with the application.
  • Provide copies of your social security card and your driver’s license or DMV ID.
  • Include a check or money order in the amount of $40 for the application fee.
  • Once the Board approves your application, you must notify them in writing when you begin or change employment.

Renewal

Once administered, your registration will remain valid until June thirtieth, and you must renew annually. The Board of Pharmacy will send out a renewal card 45 days before the expiration. For this reason, it is crucial that you maintain an accurate address with the Board. If your address changes, you should fill out a change of name/address form and submit it to the board with the accompanying documents.

To renew your license, you must initiate renewal and mail the $15 renewal application fee before the expiration date. You must also complete at least 10 hours of continuing pharmacy education (4 live and 6 home-study or 10 live hours). Failure to renew your registration before July first will cause your registration to lapse, and you must immediately cease working as a pharmacy technician. Use this Lapsed Renewal form and pay $40 to renew your registration within one year of expiration. If you fail to renew your license after more than one year, you need to apply for reinstatement of your registration, pay the $40 penalty fee, and provide proof of 20 hours of continuing pharmacy education.

Transfers

As an out-of-state pharmacy technician, you can apply to the Board of Pharmacy to transfer your registration to South Carolina if the requirements for certification in your home state are equivalent to the registration requirements in South Carolina. The Board will request a criminal background check report and proof of PTCB certification with the application for registration.

South Carolina State Board of Pharmacy
Synergy Business Park, Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Drive, Suite 202
Columbia, SC 29210
Telephone: 803-896-4300
Fax: 803-896-4596

South Dakota

Today’s busy pharmacies need the skills and knowledge of competent pharmacy technicians. Pharmacists couldn’t meet the demands for dispensing prescription drugs and provide adequate counseling to patients without the support of a capable pharmacy technician. Student education and training, along with national certification, prepares technicians for the evolving role, which includes reading, interpreting, and preparing prescription orders, managing inventory, maintain patient records, billing insurance agencies, and overseeing administrative tasks. Pharmacy technicians must work under a pharmacist’s supervision, but in the same light, they will do a lot of independent work. The South Dakota Board of Pharmacy requires all new technicians and technicians-in-training to register before preparing and dispensing medication. Pharmacy technicians must be honest, organized, motivated, attentive, and precise especially when dispensing patients’ medication.

South Dakota Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

A pharmacy technician must submit an application of registration to the Board within 30 days of employment in a South Dakota pharmacy. Student technicians, who have not met the requirements for PTCB or ICPT certification, can register as a technicians-in-training. A grandfathered technician specifically applies to an individual with initial registration prior to 2011 without interruption and discipline. The Board encourages pharmacy technicians to take a national certification exam to register as certified pharmacy technicians.

The application for registration is a collaborative effort between the pharmacy technician and the pharmacist-in-charge. Upon securing employment as a pharmacy technician, the new hire must secure the pharmacist-in-charge signature on the application for registration. The student technician must also list the pharmacy where the practical component of the training will take place, and the supervising pharmacist must also sign the application. Students must receive confirmation of registration before commencing practical training at state pharmacies.

Applicants for registration must be at least 18 years at the time of registration. Pharmacy interns are exempt from the requirements for pharmacy technician registration.

After successful registration, pharmacy technicians must operate within the boundaries of state regulations for their role. It includes an awareness of the duties of pharmacy technicians and operating within those boundaries. Ultimately, the supervising pharmacist is responsible for the pharmacy technician’s actions. Technicians must also wear a name tag, identify themselves when answering the phone, and renew their licenses to continue practicing pharmacy. Registration is the Board’s means of tracking and identifying pharmacy technicians and administering disciplinary sanctions when needed, so it’s important to inform the Board when changing your name, address, or place of employment.

Age Requirement

The South Dakota Board of Pharmacy requires applicants for registration to be 18 years or older.

Education Requirement

The Board recommends a high school diploma, although it is not a policy that it enforces. Pharmacy employers, on the other hand, may specifically require prospective employees to possess a high school diploma or GED equivalent. High school education is the minimum education required by the PTCB and ICPT for national certification.

Other Requirements

All candidates for state registration must respond to the questions relating to Felony or Misdemeanor Crimes on the application form. It is important to respond truthfully to the questions – only minor traffic violations with fines under $100 are exempt from reporting. False information could lead to disciplinary sanctions and revoking of a pharmacy technician license. Admission of prior convictions or charges does not negate registration, but the Board will require further information before making a ruling.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

South Dakota’s pharmacy technician training programs adopt a curriculum based on a set of competency standards defined by the ASHP and the Board of Pharmacy. Currently, there are three ASHP-accredited training programs that provide students with more than 600 hours of didactic, hands-on lab, and practical training in retail and hospital pharmacies. Other training providers, including pharmacy-sponsored training, employ specific modules that cover basic pharmacy standards and professionalism in the workplace. Students can expect to learn federal and state laws governing the practice of pharmacy in South Dakota, pharmacology, brand name, and generic drugs, pharmaceutical calculations, ethics and standards of professionalism, manufacturing, labeling, storage, and packaging medications and routes of administration. Pharmacy technicians should also be proficient with first aid.

The prerequisite for entry depends on the trainer. The school or sponsoring pharmacy will provide full details of their unique requirements. Requirements may include a high school diploma, a good moral character with no criminal convictions, and a sound understanding of English, maths, and science. Many training providers will require participants to take a TB skin test and acquire MMR, Hepatitis B, Varicella, and influenza vaccinations. At the completion of training, students are prepared to take the PTCB or ICPT exam for national certification.

Duration and Cost

The duration of training depends on the student’s schedule, which could be either part-time or full-time. The duration also depends on the provider’s curriculum. The diploma program at Southeast Tech, for instance, is a one-year program that costs approximately $13,000 plus extra for uniforms, books, and transport to and from the clinical sites.

Employer-provided training offers several benefits: It’s free, comprehensive, and gives students a chance to earn while they learn. The length of in-house training varies from 6 months to one year, as pharmacists prepare technicians-in-training for the national exam and registration as certified pharmacy technicians.

National Exams

There are two ways to obtain national certification as a pharmacy technician – through the PTCB and the ICPT. South Dakota’s Board of Pharmacy accepts both exams to register state technicians as Certified Pharmacy Technicians. Both the PTCB and the ICPT require individuals to pass an exam prior to certification. Both exams are computer-based, which allows test takers to go to a specified site to take them in a closely monitored environment. The exams are two hours and comprise multiple-choice questions; the PTCE has 90 questions, and the ExCPT has 110 questions. Both agencies use scaled scores to determine a candidate’s outcome – the results are available on the computer as soon as test-takers complete the exam. The PTCB and the ICPT will mail the certificate and scaled scores to successful candidates within a few weeks of completing the test.

To be eligible to take either exam, candidates must:

  • Be 18 years and older
  • Possess a high school diploma or GED
  • Have no felony convictions
  • Not have any license or registration revoked or disciplinary actions taken by any regulatory agencies.

Individuals with felony convictions may write an appeal for consideration.

To apply for the PTCB or ICPT exam, you must submit your application request online. Registration for PTCB certification is $129, and ICPT certification costs $105. Once the agencies approve the request, the candidates can schedule a convenient date for the exam at a Pearson Vue Center (PTCE) or LaserGrade Center (ExCPT).

The PTCE tests candidates’ knowledge of the technician’s role in relation to the pharmacist, maintaining medication and inventory control systems, and management and administration. The ExCPT exam covers the dispensing program, regulations and technician duties, and drugs and drug therapy.

The registration for both agencies is valid for two years; certified pharmacy technicians must complete the continuing education requirements and pay the renewal fee of $40 to maintain certification.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

South Dakota’s Pharmacy Board requires technicians to register by submitting an application and the respective fee within 30 days of accepting employment in a South Dakota pharmacy. Any individual who fails to comply with the registration requirements within the 30-day period will be subject to disciplinary sanctions. Similar to a new hires, students enrolled in a formal training program must also register prior to beginning the practical training at local community and hospital pharmacies.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

Individuals may register as pharmacy technicians-in-training, certified pharmacy technicians, or grand-fathered technicians. Following are the steps for submitting a new application to the Board.

  • Download the application for registration from the Board of Pharmacy website.
  • Remit the registration fee of $25 using a check or money order; payable to the South Dakota Board of Pharmacy.
  • Fill out the entire application; incomplete applications will be returned.
  • The pharmacist-in-charge at your place of employment/training must sign the application.
  • Enclose a copy of your PTCB or ICPT certification if applying for registration as a Certified Pharmacy Technician.
  • Individuals applying as technicians-in-training should provide details of the training institution and the name(s) of the pharmacy where the training will take place.
  • Include an explanation of events and court documents if responding “yes” to questions on felony and misdemeanor crimes.

Renewal

Pharmacy technician registrations expire on October 31 annually. The Board mails out renewal applications approximately one month before the registration deadline. The application is available online, or you can request it over the phone if you do not receive the renewal notice at your place of employment.

  • Download and print the renewal application.
  • Complete all the questions and check the renewal option (technician-in-training, certified technician, or grandfathered technician).
  • Provide employment details; use a separate paper if you work at multiple pharmacies.
  • Sign and date the application and obtain a signature from the pharmacist-in-charge.

Technicians must notify the Board within 10 days of changing their names, address, or place of employment.

Transfer

The South Dakota Board of Pharmacy does not make provisions for reciprocity of pharmacy technician registration. Individuals registered in another state must meet the requirements for registration in South Dakota before submitting a new application for registration.

Contact the Department:
South Dakota Board of Pharmacy
600 E Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD, 57501
Phone: (605) 773-3361
(In-State) 1-800-738-2301

Tennessee

Now more than ever, U.S. hospitals and retail pharmacies need qualified professionals to fill over three billion prescriptions that filter through pharmacies each year. The U.S. Department of Labor reports that employment opportunities are booming, especially for Certified Pharmacy Technicians. The median pay for Tennessee’s pharmacy technicians is $28,868 or more depending on experience, location, education, and shift differentials. Pharmacy technicians work in various places, but their responsibilities depend on the settings. The responsibilities at a retail location are widely different from those at hospitals. In the hospital, a technician might prepare I.V. and critical care medications to deliver to the nurses’ station while technicians at retail locations might manage inventory, process prescriptions, and bill insurance companies. All pharmacy technicians work under a pharmacist’s supervision. Pharmacy technician training may help you prepare for a lifelong career or open the door to other careers in health.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in TN:

Tennessee Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Any individual practicing as a pharmacy technician must register with the Tennessee Board of Pharmacy by submitting an application on a Board-provided form. Along with the application, the individual must submit the registration fee, results of a criminal background check, and a declaration of citizenship. The Board will review the application and issue the license within 7 to 14 business days after receipt of all required documents.

After registration, pharmacy technicians have a responsibility to:

  • Wear appropriate identification at all times. The ID should include the technician’s name and job title.
  • Perform duties as directed by and under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist only.
  • Maintain registration by renewing biennially.
  • Display evidence of registration in the place of employment.
  • Notify the board in writing of any changes in address or employer.

Probationary employees and students completing experiential training as part of a formal training program are exempt from registration. Pharmacy interns performing the duties of a pharmacy technician do not need to submit another registration with the Board. Pharmacy employers must verify a prospective employee’s registration status before extending an offer of employment.

Age Requirement

The Tennessee Board of Pharmacy accepts registration for licensure from individuals 18 years and older.

Education Requirement

As of 2015, there are no educational requirements defined for pharmacy technicians. The increasing scope of practice for pharmacy technicians could lead to sweeping changes in the future. The lack of requirements by the Board does not reflect employer requirements, which could range from high school graduation to completion of formal training and national certification. An employer’s rate of pay is synonymous with the pharmacy technician’s education, experience, and certification.

Other Requirements

All applicants for pharmacy technician registration are responsible for scheduling and completing the requirements for a criminal background check. Applicants must submit their fingerprints as part of the process; IdentoGO will check TBI and FBI records to verify the candidate’s standing. IdentoGO facilitates online and over-the-phone scheduling. The fingerprint scan must be completed within two weeks of registration. Candidates outside of Tennessee should contact the Board of Pharmacy to request a fingerprint card for completing the background check. It is critical to disclose any criminal convictions or disciplinary actions on the application form as falsifying information could result in immediate denial of licensure.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Pharmacy technician training provides the technical instruction and skill development students need to earn gainful employment in hospital, retail, and mail-order pharmacies. ASHP-accredited programs provide learning experiences that help students develop through hands-on and didactic instruction. Graduates are also prepared to sit for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE).

Students applying for training must meet the school’s general admission requirements, which will be outlined in the application prior to enrolling. Common requirements for enrollment include drug/alcohol screening, a high school diploma, criminal background check, proof of immunization, and success on an entrance exam. A physical exam, laboratory tests, and liability insurance may also be required before commencing the clinical segment of the training.

Training at an externship site is a critical aspect of the training as it exposes students to a pharmacy technician’s responsibilities in a real-world setting. A licensed pharmacist supervises pharmacy technician students at the clinical site and shares his/her knowledge and in-field expertise with the students. Some traditional areas of study include pharmacy law and ethics, pharmacy calculations, pharmacology, top 100 drugs, third party reimbursement, and career readiness.

All students must comply with the institute’s policies and complete the curriculum requirements to qualify for graduation and success on the PTCE.

Duration and Cost

ASHP accredited training programs cost an average of $14,500 for three semesters of training. Other costs, such as books, supplies, insurance, uniform, and administrative costs could add an extra $1,500 to the final cost of training. All twelve ASHP accredited schools offer some sort of financial aid to qualifying students. The program length depends on the final outcome of the training, which can vary from a certificate to a diploma or an associate’s degree. Generally, full-time students can graduate from a pharmacy technician program in 12 to 16 months. Free training may be available through pharmacy-sponsored programs. However, due to the increasing demands on pharmacists and other pharmacy staff, in-house training is rare.

National Exams

National certification is not a requirement for Tennessee Board of Pharmacy registration. As the role of pharmacy technicians evolves, Tennessee, like a growing number of state boards, may soon embrace certification. Pharmacy employers recognize the benefits of certification and may give preference to trained and certified technicians who are equipped to bear greater responsibilities in the pharmacy.

Certified Pharmacy Technicians typically perform the tasks delegated by a licensed pharmacist in accordance with Tennessee’s rules and regulations. Those tasks include processing physicians’ orders over the phone, reading prescriptions and retrieving the medications, establishing patient profiles, processing insurance claim forms, and verifying the work other registered pharmacy technicians perform.

CPhTs also benefit from more job opportunities, opportunities for advancement, better salary, and professional designation. The PTCE, offered by the PTCB, is a widely recognized exam that tests technicians’ competency skills.

Applicants for CPhT designation must have a high school diploma or equivalent education, be 18 years or older, agree to comply with the PTCB rules, disclose criminal or disciplinary actions, and pass the PTCE. Criminal actions may disqualify a candidate from certification.

After the PTCB approves the application, you can schedule the computerized test at a Pearson Vue center. Formal training, though not a requirement, improves candidates’ chances of success on the multiple-choice exam. The certification fee is $120. CPhTs must complete the continuing education requirements and renew their registration biennially to maintain the designation.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

A pharmacy technician registered by the Tennessee Board of Pharmacy performs tasks associated with the preparation and dispensing of medication under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist. The pharmacist must ensure technicians comply with state regulations governing the practice of pharmacy technicians.

In addition to the routine tasks, certified pharmacy technicians may receive new or transferred oral medical and prescription orders, receive and transfer prescription orders between pharmacies, and verify the work performed by other registered pharmacy technicians. While there are no certification requirements for registration, certified pharmacy technicians enjoy greater responsibilities and higher salaries.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

Use the following guidelines to register as a pharmacy technician:

  • Complete the application for registration, providing answers to all questions.
  • Enclose the application fee of $85 using a check or money order.
  • Complete the pharmacy technician affidavit and keep a copy on file at your place of employment.
  • Set up an appointment to scan your fingerprint as a first step to initiating a criminal background check.
  • Complete the declaration of citizenship and include a copy of your Tennessee Driver’s License, citizen card, passport, birth certificate, or another form of government-issued identification. Resident aliens may submit a permanent resident card, refugee travel document, employment authorization card, or unexpired foreign passport.
  • Include a copy of your national certification if available.

Note: The Board will return incomplete applications, applications with the lack of accompanying documents, and those where the applicant fails to meet the requirements for registration. The Board will hold applications for a period of no more than 60 days after written notification; applicants must complete the requirements or submit the missing document within the “pending period.” Criminal background checks may take up to three weeks to complete. The Board will issue the license and mail it to the address indicated on the application form within 14 days of receiving all required documents.

Renewal

Technician registrations must be renewed biennially using the online portal. The Board will send a notification renewal via email – if you are opt-in. Review and respond to all the questions related to your renewal. Submitting the information certifies that your statements are true and correct. There are no continuing education requirements for pharmacy technicians.

Pay the renewal fee of $85 using a debit or credit card after submitting your responses to the questions. Print the confirmation of renewal for your records and check your registration status within two business days to ensure your renewal is complete. The Board will mail your renewal certificate after processing.

Transfer

Pharmacy technicians from other states can submit an application for registration in Tennessee – there are no provisions for licensure by endorsement or reciprocity. You must contact the Board to request a fingerprint card if living outside Tennessee at the time of application.

Contact the Board:
Tennessee State Board of Pharmacy
Tennessee Board of Pharmacy
665 Mainstream Drive
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: (615) 741-2718

Texas

Texas is one of a few states that require pharmacy technician candidates to obtain certification before registering with the state Board of Pharmacy. Employers must provide initial on-the-job training to new trainees and technicians before assigning duties on the job. While the Board does not require formal training at community colleges and other training providers, students can benefit from the didactic and hands-on education available at these institutes. Graduates learn how to work under a licensed pharmacist, helping with patient consultations, dispensing medications, managing inventory, maintaining patient records, repackaging medications, and calculating dosages.

Pharmacy Tech Schools in TX:

Texas Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Only board-registered pharmacy technicians and pharmacy technician trainees can provide pharmacy-related services at licensed facilities. The candidate can only begin work after notification of active status from the Texas Board of Pharmacy (TBSP). Every pharmacy employer must provide initial on-the-job training for technicians and trainees to all new employees. The training must cover very specific areas as outlined by the Board. The in-house, on-the-job training is the only training mandated by the Board. For this reason, Texas pharmacy technicians can opt-out of formal training required by some other states. While the Board does not require formal training, it acknowledges the presence of training programs across the state and recommends prospective pharmacy technicians attend training programs accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).

Training programs prepare students for national certification, including the PTCB exam, which the TSBP recognizes. PTCB certified pharmacy technicians increase their job opportunities and can skip Board-required continuing pharmacy education (CPE) requirements as long as they maintain their registration.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in Texas.

Education Requirement

To register as a pharmacy technician in Texas, you must present your PTCB license number. If you don’t currently hold PTCB certification, you must apply for registration as a pharmacy technician trainee – valid for two years only. While formal training is not required to challenge the PTCB exam, you must possess a high school diploma or GED equivalent to take the PTCE exam for the CPhT designation.

Other Requirements

All applicants for registration must be fingerprinted for a criminal background check. If you answer ‘yes’ to criminal questions related to moral turpitude, the Board will deny your license or grant one with disciplinary actions in accordance with the Texas Pharmacy Act. All other felonies or misdemeanors will be reviewed and a decision made on a case by case basis.

Hits on your criminal record could delay your registration by several months.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Through a combination of lecture, hands-on lab, and clinical training, pharmacy technician classes prepare graduates for careers in community and hospital pharmacies. The TSBP recommends ASHP accredited programs, which ensure students receive adequate training for their complex roles providing support to licensed pharmacists. The accredited programs at colleges and vocational schools provide a combination of lecture, on-campus laboratory, and clinical training that prepares graduates for a variety of employment opportunities in the community and hospital pharmacies. The course content covers inventory packaging, sterile and non-sterile compounding, pharmacy calculations, medical abbreviations, dispensing medication, and patient profiling.

Duration and Cost

Tuition at accredited training providers costs upwards of $15,200 for 900-hour long programs. Apart from tuition, students face additional expenses, such as textbooks, course materials, uniforms, medical equipment, exam fee, registration, and traveling to and from the clinical rotation. The duration of the training program ranges from 6 weeks to 45 weeks.

National Exams

All pharmacy technicians in Texas must be certified. Non-certified technicians carry the title of “technician in training.” To upgrade the status to pharmacy technician, the candidate must successfully obtain certification from the PTCB within one year and apply to upgrade the registration with the Board of Pharmacy.

To take the test, without delays, you can apply at an on-demand testing center where you can choose your preferred date. The PTCB exam consists of 90 multiple-choice questions covering nine knowledge domains. You must earn at least 650 points to pass the exam and meet all the other requirements (high school diploma, criminal-free background) to obtain certification. The fee for the PTCB exam is $129.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

You can submit your application to register as a pharmacy technician or as a pharmacy technician trainee. According to the TSBP, a pharmacy technician is an individual who is registered by the Board and authorized to provide technical services that do not require the professional judgment of a pharmacist. A pharmacy technician trainee is an individual authorized to participate in a pharmacy technician training program. To register for either position, you must:

  • Visit the TSBP website to submit your application through the online portal.
  • Register for a secure online account.
  • Apply for your new license: Initial Technician or Initial Technician Trainee.
  • Input an address where you can receive mail from the US Postal Service.
  • Pay the application fee using your credit card. The fee is $41 for technician trainees and $61 for registered technicians.

Upon submission of the online application, the Board will send three separate emails: a copy of the application, a receipt of your payment, and a fingerprint form.

You must complete the fingerprint form and get fingerprinted to expedite the processing of the application. The Board will process the application within 3 weeks of completing the fingerprint session.

Renewal

Once approved, you must renew your registration every 2 years to continue providing services as a pharmacy technician. The online renewal is available up to 60 days prior to your license expiration. Failure to renew your application before the last day of the expiration month will change your registration into delinquent status, which incurs a delinquent penalty on top of the renewal registration.

Online renewal is fast and simple:

  • Go to the Board of Pharmacy’s online portal to submit your renewal. It must be within 60 days of expiration, or the submission will return an error.
  • Register an account if you don’t have one.
  • Add your license to the account. You’ll need to provide your SSN, date of birth, and address based on the Board’s records.
  • Click on the renewal tab and submit, along with the $80 renewal fee, payable via credit card.
  • The Board will request information about your employment relationships, including the pharmacy’s license number.
  • Provide information on your continuing pharmacy education hours – must be at least 20 hours for the 2-year period. Pharmacy technicians certified by the PTCB can skip the CPE requirements.

The Board will process the renewal request within 3 to 4 business days.

Pharmacy technicians must update the Board of changes in name and address within 10 days of receipt of legal documents confirming the change. There’s a $20 fee for updating the records and a new registration card/pocket card.

Registration for pharmacy technician trainees is valid for two years only and cannot be renewed.

Transfers

Pharmacy technicians licensed in another state cannot transfer their licenses to Texas. An out-of-state technician must apply for certification from the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB). Once the individual passes the PTCE exam and meet all other requirements for certification, he/she can then register with the Texas Board of Pharmacy.

Texas State Board of Pharmacy
William P. Hobby Building
Tower 3, Suite 600
333 Guadalupe Street
Austin, TX 78701
Phone: (512) 305-8000
Fax: (512) 305-8082
Licensing : (512) 305-8075(fax)

Utah

Training to become a pharmacy technician is one way to enter the field of healthcare. Pharmacy technicians work under a pharmacist’s direction to fill prescriptions and execute a host of other duties. Trained and certified technicians can work in a variety of health care settings, including hospitals, assisted living facilities, and community pharmacies.

With continued growth in the sector, employment trends reveal a steady increase in job opportunities for new and existing pharmacy technicians. The latest Bureau of Labor Statistics report projects a growth of 18% from 2008 to 2018. The report suggests good opportunities and attractive salaries for pharmacy technicians with formal training and national certification.

The Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing govern pharmacy technicians within Utah. Before enrolling in accredited training programs, pharmacy technicians need to register with the DOPL. Utah’s Certified Pharmacy Technicians are those who complete in-house or other accredited training and obtain certification from the PTCB or ExCPT.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in UT:

Utah Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Utah state laws require pharmacy technicians and pharmacy technician students to acquire a license from the DOLP before practicing at state pharmacies. Students enrolled in pharmacy technician training programs should apply for the technician trainee license early as the DOPL requires approximately 10-20 business days to process requests. Students must get the program coordinator or pharmacist-in-charge to complete the Training Program section on the form. The Division will only approve requests for students enrolled in state-approved programs.

After graduating from an accredited program and completing a national certification exam, pharmacy technician trainees can apply to the Division for a pharmacy technician license.

Employers and training coordinators have the responsibility of checking the status of employees and students before assigning them for work/training in pharmacies. Students and employees must use name tags to identify their position at the workplace and keep a copy of their registration in a place that’s visible to the public.

Once the Division assigns a license, pharmacy technicians must work in compliance with the pharmacy laws and renew the license biennially in order to stay in compliance.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in Utah.

Education Requirement

The DOPL does not request a high school diploma or GED with the pharmacy technician and pharmacy technician trainee applications. However, pharmacy technicians applying for CPhT certification with the PTCB or ExCPT will need to present a high school transcript and meet other requirements. Pharmacy-based training providers may also stipulate minimum educational requirements to commence training with prospective employees.

Other Requirements

The DOPL requests two sets of fingerprints from pharmacy technician applicants and trainee applicants (18 years and older). The Division will use the fingerprints to search files at the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) and the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI).

Applicants with prior criminal convictions and malpractice, suspensions or denied applications from health authorities must provide an explanation and supporting documents. These do not automatically exclude an applicant from registration. However, it could delay the processing of the application by a few months.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

The accredited pharmacy technician programs at vocational colleges and universities offer didactic and practical training to help graduates succeed on the job and the national certification exams. There are a few online training programs that the DOPL recognizes. These programs are most beneficial to students who prefer to study on their own time.

In the classroom, students learn how to dispense medications, the names of generic and brand name drugs, how to determine the correct dosages, and pharmacy law and ethics. Other topics include recordkeeping, customer service, pharmacology, physiology, anatomy, and healthcare systems.

More than 100 Utah pharmacies have DOPL-approval to conduct training in-house. A pharmacist-in-charge takes students through the steps they need to fulfill their roles on the job. If you choose not to enroll in a traditional classroom setting, you can apply for employment, and train in a pharmacy, such as Walgreens. One benefit of this type of training is there’s no cost attached. It is especially important for employer-trained technicians to get certified as it may be difficult to qualify for employment outside of the current employer.

If possible, look for an employer-based program that is also accredited by the ASHP, which is widely recognized by State Pharmacy Boards and employers alike.

Duration and Cost

One of the key advantages of employer-based pharmacy technician training programs is the absence of excessive fees associated with other traditional training programs. Utah’s approval of more than 100 pharmacy-in-house trainers confirms their support of these programs. However, looming changes in the PTCB’s requirements for certification will not bode well for pharmacy technicians who train in their place of employment.

However, if you don’t have the budget to pay for training, you can still benefit from the knowledge and skills you’ll learn from a caring pharmacist-in-charge. You may have to pay for your lab coat, textbooks, and your pharmacy technician trainee license. Although, in some cases, your employer may cover those costs as well.

Meanwhile, there’s a growing list of colleges and vocational schools that offer training in Utah. There are two ASHP-accredited providers and many others accredited by other recognized authorities. The average cost of training is $2,500 plus extra for textbooks, state registration, PTCB certification, criminal background check, immunization, insurance, and uniform. The duration of the program is approximately 3 to 12 months, depending on the class schedules.

National Exams

Graduates of Utah’s pharmacy technician programs must proceed to sit the PTCE or ExCPT exams. Successful candidates earn the right to use the Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT) designation. The DOPL requires pharmacy technicians to provide proof of certification (PTCB or ICPT) as a requirement for state registration. Apart from the DOPL’s requirements, employers generally favor candidates with the CPhT credential as it demonstrates their commitment to providing safe and quality care.

The PTCB, the older of the two certifying agencies, already has strict standards for certifying pharmacy technicians. Applicants must provide proof of completing high school or a GED equivalent. Effective 2014, all candidates will have to provide fingerprints for a criminal background check.

While the PTCB does not require proof of formal pharmacy training, it will be a requirement by the year 2020. Applicants for the exam must apply online and submit the $129 fee using a credit card. Once the PTCB approves the request, candidates will have up to 90 days to schedule the exam at a Pearson VUE center of their choice. The two-hour exam contains 90 multiple-choice questions.

The ICPT requires applicants to have a high school diploma or equivalent and complete pharmacy technician training or have suitable work experience to qualify for certification. The 120-question exam is available at PSI/LasetGrade test centers across the nation 310 days a year. Exam questions cover three main categories; Regulation and Technician Duties, Drug and Drug Products, and the Dispensing Process. The fee for the exam is $105.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Utah’s DOPL requires pharmacy technician students to obtain a trainee license before commencing the externship as part of a pharmacy technician training program. The following outlines the procedure for pharmacy technicians and pharmacy technician trainees.

Pharmacy technician trainee application:

  • Print out and complete the pharmacy technician trainee application before mailing it to the DOPL.
  • Enclose the $50 application fee.
  • Submit supporting documents if you respond “yes” to the qualifying questionnaires on the application form.
  • Submit a Criminal History Report from the Utah Bureau of Criminal History if you’re 18 years or older when you submit the application.
  • The program coordinator should fill out the appropriate section on the application form.
  • Include a copy of your social security card and state ID.
  • Note: The DOPL will only grant a technician trainee license to students enrolled in state-approved programs.

The state defines the following list of programs as “acceptable”

  • Programs approved by the DOPL
  • Programs accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP)
  • The online program offered by the National Pharmacy Technician Association (NPTA)
  • Pharmacy Technician University
  • Training programs offered by the Armed Forces.

Pharmacy technician application:

  • Print out and complete the pharmacy technician application for registration.
  • Enclose the non-refundable application fee of $100. Make check or money order payable to the DOPL.
  • Provide supporting documents if you respond “yes” to the criminal history or medical qualifying questions.
  • Fingerprint record from the Utah Bureau of Criminal Investigation and Federal Bureau of Investigation. Fingerprint services are available at the DOPL at no extra cost.
  • Enclose a copy of the current ExCPT or PTCB certification.
  • Include a copy of your valid state ID.
  • The pharmacy technician program coordinator or pharmacist-in-charge must fill out details of your pharmacy technician training.
  • Mail the completed application, fee, and supporting documents to the address provided below.

Renewal

A pharmacy technician license expires on September 30 on odd-numbered years. Since there’s a standard renewal date for all pharmacy technicians, your first renewal cycle could be less than two years. Your subsequent renewals will be for a full two years. Pharmacy technicians must renew their licenses prior to the expiration date. The DOPL will send a renewal form, approximately 2 months prior to expiration to the last known address. It is the technicians’ responsibility to keep an up-to-date record at the DOPL.

  • For faster renewals, you can renew your license online.
  • You can also fill out this renewal form to renew by mail.
  • The renewal fee is $47. Pay the fee using a check or money order.
  • Provide supporting documents if you answer “yes” to any of the qualifying questions.
  • Sign the Affidavit on the first page.
  • Update your name and include legal documents to support a name change.
  • If you fail to renew your application on time, you’ll need to add $20 to the renewal fee to reinstate your license. For renewal requests later than 30 days after expiration, the reinstatement fee is $50.

Transfer

Pharmacy technicians with licenses in other states can register with the DOPL through endorsement. You’ll need the following to qualify for endorsement:

  • Official verification of your active license from another state.
  • Verification from an out-of-state employer of your employment. The employment period must exceed 1,000 hours, and the verification letter should be printed on company letterhead.

Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

Heber M. Wells Building, 1st Floor,
160 East 300 South,
Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Mailing Address:
PO Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741

Express Delivery:
160 East 300 South (Main Lobby)
Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Local and Out-of-State: (801) 530-6628
Toll-free in Utah: (866) 275-3675
General Fax: (801) 530-6511

Vermont

Pharmacy technicians perform inventory, process prescription orders, and assist in other technical functions of the pharmacy that do not require a pharmacist’s judgment. They are essential to the pharmacy’s workflow as pharmacists focus on patient counseling and other core responsibilities. In community pharmacies, technicians serve on the frontline of patient care. They are usually the first people patients see or talk to over the telephone, spending much of their time receiving prescription requests, documenting patient information, selecting and counting medication, and liaising with insurance companies. Pharmacy technicians in hospitals prepare prescription orders and deliver them to the nurses’ station, prepare IV bags, and maintain pharmaceutical instruments.

Statewide, certified pharmacy technicians earn a mean hourly wage of $14.83 per hour or $29,658 annually. The average salary for job postings in Vermont is approximately 10% lower than the national average due to the lack of training and certification requirements from the Vermont Board of Pharmacy.

Vermont Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Any individual who performs duties that would constitute practice as a pharmacy technician must obtain registration from the Board of Pharmacy. Pharmacy technicians with a lapsed registration should seek to renew the registration instead of applying for a new license. Registration requirements in Vermont are simple. Applicants 18 years or older should submit the request on a Board-approved form along with the application fee and certificate of formal training if available. Training and national certification are not necessary to register in Vermont.

Vermont pharmacy technician license holders must comply with the state’s regulations governing their practice. They must wear a badge identifying their name and position while on duty and keep a copy of the registration certificate on prominent display at their primary place of employment.

Pharmacy technicians may perform non-discretionary tasks under a pharmacist’s supervision. They should not perform packaging and other tasks if a pharmacist is not on duty. Pharmacy technicians may not perform any activity that requires the sole professional judgment of a pharmacist. Ultimately, the pharmacist remains responsible for the actions of pharmacy technicians and must verify a prescription before dispensing it to the patient.

Cashiers and delivery persons who enter or have access to the prescription area are not exempt from registration and should register as pharmacy technicians before working in those areas.

Pharmacy interns registered with the Board do not need to register as a pharmacy technician to function in the role. All pharmacy technicians have the responsibility to renew their licenses biennially to continue practicing pharmacy.

Age Requirement

Aspiring pharmacy technicians 18 years or older can submit a request for registration with the Vermont Board of Pharmacy.

Education Requirement

Currently, there are no requirements for formal training to register as a pharmacy technician. The Board of Pharmacy does not request proof of high school, employer-based training, or institutionalized training to register candidates. The low barriers to registration may change as pharmacy boards across the nation adopt higher standards in response to the expanding roles of pharmacy technicians. Keep in mind that employers may require technicians and technician trainees to have a minimum high school education as a requirement for employment.

Other Requirements

The Vermont Board of Pharmacy does not conduct criminal background checks by default. Instead, candidates must truthfully respond to all questions relating to “Good Standing” and “Credential and Fitness,” and the Board will conduct a criminal background check or an in-person interview if they deem necessary. Providing a “yes” response to possibly incriminating questions will not automatically disqualify you from registration, depending on the nature of the conviction or disciplinary action. Providing false or inaccurate information may result in disciplinary actions or denial of licensure.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

At this time, there are no state or federal requirements for formal training or certification in Vermont. However, more employers are calling for trained and/or certified technicians as pharmacists rely heavily on a technician’s support. A few employers provide on-the-job training with the agreement that the technician pursue certification to retain employment. Apart from on-the-job training, aspiring pharmacy technicians can pursue training at a community college or technical institute. Unfortunately, there are no ASHP accredited colleges in Vermont, so students need to locate institutions accredited by another recognized agency.

Admission into pharmacy technician programs at technical colleges and universities requires a high school diploma or GED, good health, good moral character, immunizations, and proficiency in basic math and English. Some schools may administer a placement exam to determine a prospective student’s eligibility for enrollment.

Accredited training programs give students every opportunity to explore their interest in pharmaceuticals and reach their professional goals. From classroom instruction to hands-on learning in sophisticated labs and mentorship in a pharmaceutical environment, students gain every opportunity to maximize their potential and succeed on the job.

The course content covers more than just the basics; students learn policies, procedures, professionalism, and patient care. They learn how to calculate dosages and read and interpret prescriptions. The clinical training may take place at a community pharmacy or hospital where students work hand-in-hand with pharmacists and other members of the patient care team. The clinical is a valuable resource for preparing for the world of work. Some programs also provide review classes and study materials for the PTCB exam.

Duration and Cost

Many students complete their pharmacy technician training in less than 12 months, which makes it an appealing option for short-term certification with innumerable benefits. The shorter-term classes lead to a certificate or technical diploma. A few colleges offer the option for earning an Associate of Science degree, which can take up to 24 months. Essentially, the duration of the program depends on the type of credential. While employers may be happy with a graduate from a certificate course, graduates from degree programs can take on greater responsibility, easing the burden of overworked pharmacists.

An individual with an associate’s degree is also more likely to earn more and advance to other careers in health. The cost of training is as varied as the duration of programs. The training at Vermont Tech costs $1,299 for a six-month certificate course. Students must also budget for textbooks, course materials, uniforms, and administrative costs. Employer-based training is the best way to secure free tuition, state registration, and national certification.

National Exams

The Pharmacy Technician Certification Board designs and develops the Pharmacy Technician Certification Examination (PTCE), which is administered by Pearson Vue. The exam is voluntary in Vermont, but individuals who pursue certification demonstrate their competency to act as a pharmacy technician. Employers look favorably on individuals who pass the exam as they know they would have a standardized body of knowledge that is recognized by pharmacy employers nationwide. Pharmacists can assign extra tasks to Certified Pharmacy Technicians. Therefore, employers are more than willing to provide incentives, such as reimbursement of costs or higher salaries, to certified technicians.

Candidates eligible for certification are those with a high school diploma or GED, no felony convictions, and the aptitude to pass the multiple-choice exam. After successfully passing the exam and meeting the PTCB’s requirements, technicians earn the title of Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT).

The PTCE is available at Pearson Vue testing centers across Vermont. But candidates must first submit an application through the PTCB’s website and receive the authorization to test. The two-hour test contains 90 multiple choice questions that assess the candidate’s understanding of six knowledge domains. The cost of certification is $129 for two years’ certification. In order to maintain the status, pharmacy technicians must complete the continuing education requirements and pay the biennial renewal fee of $40.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Vermont defines a pharmacy technician as an individual who performs tasks relative to dispensing under the supervision and control of a licensed pharmacist. The role includes data entry, counting and labeling, selecting drugs from the inventory, and ordering pharmaceuticals, and stocking shelves in the prescription department. Therefore, cashiers and delivery personnel who have access to and enter the prescription department must also register as pharmacy technicians. All applications for registration must be complete before submitting for the Board’s review.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

Use the following guidelines to register as a pharmacy technician:

  • Review the requirements for registration and fill out the registration form or submit your application online.
  • Complete the application for registration, providing answers to all questions.
  • Sign and date the final page of the application.
  • Enclose the application fee of $50 using a check or money order made payable to the Vermont Secretary of State. Applicants using the online portal can pay using a credit or debit card. All registration fees are non-refundable.
  • Include a copy of your certificate of formal training if available. Training is not required for registration.
  • Respond to the “Good Standing” declarations and the “Credential and Fitness” questions completely and truthfully.
  • Include the name and address of your supervising pharmacist.
  • Include a copy of court documents and a written statement outlining the details of any convictions or disciplinary actions indicated on the form.
  • Mail the application form and the accompanying documents to the address provided below.

The Board will process the application for registration within five days of receiving the form and all accompanying documents. You can check the status of your application by submitting a request for an online account and logging in using your user ID and password. The Board will provide a certificate of registration and a wallet card after approving the application.

Renewal

Technician licenses renew on July 31 biennially on odd-numbered years. Applicants who receive their initial licenses more than 90 days prior to the renewal date must renew and pay the renewal fee. Applicants who receive their initial licenses within 90 days of the renewal date will not have to renew their licenses or pay a renewal fee.

Registration renewal is available online. License holders should refer to the Board’s letter (provided upon registration) with the information for login. The Board will send a renewal notification via email and include the license holder’s login details.

You can also request a copy of your login details by emailing the Board at renewalclerk@sec.state.vt.us. The fee for a renewal is $50. There are no continuing education requirements for renewing a Vermont license.

Transfer

Pharmacy technicians, licensed in other states, who wish to apply for licensure in Vermont should submit an application for registration and send the verification of license request form to the pharmacy board in the state(s) of licensure. The Board (licensing agency) should verify the candidate’s status and return the form to the Board address provided below.

Contact the Board:
Vermont State Board of Pharmacy
Vermont Secretary of State
Office of Professional Regulation
89 Main Street, 3rd Floor
Montpelier, Vermont 05620-3402

Phone: (802) 828-2733

Virginia

Pharmacy technicians work pharmacy counters, attending to customers’ needs and dispensing medication. They work in various health care settings, from hospitals to retail locations, executing numerous tasks that don’t need the professional judgment of a pharmacist. Their primary responsibilities include managing inventory, labeling, dispensing and formulating medications, billing, and data entry. Pharmacy techs must communicate effectively with customers and other medical professionals. They should be knowledgeable about the medications they dispense in order to respond to patient questions. Virginia’s pharmacy technician training programs, managed by the Board of Pharmacy, ensures prospective technicians obtain the knowledge and techniques required to support licensed pharmacists. A Board-developed state exam measures technicians’ knowledge of the basic responsibilities as required by Virginia Law.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in VA:

Virginia Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Licensed pharmacies must, by law, hire board-registered pharmacy technicians only. If you’re enrolled in an approved pharmacy technician training program, you can work as a technician behind the counter for a period of nine months. However, you must complete the program and fulfill all other requirements for registration during the 9-month grace period. Your employer, for inspection purposes, must maintain records on-site indicating that you’re enrolled in an approved program. While Virginia’s Board of Pharmacy accepts PTCB certification as a prerequisite for registration (in lieu of state training), applying to take the exam does not grant permission to work as a pharmacy technician. If you want to work while waiting to take the PTCB, you must enroll in a state-approved training program.

After graduating from the program, you must pass a Board of Pharmacy approved examination before submitting your online application for registration. There are currently only two Board approved exams: the Virginia Pharmacy Technician Exam or the ExCPT exam.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to register as a pharmacy technician in Virginia.

Education Requirement

Virginia’s Board of Pharmacy does not prohibit non-high school graduates from registering as pharmacy technicians. However, many Board-approved training providers require a high school diploma or GED as a prerequisite to enrollment. Also, if you were to take the national certification route for registering with the Board, you’ll need to have a high school diploma to take the PTCB or ExCPT exam.

Other Requirements

The Board of Pharmacy requires all candidates seeking registration to complete a criminal background check. The Board may refuse to grant registration based on a review of your criminal history. Pending felony charges or crimes involving moral turpitude, and violations of state, federal, or local drug laws can affect your ability to register as a pharmacy technician. If you have a history of substance abuse or drug dependency, the Board will need confirmation from your doctor that you’re capable of performing your duties as a pharmacy technician.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

State-approved training programs provide classroom instruction along with laboratory and clinical experience to prepare graduates for employment as pharmacy technicians at hospitals, retail outlets, health care agencies, and other health care settings. The training covers all aspects of federal and state laws as they pertain to pharmaceuticals. Other essential topics include pharmacology (drugs and their interactions in the human body), side effects, and the use and abuse of drugs. Pharmaceutical calculations help students learn the basics of drug preparations, and package and distributions help them assist pharmacists with these common activities. To complete the training, students must participate in a practical learning experience by working for a stipulated period in a hospital or community pharmacy.

Program graduates are prepared to sit Virginia’s Board of Pharmacy exam as well as the PTCB or ExCPT exams for national certification.

Duration and Cost

Pharmacy technician training costs depend on what the program offers in terms of certification. Certificate and diploma programs run for 6 to 20 weeks, and the average cost of tuition is $8,500. Other programs facilitate as much as 36 weeks of instruction and cost $14,800 for tuition only. All programs have associated costs attached, which students must budget for: textbooks, course materials, registration, background screening, CPR, uniform, immunization, and exam fees are just some of the extra costs of pharmacy tech training.

National Exams

Graduates of Virginia’s state-approved pharmacy technician programs may apply for the state’s pharmacy technician exam, managed by Schroeder Measurement Technologies. The exam contains 50 questions, which candidates must complete in one hour. There are multiple versions of the standardized test. The passing grade for the exam is 75 percent or over. Candidates should be knowledgeable of the following six domains to increase chances of success: The key domains include, drug storage and inventory management, alternate drug delivery systems, dispensing process, regulated sales and record-keeping, drug identification, and general pharmacy laws. Testing centers for the state exam are available in Abingdon, Roanoke, Norfolk, Richmond, and in the Washington, DC area. The fee for testing is $75.50.

If you prefer national certification (good if you plan to move to another state), you can apply for the ExCPT exam, accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies, to earn the title of Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPhT). National certification increases your employment opportunities nationwide. The cost for the exam is $105.

As an alternative to formal training and state certification, you can challenge the PTCB exam for national certification, which the Board of Pharmacy accepts for registration. The PTCB exam contains 90 multiple choice questions in two-hour exam. You must score 650 out of 900 to pass the exam. The PTCB requires a high school diploma and criminal background check for Board certification. You must also meet the biennial continuing education requirements to maintain certification. Registration for the PTCB exam is $129.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Currently, the Board of Pharmacy accepts online applications for registration only. After filling out and submitting the application online, you must submit copies of your social security card, state ID to validate your citizenship or resident alien status, PTCB certification or certificate of completion from a state-approved program, and your results from the state certification exam. The Board will also need a report from your criminal background check and the $25 fee to process the application. Once approved, the Board will notify you of your successful registration within 7 to 10 business days.

Renewal

You must maintain your registration in order to continue working as a pharmacy technician. Registration is due annually, and the cost for the renewal is $25. Pharmacy techs must also complete a minimum of 5 hours of continuing pharmacy education annually. The hours must be from an ACPE approved program or certain Category 1 CME, or a program that the Board of Pharmacy approved. Credits earned outside of these requirements will not qualify for registration renewal.

Transfers

Virginia’s Board of Pharmacy does not approve transfers from other states through reciprocity or otherwise. Out-of-state technicians, certified by the PTCB, can apply for registration using their national certification. All other technicians must complete a state-approved training program and apply for registration as outlined above.

Virginia Board of Pharmacy
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463
Phone: (804) 367-4456
Fax: (804) 527-4472
Automated License Verification: (804) 270-6836
Email: pharmbd@dhp.virginia.gov

Washington

At this time of increasing healthcare demands, pharmacy technicians play a vital role in the safe delivery of prescription medication to the public. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics confirms that employment for certified pharmacy technicians will increase by 20% between the years 2012 to 2022 – a growth rate that is faster than the average for all other occupations. Advances in computer knowledge coupled with the evolving role mean certification are more crucial than ever. Graduates of accredited training programs, who obtain certification from a recognized agency, not only qualify for Washington State registration but also enjoy better employment opportunities.

Pharmacy Technician Schools In WA:

Washington Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

Beginning in 2009, all new pharmacy technicians seeking state registration must meet the Board’s credentialing requirements, which includes completing an approved training program and passing a national certification exam. The Board approves programs that are accredited by National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA). Pharmacy employer-based training is also acceptable for specific board-approved pharmacies.

All approved training programs comprise theory and practical instruction and include 520 hours of lectures, discussion, and work at a clinical site. The instruction must include 8 hours of Washington Pharmacy Law and 4 hours of HIV/AIDS education. Students completing the experiential component of a pharmacy technician training program must register as pharmacy assistants before practicing in retail and hospital pharmacies.

Candidates must be at least 18 years and provide proof of national certification from the PTCB or ICPT. Criminal convictions, disciplinary actions taken by a state board, and a history of drug abuse may disqualify a candidate for registration.

After granting approval, the Board requires license holders to comply with the laws governing the practice of pharmacy. Basic requirements include wearing a name tag while on duty, executing only the tasks that the Board deems appropriate for technicians, and renewing the license annually to continue practicing. Pharmacy technicians may not provide services in the absence of a licensed pharmacist and should perform all tasks under a pharmacist’s supervision and control.

Age Requirement

The Washington Board of Pharmacy accepts requests for registration from persons 18 years and older.

Education Requirement

The Board of Pharmacy has specific requirements governing pharmacy technician education. All technicians must complete an accredited training program or an employer-based program approved by the Board. The department does not request proof of high school education, although it forms part of the requirement for national certification. Formal training institutes and pharmacy employers will request a high school diploma or GED from all prospective students/ technician trainees.

Other Requirements

State-registered pharmacy technicians must have a good moral character. Candidates’ responses to the Personal Data questions on the application form will determine whether the Board will commission a criminal history check – conducted at the applicant’s expense. The questions cover general health, history of substance abuse, and criminal history. Supporting documents (outlined on the application form adjacent to the questions) must accompany any positive responses to the questions. A history of substance abuse or crime does not mean outright disqualification from registration. However, it is critical to respond to all questions truthfully and provide supporting documents.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Pharmacy technician training prepares students for an entry-level supportive role in hospitals, home health care agencies, clinics, mail-order, and retail pharmacies. Pharmacy technicians work under a pharmacist’s control and supervision, providing assistance with a variety of tasks related to the packaging, compounding, labeling, distribution, and recording of drugs. Students enrolled in accredited training programs learn inventory management, calculations, dosages, dispensing technicians, third party billing, and pharmacy law. Other essential topics include pharmacology, communication techniques, sterile products, and aseptic techniques, over the counter drugs, medical vocabulary, and job skills. The Washington Board of Pharmacy also requires students to complete at least four hours of HIV/AIDS training as a requirement for registration.

Instructors use various teaching methods in the classroom, such as interactive discussions, demonstrations, and presentations. In addition to lectures, students receive hands-on training in a simulated lab before moving on to the clinical experience in hospitals and retail pharmacies. The Board of Pharmacy requires students to complete a minimum of 200 hours of supervised clinical practicum. Many programs exceed the Board’s minimum, providing up to 450 hours of externships at Washington’s leading community pharmacies, hospitals, specialized clinics, and long-term care facilities. The clinic practicum is not only a valuable experience to acquire critical skills, but also creates excellent opportunities for employment as students receive job offers based on their performance.

The training at pharmacy employers is similar to the training at formal institutions, offering theoretical and practical training to produce well-rounded graduates who can succeed on the job and the national certification exam.

Duration and Cost

The estimated program length of 12 months is based on full-time enrollment. Most programs offer flexible schedules to accommodate busy adults. Developmental coursework and prerequisite programs could increase the program length. Degree programs are significantly longer than a diploma or certificate programs, but there are distinct advantages; students with degrees may earn more and transfer their credits for further study.

There are currently eight ASHP-accredited pharmacy technician training providers in Washington. The average cost of tuition for their 600+ hour program is $8,500 for a pharmacy technology degree or $6,500 for a certificate. The estimated cost does not include expenses for textbooks, CPR training, course materials, lab fees, uniform, criminal background check, liability insurance, and immunization. Students are also responsible for the cost of state registration as pharmacy assistants and pharmacy technicians, and national certification. Financial aid may be available to help fund the cost of training.

Alternatively, students can seek out opportunities for employer-based training and skip the cost of tuition altogether.

National Exams

Pharmacy technician certification is the only way to register as a pharmacy technician in Washington. Your CPhT credentials also improve your chances of earning a competitive salary. Due to the state’s superior requirements for training and certification, most entry-level jobs in Washington start at $14.65 per hour.

The PTCB and NHA are the industry’s gold standards as it relates to pharmacy technician certification. Both agencies have initial and continuing education requirements that technicians must fulfill in order to obtain and maintain their certification.

To be eligible for PTCB or NHA certification, you must have a high school diploma or GED, no felony convictions, agree to abide by the agency’s policies, and pass the national exam. For the NHA, applicants must provide proof of formal pharmacy technician training or 12 months of on the job experience. In 2020, the PTCB will enforce new regulations requiring applicants to also complete an ASHP accredited training program to qualify for certification.

Individuals who pass the PTCE and meet all other eligibility requirements will earn the CPhT designation. To continue to hold certification, CPhTs must obtain 20 hours of pharmacy technician specific continuing education and one hour of medication safety within a two-year period. The fee for certification is $129, and renewal is $40. The year-round PTCE is available at more than 200 Pearson Vue centers across the nation.

The NHA’s ExCPT covers the three primary job functions of pharmacy technicians: patient support, medication and inventory control, and administration and management. The cost of certification is $110. Renewal is $40 every two years.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Washington state and federal laws require all applicants to provide a social security number with the completed application. Applicants without a social security number should contact the Customer Service Center at the number listed below. U.S. Individual Taxpayer Identification Numbers (TIN) or a Canadian Social Insurance Number are not credible substitutes for a social security number. Additionally, applicants must complete four hours of HIV/AIDS training and acquire national certification from a program accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies. Candidates must meet all the requirements for registration before submitting an application for the Board’s review.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

Print clearly on the application form using blue or black ink. Complete all the required documents and include them with the application form and applicable fee.

  • Enclose the non-refundable application fee of $60 using a check or money order.
  • Complete the demographic information, including your social security number, National Provider Identifier Number, legal name, address, phone contacts, and email – the email address is necessary for timely communications and updates from the Board.
  • Answer all personal data questions to qualify your fitness to practice pharmacy. Provide the requested documentation if you provide a positive response to any of the personal data questions. Your application will be considered incomplete if you fail to provide supporting documents with the application.
  • The Department of Health has the authorization to obtain fingerprint background checks from applicants from another state or Washington residents with a criminal record.
  • Attest to AIDS education and training – self-study, formal training, or direct patient care are all credible sources for the required 4-hour training.
  • Verify your education and training, starting with your most recent. Include documents to support your claims.
  • Attach proof of national certification.
  • Sign and date the application.

The credentialing staff will review the application and supporting documents and determine the applicant’s eligibility for licensing within 14 business days. Applications with positive answers to the personal data questions or other “red flags” must go to an appropriate disciplining authority for review. Candidates who receive a notice of denial from the Board will have the opportunity for a hearing.

Renewal

Pharmacy technician licenses expire annually on the license holder’s birthday. The Board will send renewal notices 6 to 8 weeks before the license expires. To be eligible for renewal, technicians must submit the renewal card, renewal fee (currently $50), and report completion of 10 hours of continuing education units – must include at least one hour of pharmacy law. All continuing education units must be completed through an education program or course accredited by the Accreditation Council of Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE).

Renewals postmarked or submitted to the department after the expiration date is considered late and will be subject to a late renewal penalty. The Board will waive the penalty if the credential expires on a date the department is closed to the public or if the department receives payment on the next business day and the candidate complies with the continuing education requirements. The penalty for late renewals is $50.

Transfer

An individual who is licensed to work as a pharmacy technician in another state can apply for registration in Washington.

Following are the steps for registration:

  • Complete the application for registration
  • Schedule a criminal background check – fingerprint method.
  • Complete the required HIV/AIDS training
  • Use the Out-of-State Verification form to verify your education and training
  • Provide a copy of your national certification
  • Forward the Out-of-State Credential Verification form to the licensing agency in the state where you hold a license and have the agency return the form to the Board’s address below.

Contact the Board:
Washington State Board of Pharmacy
Mailing Information
P.O. Box 1099
Olympia, WA 98507-1099

Without Fees
P.O. Box 47877
Olympia, WA 98504-7877

Physical Address
Town Center 2
111 Israel Rd SE
Tumwater, WA 98501

Phone: 360-236-4700
Fax: 360-236-4818
Email: hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

West Virginia

Due to unprecedented growth in the medical industry, pharmacies in West Virginia and other states across the nation have become the preferred destination for individuals considering a career in the pharmaceutical industry. The demand for labor is especially high in those areas that manage and distribute medications. According to the BLS, employment for pharmacy technicians is projected to grow by 20 between the years 2012 to 2022. West Virginia’s Board of Pharmacy manages pharmacy technicians and pharmacy technician trainees in the state. They require all individuals to register before practicing at state pharmacies. West Virginia is one of a growing number of states where registered pharmacy technicians are nationally certified. Certification is not only important to the Board, but also to potential employers who seek to hire competent candidates.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in WV:

West Virginia Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

It is unlawful for pharmacy technicians to practice without a license from the Board. Additionally, pharmacy technicians cannot use the title prior to obtaining a license from the Board since the state defines the role as registered supportive personnel who works under the direct supervision of a licensed pharmacist.

To be eligible for registration, pharmacy technicians must fulfill the following Board-mandated stipulations:

  • Submit an application using a Board-provided form and pay the registration fee.
  • Possess a high diploma or GED
  • Complete pharmacy technician education and training
  • Pass a nationally recognized pharmacy technician exam

In keeping with national industry standards, the Board also requires applicants to be drug-free and possess good moral characters as evidenced by a clean criminal history. Pharmacists with denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted licenses are not eligible to register as pharmacy technicians.

It is unlawful for employers and proprietors to hire and permit unregistered pharmacy technicians to practice and tend to members of the public. Employers should, therefore, check the database at the Board of Pharmacy to determine a prospective employee’s status and ensure that current employees maintain up-to-date registrations with the Board.

Pharmacy technicians also bear the responsibility for maintaining their licenses by renewing on time in order to keep working legally as technicians. Apart from submitting the renewal application and paying the applicable fees, licensees should operate within technicians’ scope of practice to avoid an infraction of pharmacy laws.

Age Requirement

West Virginia Board of Pharmacy will only process applications submitted by candidates who are 18 years and older.

Education Requirement

Pharmacy technicians and pharmacy technician trainees must possess a high school diploma or GED equivalent to qualify for registration with the Board of Pharmacy.

Other Requirements

West Virginia’s pharmacy technicians cannot be abusers of drugs and alcohol. Those who are in a recovery process at the time of application will need to provide evidence of rehabilitation. Pharmacy technicians should not have felony convictions in any jurisdiction within ten years preceding the application date. Applicants must respond to all the criminal history questions on the application form and provide supporting documentation (police report, court documents, and a written account of the incident) with the completed application. Theft, assault, DUI, and MIP violations are just some of the criminal convictions that applicants must report. The Board will review the details and may conduct a criminal background check, before making a decision.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Of all the pharmacy technician training programs, ASHP accredited programs provide the best value for money. However, with just two programs in West Virginia, students can enroll in programs accredited by other institutions. Employer-sponsored training is also acceptable to the Board of Pharmacy. The ASHP sets stringent requirements for training providers, requiring them to facilitate at least 600 hours of didactic, simulated, and experiential training. Other accredited programs also use theory and practical instruction to prepare students for their role as pharmacy technicians.

Employer-based training may exceed ASHP programs in duration and content. The pharmacist-in-charge will pass on knowledge and demonstrate the skills trainees need to support pharmacists in the following tasks:

  • Dispensing medication
  • Compounding and stocking medications
  • Receiving written or electronic orders
  • Processing claims
  • Packaging and labeling
  • Dosage calculations

In a simulated lab setting, facilitators demonstrate essential skills and review students’ performance of each skill. The final part of the program involves work in a clinical setting at a hospital or community pharmacy or both. Students must register with the Board as pharmacy technician trainees before commencing the program or at some point after the class commences since they cannot practice without the Board’s approval.

Graduates of formal and employer-based programs will have the confidence to succeed at the national exams, such as the ones administered by the PTCB or NHA. Moreover, they’ll have the know-how and abilities to execute their roles as a pharmacy technician.

Duration and Cost

Financial aid may be available or pharmacy technician training in West Virginia, which costs an average of $3,650 at community colleges, universities, and vocational schools. Textbooks, uniforms, registration, and course materials cost an additional $175. Furthermore, West Virginia training providers require students to pass a criminal background check, take TB and drug tests, and have up-to-date immunizations as part of the enrollment process. Those requirements will increase the cost of attendance.

Employer-based programs are usually free for pharmacy employees. A pharmacist-in-charge at the participating pharmacy will usually conduct the training over a period of 12 months. While an in-house program is desirable for many students, there are some drawbacks. The first is the waiting list. You will have to first secure employment at a pharmacy that is willing to train technicians, which could take a while. The second drawback is that employer training is not always portable from one pharmacy to another or one state to another as the skills and procedures vary from one pharmacy to the next.

If you’re unwilling to wait to begin training, you can enroll in a paid program that meet the state’s training requirements in as little as 24 weeks.

National Exams

West Virginia pharmacy technicians must pass a national exam and acquire certification to register with the Board of Pharmacy. Assessment exams, such as the ones offered by the PTCB and NHA, evaluate pharmacy technicians’ competency in light of their responsibilities in the workplace.

The PTCB exam is widely recognized and accepted by state boards and employers. The Board has contracted with Pearson Vue to administer the exam electronically at hundreds of testing centers across the nation. Before receiving permission to take the exam, technicians must submit an application to the PTCB and satisfy the Board’s requirements, including:

  • A high school diploma
  • A good moral character with no criminal convictions or disciplinary actions from any pharmacy board
  • Agree to abide by the Board’s policies.

The final requirement is to pass the exam, which contains 90 questions – 80 questions count towards the final score. The fee for certification is $129. However, the certification is valid for two years, so technicians must renew in order to maintain certification. The Board requires technicians to fulfill the continuing pharmacy education requirements and pay the $40 renewal fee.

The ExCPT, a product of the NHA, is an alternative to the PTCB. The exam comprises of 110 multiple-choice questions, which covers three major categories: pharmacy regulations and technician duties, dispensing medication and brand name and generic drugs. The duration of the exam is two hours. Apart from passing the exam, candidates must possess a high school diploma or GED, meet the age requirement of 18 years or older, and provide proof of completing pharmacy technician training or 12 months of employment in a pharmacy setting.

Once the NHA approves the application for certification, candidates can schedule a test date at any one of LSI/LaserGrade testing centers – there are more than 200 centers across the United States. The cost of certification is $105.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Applicants who do not hold national certification at the time of application must apply for registration as a Pharmacy Technician Trainee. For registration as Pharmacy Technicians, applicants must submit proof of national certification from the PTCB or NHA. Those who are Certified Pharmacy Technicians at the time of application, must also submit proof of completing at least 20 hours of training administered by a pharmacist-in-charge. All applicants should have completed high school or GED and be 18 years or older.

Pharmacy Technician Trainee Application:

The Board defines a Pharmacy Technician Trainee as an individual enrolled in a Board-approved pharmacy technician training program who may also work under the direct supervision of a pharmacist.

  • Individuals who meet the requirements of a pharmacy technician trainee should complete the Pharmacy Technician Trainee Notification. The pharmacist-in-charge should fill out the application and submit a copy to the Board and post a copy on the pharmacy wall.
  • Pharmacy technician trainees can be younger than 18 and don’t need to have a high school diploma or GED. However, they must be at least 18 with a high school diploma by the time they register as Pharmacy Technicians.
  • Trainees can work up to 15 months and accumulate at least 960 hours in the pharmacy to register as Pharmacy Technicians.
  • Trainees must also complete the requirements for national certification during the allocated 15-month period.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

  • To apply for registration as a pharmacy technician, use this Board-provided form.
  • The application fee is $25. The Board accepts checks or money orders only.
  • Applicants must certify completion of a national certifying exam – PTCB or NHA. A copy of the certificate must be included with the application.
  • The Pharmacist-in-charge must certify your completion of the required 20-hour training.

The Board will process the application in 4 to 6 weeks as long as the applicant submits all the required documents. Pharmacy technician trainees who fail to meet the Board’s required hours can submit a written note to request an extension. Previous criminal convictions or a history of drug abuse can delay the processing of the application.

Renewal

Pharmacy technician licenses expire on June 30 annually. License holders must maintain their national certification in order to renew. Although the Board does not have continuing pharmacy education requirements for renewal, the PTCB and NHA both have CPE requirements that technicians must fulfill as a requirement for maintaining certification. The renewal fee is $30. If you do not renew your license within the designated renewal period, you will need to reinstate your license. Reinstatement involves taking the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy Technician Examination and submitting a payment of $260 to the Board.

Transfer

Due to specific training and certification requirements, West Virginia’s Board of Pharmacy does not practice reciprocity with other states. In order to work legally, out-of-state pharmacy technicians must meet WV training requirements, pursue national certification and submit an application for pharmacy technician registration.

Contact the Board:

West Virginia Board of Pharmacy
2310 Kanawha Boulevard East
Charleston, WV 25311
Tel. 304.558.0558
Fax. 304.558.0572

Wisconsin

Pharmacy technicians play a critical role in ensuring medication safety while attending to the many needs of the public. Based on the projected demands for qualified pharmacy technicians, it is a great time to start a fulfilling career. The aging population with its complex medication requirements are a significant reason for the projected trends in pharmacy care. The pharmaceutical industry needs qualified professionals, in Wisconsin, to assist pharmacists with customer care and dispensing medications. Since there’s currently no legislation governing the profession in Wisconsin, one of the best ways to take advantage of the demands in this field is to enroll in an accredited training program and get certified by a recognized authority, such as the PTCB or ExCPT. Through proper training and national certification, you’ll earn a competitive advantage and prepare for the in-demand role of a Pharmacy Technician. The Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services will provide updates to the requirements for pharmacy technicians when they’re available.

Pharmacy Technician Schools in WI:

Wisconsin Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

The lack of legislation for pharmacy technicians in Wisconsin makes it easy for any individual to begin a career as a pharmacy technician. In other states, pharmacy technicians must first register with the Board of Pharmacy or other licensing authority before practicing in licensed pharmacies. Wisconsin has yet to initiate legislation to govern the profession. But the oversight by state authorities calls for increased diligence on the part of pharmacy employers and pharmacists-in-charge as they’re the ones liable if something goes wrong. For this reason, the state not only defines the role of a pharmacy technician but also specifies the task the individual can and cannot perform. As in other states, pharmacy technicians report directly to a licensed pharmacist and assist only with the technical and nonjudgmental functions of the pharmacy.

In light of the absence of regulations relating to pharmacy technician registration, training, and certification, pharmacy employers will use their developed guidelines for hiring and training technicians. Most employers recognize the value of nationally certified technicians. These technicians carry the CPhT designation and are competent, knowledgeable, and efficient, which frees the pharmacist to focus directly on patient care. According to a PTCB survey, certified technicians are also less likely to have medical errors.

Pharmacy employers will favor trained and certified technicians as it cuts the time needed to train new employees. However, all employers must provide some form of formal training to ensure pharmacy technicians can perform the functions assigned.

Age Requirement

Applicants must be at least 18 years old to begin working at pharmacies in Wisconsin.

Education Requirement

The minimum education required depends on the employer. However, having a high school diploma or equivalent will increase your chances of employment. The pharmacy technician curriculum covers extensive calculations and reading comprehension, so your competency in those areas will help you succeed. Additionally, the PTCB and ExCPT require applicants to possess a high school diploma as one of the requirements for certification. Applicants for ExCPT certification will need to submit proof of formal pharmacy technician training or at least 12 months of employment in a pharmacy setting. By the year 2020, the PTCB will also require candidates to submit proof of formal training as a requirement for certification.

Other Requirements

The state does not mandate a criminal background check for pharmacy technicians. However, there are practical reasons a prospective employer would perform a background check on prospective employees. Employers are ultimately accountable for the actions of any employee, so they’ll forego the “gut” feeling and instead rely on criminal background checks to avoid hiring anyone convicted of a felony, especially convictions relating to controlled dangerous substances. A criminal background check will help employers determine if an applicant has a delinquent past.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Pharmacy technician training programs prepare students for entry into the field of pharmacy as trained technicians. ASHP-accredited and employer-based programs provide comprehensive training so graduates will have the skills needed to function in the community and organized health care pharmacy settings. Moreover, training programs equip students with the knowledge to succeed on national exams provided by the PTCB and ExCPT.

Training at colleges, vocational schools, and other traditional institutes comprise of didactic, hands-on lab and an externship opportunity at community and hospital pharmacies. The actual training hours depending on the institute, but programs accredited by the ASHP typically provide at least 600 hours at minimum. Many accredited institutes in Wisconsin provide more than the required minimum. For instance, the University of Wisconsin pharmacy technician training offers at least 714 contact hours.

Employer-sponsored programs bear a striking similarity to those offered at traditional institutes. Employers use didactic combined with extensive hands-on training to prepare students for their role in the pharmacy. According to state requirements, the training equips students with skills to:

  • Accept written, oral, or electronic prescription orders
  • Prepare prescription labels
  • Retrieve medication from stock
  • Count or measure medication and place in containers for dispensing
  • Compound pharmaceuticals
  • Affix labels to containers and include information for dispensing
  • Calculate dosages
  • Read and interpret prescriptions
  • Communicate cordially with customers
  • Understand state laws and ethics governing the pharmacy

Each institute and employer will have individual requirements for entry into the programs. However, prospective students should be at least 18 years and in good health. A good moral character and no criminal convictions are other common requirements for entry.

Duration and Cost

If you don’t have the money to pay tuition, training at your future employer may be your next best option. There are hundreds of pharmacies across Wisconsin that sponsor training, including the cost of course materials, textbooks, and uniforms. While employer-based training offers the benefit of free tuition, with the exception of a few larger chains, the programs are not accredited. The lack of accreditation makes it difficult to transfer from one pharmacy to another or from Wisconsin to other states. If you plan to pursue further education, college and universities will not give you credit for the training. Therefore, it’s important that you take your short and long-term goals into consideration when choosing a training option.

For paid training, expect to pay an average of $3,225 inclusive of tuition, textbooks, lab coat rental, first aid/CPR, disposable scrubs, and equipment fees. Students are responsible for a criminal background checks, immunization, and transport to and from the clinical externship. Graduates have the option to apply for the national certification, which adds an extra $129 to the final costs. The average training program covers 650 hours of training, which is equivalent to 6 to 8 months.

National Exams

The decision to certify is completely up to the candidate. However, certification gives pharmacy technicians national recognition and make them more appealing to prospective employers. There are two national certifying authorities for pharmacy technicians; the PTCB and the ExCPT.

The PTCB’s certification program enables pharmacy technicians to work effectively with pharmacists, offering quality patient care and service. Candidates who pass the PTCE and meet all the eligibility requirements become Certified Pharmacy Technicians (CPhT).

Apart from meeting the initial requirements and passing the multiple-choice exam, technicians must obtain 20 hours of continuing pharmacy education and one hour of medication safety within the two-year period in order to maintain certification.

To take the exam, you must submit your application to the PTCB online and pay the $129 fee using a credit card. Once the PTCB verifies your age, education, and criminal history background, you can schedule your exam at any one of the 200+ Pearson Vue testing centers nationwide.

The ExCPT, developed by the ICPT, is growing in popularity in many states. Applicants must be at least 18 years, possess a high school diploma, and complete a formal training program (or have 12 months of pharmacy employment) in order to qualify for certification. The ICPT has contracted with PSI/LaserGrade to administer with 120-question multiple-choice exam. The exam is available 310 days a year, and the cost for certification is $105.

Contact the Department of Safety and Professional Services:

Post Office Mailing Address:
State of Wisconsin
Department of Safety and Professional Services
PO Box 8935
Madison, WI 53708-8935

Street Address:
Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 112
Madison, WI 53703

Phone:
(608) 266-2112
(877) 617-1565

Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov

Wyoming

There are approximately 635 pharmacy technicians in Wyoming. According to the BLS, those numbers will grow in response to health care demands. Pharmacy technicians assist pharmacists by communicating with medical providers, filling and dispensing prescriptions, customer service, administration, and the overall operation of the pharmacy. The majority of technicians and technicians-in-training work at community pharmacies, but a few technicians also work in mail-order or hospital settings. Wyoming’s pharmacy technicians earned a median annual wage of $37,730 in cities like Cheyenne. Those employed in hospitals and outpatient care centers earn the best salaries. Due to the strict requirements of the Wyoming State Board of Pharmacy, technicians acquire PTCB certification and earn salaries that outpace the national average.

Wyoming Pharmacy Technician Requirements

License Requirement

The Wyoming State Board of Pharmacy requires individuals to register by submitting a request, using a Board provided form, and receiving confirmation of registration before practicing as pharmacy technicians. Candidates can register as a pharmacy technician or a pharmacy technician-in-training, depending on their qualifications at the time of application. To qualify for registration as a pharmacy technician or pharmacy technician-in-training, you must meet the state’s age and education requirements and complete a criminal background check. The Board reserves the right to request an interview with the applicant before granting a license. Pharmacy technicians-in-training will receive a permit to commence on the job training. The permit will remain valid for two years from the date of issue and is non-renewable. The individual should secure employment/confirmation of training first, as the permit will list the sponsoring pharmacy. Technicians-in-training should request an immediate transfer if they change employment.

Once the Board issues a license/permit, pharmacy technicians and pharmacy technicians-in-training must abide by the Board’s rules and regulations. These include wearing a name tag to identify their role in the pharmacy and executing only those functions commensurate with their abilities and in accordance with the Board’s guidelines.

A pharmacy technician-in-training can perform pharmacy functions only at the pharmacy specified on the permit. Pharmacy technicians must renew their licenses yearly by submitting a request to the Board. Failure to renew on time will result in penalties and an expired license. It is illegal to provide pharmacy technician services with an expired license.

Pharmacists and employers should verify a prospective employee’s license before extending an offer of employment.

Age Requirement

Pharmacy technicians and pharmacy technicians-in-training must be 18 years or older to register with the Board.

Education Requirement

A high school diploma or equivalent is necessary to register as a pharmacy technician or pharmacy technician-in-training. A high school diploma is also required to take the PTCB exam and register as a pharmacy technician in Wyoming. Applicants should submit a copy of the diploma or a letter confirming completion of high school or GED on official letterhead.

Wyoming does not require pharmacy technicians to complete formal pharmacy technician training as many individuals acquire knowledge and skills through on-the-job training. However, formal training is beneficial to those who choose to fast track their careers by preparing for the PTCB exam for registration as pharmacy technicians.

Other Requirements

Wyoming’s pharmacy technicians should have no history of drug abuse. Those with a history of drug abuse should provide satisfactory evidence of rehabilitation. Additionally, all candidates must consent to a criminal background check through the Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI). The Board will provide a fingerprint card with an official Board stamp that applicants must use to complete the background check. The fee for the criminal history record check is $39 and takes 4 to 6 weeks to process upon receipt of acceptable fingerprints.

The Pharmacy Technician Program

Content

Pharmacy technician training programs prepare students for entry-level employment. There are only a few accredited programs available at Wyoming’s community colleges, and universities as the majority of the state’s technicians acquire their skills on the job. Pharmacy employers sponsor pharmacy technicians-in-training, teaching them how to execute their responsibilities on the job. Technicians learn pharmaceutical calculations, aseptic techniques, record keeping, labeling requirements, methods for compounding, good manufacturing practices, pharmaceutical abbreviations, generic and brand name drugs, and much more. Pharmacists also prepare technicians for success on the PTCB, which is a requirement for registering as a pharmacy technician.

Casper College and the Institute of Business and Medical Careers are the only two ASHP accredited programs in Wyoming. Both schools offer a degree program with limited enrollment and stringent requirements for entry. The degree option is especially beneficial for students who want to learn beyond the general education courses to have a solid foundation for further education. Casper College also offers a certificate option that is not as intense as the degree program.

Pharmacy technician programs balance classroom instruction with technical training in the laboratory and clinical settings, such as in a hospital and community pharmacy. While there are many benefits of enrolling in paid programs, such as the portability of training from one employer to the next, it may not be affordable, especially for those who do not qualify for financial aid. Luckily, Wyoming’s employer-trained pharmacy technician can increase their competitiveness through a combination of PTCB certification and on-the-job experience.

Whether attending pharmacy technician training at traditional schools or a local pharmacy, students will need to have a high school diploma or GED, good health, and a good moral character. The course facilitator may require students to pass a criminal background check, drug screen, and TB test as prerequisites for enrollment.

Duration and Cost

Pharmacy technician training programs at accredited schools cost as must as $29,000 for associate degree programs and $4,500 for certificate programs. In addition to tuition, students must fund the cost of textbooks, uniforms, insurance, and other student fees. Pre-enrollment requirements, such as competency evaluations, criminal background checks, immunizations, drug screening, and TB tests are also the students’ responsibility. Attending paid programs is expensive, but financial aid may be available to defray some of the costs.

The high cost of attending colleges as well as limited enrollment is the primary reasons more than 75 percent of Wyoming’s pharmacy technicians obtain their training through employer-sponsored programs. Full-time students at accredited colleges complete their training in 80 weeks while employer-trained technicians can complete their training in 12 to 18 months.

National Exams

Wyoming’s Board of Pharmacy requires pharmacy technicians to obtain certification through the PTCB. The Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) evaluates technicians’ readiness for work. Technicians, who successfully pass the exam, can use the CPhT designation and demonstrate their commitment to excellence and public safety. Due to statewide certification of technicians, Wyoming’s technicians earn salaries that exceed the national average. Mass certification also reduces instances of medication errors in the state. Pharmacists are more confident in assigning tasks to certified pharmacy technicians.

Wyoming’s technicians-in-training have up to two years, after receiving a permit to work, to complete training and meet the requirements for PTCB certification. In compliance with the PTCB’s policies, candidates must provide evidence of completing high school, pass a criminal background check, pass the computerized exam, and comply with the PTCB’s policies. To proceed with certification, you should submit your application online and pay the $129 fee for certification. After the PTCB sends an approval letter, you can schedule a convenient date to take the 2-hour exam at a Pearson Vue testing center near you. Certification is valid for 2 years; you must complete the continuing education requirements and pay the $40 renewal fee to maintain CPhT certification.

Acquiring Your State License

Application

Pharmacy technicians should email the Board to request an application packet, which will include fingerprint cards for the criminal background check. Applicants must be at least 18 years at the time of application. There are two options for registering with the Board; the following describes the steps for each process.

Pharmacy Technician-in-Training Application:

Wyoming defines a technician-in-training as a Board-registered individual who receives on-the-job training in preparation for state licensure.

  • Applicants should email the Board to request the application packet.
  • Include a copy of your drivers’ license and social security card.
  • Provide proof of high school completion.
  • Fill out the fingerprint card in preparation for the criminal background check.
  • The pharmacist should fill in the details of the pharmacy where you will complete on-the-job training.
  • Enclose the $15 application fee in the form of a check or money order.
  • Provide supporting documents for prior criminal convictions or evidence of rehabilitation from drug abuse.
  • Mail the documents to the address provided below.

The Board will provide a 2-year permit to successful applicants. The technician-in-training must fulfill all the requirements for registration as a pharmacy technician within the allocated period. The permit will be valid for one sponsoring pharmacy. Technicians should complete a pharmacy sponsor transfer form to work at another pharmacy.

Pharmacy Technician Application:

  • Applicants should email the Board to request the application packet.
  • Include a copy of your drivers’ license and social security card.
  • Provide proof of education, including your high school diploma and pharmacy training.
  • Include a copy of your PTCB certification.
  • Complete the fingerprint cards to request a criminal background check.
  • Enclose the $50 application fee using a check or money order.
  • Provide supporting documents is responding “yes” to criminal history disclosures on the application.
  • Mail the application and documents to the address provided below.

The Board will process the application within 4 to 6 weeks. Pharmacy technicians must inform the Board of any changes in their names or address within 30 days.

Renewal

A pharmacy technician’s license expires on December 31 every year. To avoid the late payment fee of $35, you should send out the renewal request before the expiration date. The Board of Pharmacy supports online renewal and also accepts paper submissions sent via the postal service.

Following are the steps for renewal.

  • Create a profile to renew your license online or download the paper renewal form.
  • Enclose a check or money order in the amount of $50.
  • Pharmacy technicians should complete at least 6 continuing pharmacy education units certified by the PTCB, APhA, ACPE, WPhA, or a pharmacist supervisor.

Expired licenses may be renewed no later than March 31 of the following year. After March 31, the technician can petition the Board to reinstate an expired license. Technicians who fail to complete the continuing education requirements will be issued an “inactive” status by the Board.

Transfer

Out-of-state pharmacy technicians cannot transfer their registration to Wyoming. In order to work in the state, they must email the Board to request an application packet and follow the steps for a new application. They must have PTCB certification to register as a pharmacy technician.

Contact the Board:

 Wyoming Board of Pharmacy

Mary K. Walker, Executive Director
1712 Carey Avenue, Ste 200
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Email: bop@wyo.gov

Phone: (307) 634-9636
Fax: (307) 634-6335